The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD) > SSD Firmware Update

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-14-2012, 10:50 AM
dsa2008 dsa2008 is offline
Registered User
dsa2008's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 554712
dsa2008 Reputation: 10
Unhappy Help Corsair GT 120 GB giving BSODS Before And after update

This is my first thread
Please help me with that ssd drive i am really tired from it before i update it
giving me errors and problems when i read the forms about it will fix the BSODS problems and errors i update from 1.3 to 1.3.3 and did not fix the BSODS i try everything updates the drivers windows bios to the latest ect........
And the same please help iam tired from that BSODS i format 3 times
no avail from time to time it give me bsod i try to disconnect the connetors
hardware other hard disk cd rom usb ect......... nothing the same i now it's
from the ssd please corsair help me to get rid of that problems

thnx in advanced

Last edited by dsa2008; 01-14-2012 at 10:56 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-15-2012, 11:48 AM
madnisman madnisman is offline
Registered User
madnisman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 576
POST ID # = 554937
madnisman Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsa2008 View Post
[...]please help iam tired from that BSODS i format 3 times[...]
Have you formatted or SecureErased the drive? Performed a CMOS reset?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-15-2012, 02:21 PM
dsa2008 dsa2008 is offline
Registered User
dsa2008's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 554962
dsa2008 Reputation: 10
Default

yes i performed a cmos reset but didn't do secure format i do format with window 7 64bit cd but the secure erase is it different from windows 7 64bit cd format i think its the same or what??!

Last edited by dsa2008; 01-15-2012 at 06:47 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-16-2012, 05:10 PM
madnisman madnisman is offline
Registered User
madnisman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 576
POST ID # = 555191
madnisman Reputation: 10
Default

It's not the same. While a quick format will only erase the partition table with the data remaining in flash cells, a SecureErase will clear all cells and restore the drive's performance. If issues still occur after upgrading the firmware, it is strongly recommended to SecureErase with PartedMagic, reset the CMOS an do a clean Windows 7 installation. I cannot tell you that this will work for sure, but it is most likely that it will help you, I would give it a try!
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 01-17-2012, 02:01 AM
dsa2008 dsa2008 is offline
Registered User
dsa2008's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 555297
dsa2008 Reputation: 10
Default

ok i'll try and tell you what happen i will be right back
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 01-17-2012, 12:46 PM
dsa2008 dsa2008 is offline
Registered User
dsa2008's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 555386
dsa2008 Reputation: 10
Default

i did but same nothing change i think it got worse if corsair release new firmware to fix these crashes and bsod any idea's to try guy's?
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 01-17-2012, 05:20 PM
dsa2008 dsa2008 is offline
Registered User
dsa2008's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 555464
dsa2008 Reputation: 10
Default

i did slow full format in windows xp cd installation cd and same bsod did not fix the problems i think it's firmware related is any of you guy's having issues same like me or i am the only one?!
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 01-20-2012, 07:18 PM
Xtr3m3 Xtr3m3 is offline
Registered User
Xtr3m3's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 556231
Xtr3m3 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsa2008 View Post
i did slow full format in windows xp cd installation cd and same bsod did not fix the problems i think it's firmware related is any of you guy's having issues same like me or i am the only one?!
No, you aren't the only one. Similar behaviors here!

I'm the second one with these issues.
I have only had these issues with the SSD. No problems with HDDs. With HDD my PC is ultimate stable (I also have ECC memory chips).

The default firmware was bag of worms (was it 1.2.x?). BSODs during the Windows 7 64bit setup and freezings. Have updated all the new firmwares and now I'm on V1.3.3. No BSODs during install.

After I update Windows with Windows Update the system files gets corrupted. System Restore doesn't fix the issues always. This is really strange. I have installed Windows several times because of this. Zero fill disc space and format doesn't help either.
I try to fix Windows files with "SFC /SCANNOW" command and sometimes it manages to fix issues. Not always.

Is this really a rare case or are there others too having these issues?
I have considered bying a new (Corsair GT) SSD to see if it will work better.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 01-20-2012, 10:05 PM
dsa2008 dsa2008 is offline
Registered User
dsa2008's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 556248
dsa2008 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xtr3m3 View Post
No, you aren't the only one. Similar behaviors here!

I'm the second one with these issues.
I have only had these issues with the SSD. No problems with HDDs. With HDD my PC is ultimate stable (I also have ECC memory chips).

The default firmware was bag of worms (was it 1.2.x?). BSODs during the Windows 7 64bit setup and freezings. Have updated all the new firmwares and now I'm on V1.3.3. No BSODs during install.

After I update Windows with Windows Update the system files gets corrupted. System Restore doesn't fix the issues always. This is really strange. I have installed Windows several times because of this. Zero fill disc space and format doesn't help either.
I try to fix Windows files with "SFC /SCANNOW" command and sometimes it manages to fix issues. Not always.


Is this really a rare case or are there others too having these issues?
I have considered bying a new (Corsair GT) SSD to see if it will work better.



Same like you
I think it's million of people having these issues not the two of us.
I do SFC /SCANNOW it say windows resource protection found corrupt files but was unable to fix some of them.
I know it it's the firware related and waiting
corsair to relese new firmware that fix these issues please corsair make it fast couse i really tired from these bsod and freezes what if people buy these
drives and can't rma from world wide i want you to feel that pain corsair
i play sometime any game it come bsod it's random don't know when it will come the only thing if i want to know it will come or not is to try and play games if it come freeze and can't do anything i must push the reset button on the case it's the same when webbr********ing bsod it come i try in bios ahci and ide same defualt the bios same and when restarting sometime came on windows logo bsod or on windows logo it's like freeze hang i feel idiot waiting to enter windows it won't can't do anything accept to push the button on the case to reset sometime when restart or shutdown it become ok sometime not
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 02-03-2012, 01:18 PM
dsa2008 dsa2008 is offline
Registered User
dsa2008's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 559485
dsa2008 Reputation: 10
Default

I think i caught the problem but i didn't try it in ahci i am in ide now after secure erase there a bsods and freezes but when i did this trick now i am stable but i'll wait for new firmware because ide you know it's slow not like ahci the trick in the bios i change the ddr frequency to 1006 not 1066 or auto
and now stable but from time to time when i shut down and push the power button in the windows logo it freeze to like 10 or 15 second i think and back to normal same restart but why is it now stable i test the rams if there error but it's all good no errors if any one same like me try this trick and tell me what happen is it ok or same?

Last edited by dsa2008; 02-03-2012 at 01:34 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 10-17-2012, 05:43 PM
Xtr3m3 Xtr3m3 is offline
Registered User
Xtr3m3's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 608234
Xtr3m3 Reputation: 10
Default

My problem is finally solved. I shipped the SSD drive back to the webstore and it took a month after they shipped me a new one. Now I have used it for several months. Not a single problem since.

Just telling you this because there might be more of these faulty ones. Good luck!
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 10-25-2012, 03:23 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 609562
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

From reading through your Posts a few comments for others:
1. Never do a full format on any SSD as it will degrade the performance. Quick Format Only!
2. When using an O.S. (Windows XP) that does not support SSD technology you will need to format with the Quick command and with 4096 Allocation. So the partition is properly aligned.
3. Before a fresh install it is strongly suggested to use a program like Parted Magic to Secure erase the drive before you format and install the new O.S.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 10-25-2012, 06:12 PM
elbubi elbubi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 42
POST ID # = 609605
elbubi Reputation: 20
Default

Thanks for this useful info RAM GUY

Could you please elaborate a little more on this sentence?:
Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
1. Never do a full format on any SSD as it will degrade the performance. Quick Format Only!
Kind Regards and thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 10-25-2012, 07:01 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 609614
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I dont know what more you want me to say it is a limitation of Flash technology. try it any other way and then test the performance with ATTO I think you will see why I made that suggestion.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 10-27-2012, 10:21 AM
elbubi elbubi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 42
POST ID # = 609901
elbubi Reputation: 20
Default

I just didn't knew that fact so I'm a little surprised that it is not warned anyware when you buy/install/use an ssd. Degradation in that case can be reverted back doing a quick format or will be permanent and cumulative for every full format done to the drive?

Kind Regards and thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.