The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD) > SSD Firmware Update

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 32 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #16  
Old 11-07-2011, 12:08 PM
GaMer_71 GaMer_71 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 539948
GaMer_71 Reputation: 10
Sad

Still no answer from Yellowbeard.......
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 11-07-2011, 01:39 PM
icsterm icsterm is offline
Registered User
icsterm's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Romania
Posts: 49
POST ID # = 539975
icsterm Reputation: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to icsterm
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GaMer_71 View Post
Still no answer from Yellowbeard.......
Nothing new in this department. Corsair is always so slow when releasing new firmwares, competition is always ahead

PS: I know Sandforce creates the firmware, but I'm sure they released final firmware updates for other memory manufacturers much much faster than Corsair. Is it because bad relations with them? Waiting more than a year for a firmware it's way too much. Also no changelog? Someone would say "wtf".

Last edited by icsterm; 11-07-2011 at 01:41 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 11-08-2011, 02:27 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 540137
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Corsair does Internal testing on the firmware Sandforce gives them.

If it fails their Internal testing then the firmware update does not get released.

If it passes then it will be released.
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 11-08-2011, 04:51 AM
01elch 01elch is offline
Registered User
01elch's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 540151
01elch Reputation: 10
Thumbs down

Yes of course: Corsairs quality management is outstanding
Sorry for that but i think Corsair is still a a kind of bodger's shop regarding ssd.
Bye
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 11-08-2011, 07:41 AM
GaMer_71 GaMer_71 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 540162
GaMer_71 Reputation: 10
Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
Corsair does Internal testing on the firmware Sandforce gives them.

If it fails their Internal testing then the firmware update does not get released.

If it passes then it will be released.
Okay, but why here is Yellowbeard writes, that the Corsair makes for a repair?
No answer of the responsible person, no effort....., while we are paid for their product.

Last edited by GaMer_71; 11-08-2011 at 08:07 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 11-08-2011, 02:55 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 540233
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GaMer_71 View Post
Still no answer from Yellowbeard.......
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellowbeard View Post
It has nothing to do with "fair". We're aware of the issue and working with SandForce to correct it.
I replied in the 2nd post, on November 2nd, 6 days ago. The answer has not changed.
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 11-08-2011, 03:02 PM
GaMer_71 GaMer_71 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 540235
GaMer_71 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellowbeard View Post
I replied in the 2nd post, on November 2nd, 6 days ago. The answer has not changed.
Thank you for your reply and I'm sorry, I'm a little impatient ....
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 11-14-2011, 05:33 PM
icsterm icsterm is offline
Registered User
icsterm's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Romania
Posts: 49
POST ID # = 541574
icsterm Reputation: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to icsterm
Default

Last update was ready since summer, but 5 months delayed because of internal testings... With the new internal testings we will need to wait another 6 months for a good firmware release? This is so pitty... So much wait, one year for a working firmware and no changelog...
Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 11-14-2011, 05:34 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 541575
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

We don't have a change log at this time because Engineering is working on the update issue as opposed to publishing a change log. I'll put up a log at a later date.
Reply With Quote


  #25  
Old 11-18-2011, 05:16 PM
GaMer_71 GaMer_71 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 542414
GaMer_71 Reputation: 10
Default News

Some news pls. ??
Reply With Quote


  #26  
Old 11-18-2011, 10:40 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 542429
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

I have no updates at this time. I will post them when I do.
Reply With Quote


  #27  
Old 11-30-2011, 12:08 AM
E-Gadget E-Gadget is offline
Registered User
E-Gadget's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 544381
E-Gadget Reputation: 10
Default

I have experienced the same problems, If "Internal Testing" takes so long then maybe the "Bugs" everyone is seeing is just an imaginary thing? Comon Guys get it right. If its buggy, dont sell it. I wasted more than a day trying to get one firmware installed. Who am I going to charge? Corsair or San....
Reply With Quote


  #28  
Old 12-03-2011, 10:57 PM
HardwareDude HardwareDude is offline
Registered User
HardwareDude's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: California
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 545218
HardwareDude Reputation: 10
Default F60 firmware upgrade from 2.1b to 2.4 went smoothly

Just received my RMA'd F60; Installed Win7-64 and simply ran the firmware upgrade tool as administrator. I also made the compatibility mode 'Win7', but I don't think that is actually needed. Firmware updated, system rebooted, and a running the upgrade tool showed that 2.4 firmware was installed. I hope this SSD lasts more than 5 months.
Reply With Quote


  #29  
Old 12-07-2011, 12:46 AM
rhesuspieces rhesuspieces is offline
Registered User
rhesuspieces's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 43
POST ID # = 545915
rhesuspieces Reputation: 10
Default

Toshiba R705-35 laptop
Force Series F240

I've owned my Force Series F240 ssd for more than a year and have been following the various problems listed in this forum during that time. During this time I've only had occasional problems with the drive not being found on cold boot. I didn't have any problems with BSOD after a sleep.

I upgraded every time Toshiba issued a new BIOS. I upgraded the ssd firmware 1.1a to 2.0. I think the problems with finding the drive on cold boot got better, slightly. I didn't keep real stats.

I recently upgraded to the latest Intel series 5 4-port SATA AHCI controller (10.8.0.1003) and started to have an occasional BSOD after a sleep (S3 I think). I don't know the reason for the BSOD but they started after the upgrade. No worse problems with hibernation.

Then, I upgraded my F240 to firmware 2.4. I waited to see how it went for other people before I jumped in. I set the upgrade executable compatibility to Win7 and ran it as administrator. I don't know if this is required but I did it on recommendations in this forum. Both the SSD and the upgrade file appeared as options in the upgrade application. I did this running off the SSD (C:) itself. The laptop is in ACHI mode. I selected the *.pkg file and after one reboot I was running the latest firmware. This was with the latest version 10.8.0.1003 of the Intel series 5 4-port SATA AHCI controller installed.

It will take time to see if this is an improvement.

P.S.
I've put this laptop to sleep, hibernated it, shut it down, restarted, etc... over the last four days and no signs of any problems finding the drive on cold boot and no BSOD on recovery from sleep.

P.S. I got BSOD after some sleeps using the Intel 5 series 4-port SATA ACHI Controller version 10.8.0.1003. I backed down to version 10.1.0.1008 and no problems with sleep. I still on occasion see the SSD not found on boot problems..

Last edited by rhesuspieces; 12-18-2011 at 03:32 PM. Reason: Update
Reply With Quote


  #30  
Old 12-15-2011, 01:11 AM
GaMer_71 GaMer_71 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 548010
GaMer_71 Reputation: 10
Default

Still no update....
I wanted to ask how the work is ongoing to update the firmware 2.4?
It seems as if you took off your engineers at Christmas.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.