The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-02-2004, 03:08 AM
GuyM GuyM is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 108364
GuyM Reputation: 10
Default P4P800 Deluxe and SPD

hello
i own the motherboard P4P800 deluxe

i recently bought new corsair memory twinx512 3200LL (2*256MB twin memory moduls for dual channel)

the settings in the bios (rev 1015 == latest i saw) are all for auto (or normal - no overclocking) and for memoey voltages = auto and timing = read from SPD

i used the CPUZ program to read the memory SPD and it the CAS# is 2 !! as is also specified by the manufacturer (corsair) but from some reason it the CPUZ program also when i look and what the memory actual settings shows that the bios configured the memory for CAS#=2.5 !! even though i configured it to configure memory according to SPD

what is wrong??? why is it?? do i must set the timings manually??

also i saw corsair recommands setting the DDR voltage for 2.75 volts.
i am a bit afraid to do so is it realy safe changing the voltage manually to this value , and is it realy better?? wouldn't it cause the temp. to get higher and to more problems??

please be as clear as possible
if you can specifiy exactely what settings should i do in the bios for all the configuration regarding the memory timings , voltages and frequencies and if i can leave it on auto or should i set it to manually??

another thing , i also sent similar email to Asus regarding this issue and they replied the the motherboard reads the SPD as it is on the memory and it , and according to them the "cpuz" program may read wrong .
but if this is true it means that the SPD on my Twinx 3200LL is not as corsair claims it is !! what should i do where is the problem and how can i make sure??

the modules are marked as Twinx3200LL how can i verify it for sure and verify for sure the SPD settings?

and how can i fix the problem?? (it is possible the modules are defective or they are not LL realy??)

B.T.W i ran memtest for all combinations (with manual and also auto settings) so far i got NO errors in none of the settings but still i want to understand why cant i set my motherboard to work with SPD and that it will work as it should


please help

thanks

Last edited by GuyM; 03-02-2004 at 11:52 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-02-2004, 01:01 PM
adamb2k4 adamb2k4 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 108396
adamb2k4 Reputation: 10
Default

I just purchased TWINX1024-3200LLPRO for my P4P800 Deluxe. I installed them and could not boot into Windows. I kept getting a lsass.exe error message saying revision number is not what was expected. Baffled, I tried safe mode and even recovery console, but I could not get into any of them. I have 4 Seagate Barracuda 120GB IDE hd's in a RAID 0+1 config so when I boot Windows setup disk I must use the floppy with the raid drivers. I kept getting various blue screen errors whenever the system would go to look at the hard drives after reading the drivers. Removal of the Corsair memory and back to my old Kingston HyperX memory allowed me to continue though while the Corsair memory was in it corrupted my registry so I had no choice but to reinstall Windows. I tried leaving all the memory settings to auto and standard and I tried playing with the numbers a bit but nothing seemed to help. I have the 1015 bios as well. Im a bit disappointed considering I paid 350 bucks for this memory and now I have to return it.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-02-2004, 10:27 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 108481
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

GuyM,
I would set the timings manually to the tested settings for the modules you have. Cass 2-3-2-6 for XMS3200LL and I would set the dim voltage to 2.75 Volts as well. If you do run www.memtest86.com please disable USB Legacy support as well.
But this is a bios issue and normal for many of the MB's using this chipset, setting the timings manually will solve that issue.

adamb2k4
As Above I would suggest that you set the timings manually to the tested settings (Cass 2-3-3-6) and the Dim Voltage to 2.75 Volts and test your modules one at a time with www.memtest86.com and please disable USB legacy support when running this program. Let's make sure one is not failing.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.

Last edited by RAM GUY; 03-08-2004 at 02:40 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-03-2004, 02:54 AM
GuyM GuyM is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 108508
GuyM Reputation: 10
Default still worried

Thanks For the reply

i tested the memory using memtest (even with the legacy USB on) i got NO errors on and everythings seems ok for all settings manual or auto

are you sure i still should set the voltage to 2.75 even if memtest passed when the voltage is on auto??

can you tell me of another program that can read the current setting of the memries timings and one that can read the SPD other from the CPUZ program

i am still a bit worried about the fact that when configuring in bios to use SPD it seems to set the timings to CAS #2.5 and not 2. you say it is a bios issue but if so it should have been for all the people who use those memory modules (3200LL) and this motherboard and bios but i did not see anyone mentioning this issue

please help
thanks

B.T.W -- Asus still claims that their bios is fine and it reads what is written in the memory SPD
how can i make sure the moduls and SPD it realy what it supposed to be?


Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY
GuyM,
I would set the timings manually to the tested settings for the modules you have. Cass 2-3-2-6 for XMS3200LL and I would set the dim voltage to 2.75 Volts as well. If you do run www.memtest86.com please disable USB Legacy support as well.
But this is a bios issue and normal for many of the Nb using this chipset, setting the timings manually will solve that issue.

adamb2k4
As Above I would suggest that you set the timings manually to the tested settings ( Cass 2-3-3-6) and the Dim Voltage to 2.75 Volts and test your modules one at a time with www.memtest86.com and please disable USB legacy support when running this program. Let's make sure one is not fialing.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-03-2004, 03:09 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 108557
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

LOL! Please use AIDA32 and lets make sure what's in the SPD and what the chipset is actually running the memory timings at!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-03-2004, 07:02 PM
GuyM GuyM is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 108664
GuyM Reputation: 10
Default

here are the aida32 results:

as i understand -- spd reports max cas = 2 , while the memory is configured to cas#=2.5 even though i configured the bios to use spd

why is that ?? if this is a bios issue than all anothers who use this motherboard should have the same problem but i do not see anyone else asking about such a thing

please help


--------[ Motherboard ]-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Motherboard Properties:
Motherboard ID 63-1502-000094-00101111-012804-I865PE$P4P81094
Motherboard Name Asus P4P800

Front Side Bus Properties:
Bus Type Intel NetBurst
Bus Width 64-bit
Real Clock 200 MHz (QDR)
Effective Clock 800 MHz
Bandwidth 6400 MB/s

Memory Bus Properties:
Bus Type Dual DDR SDRAM
Bus Width 64-bit
Real Clock 200 MHz (DDR)
Effective Clock 400 MHz
Bandwidth 6400 MB/s

Chipset Bus Properties:
Bus Type Intel Hub Interface
Bus Width 8-bit
Real Clock 67 MHz (QDR)
Effective Clock 267 MHz
Bandwidth 267 MB/s

Motherboard Physical Info:
CPU Sockets/Slots 1
Expansion Slots 5 PCI, 1 AGP, 1 WiFi
RAM Slots 4 DIMM
Integrated Devices Audio, Gigabit LAN
Form Factor ATX
Motherboard Size 240 mm x 300 mm
Motherboard Chipset i865PE
Extra Features Asus Intelligence, JumperFree, Stepless Freq Selection

Motherboard Manufacturer:
Company Name ASUSTeK Computer Inc.
Product Information http://www.asus.com/products/mb/mbindex.htm
BIOS Download http://www.asus.com/support/download/download.aspx


--------[ Memory ]------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Physical Memory:
Total 510 MB
Used 276 MB
Free 233 MB
Utilization 54 %

Swap Space:
Total 1249 MB
Used 243 MB
Free 1006 MB
Utilization 19 %

Virtual Memory:
Total 1760 MB
Used 520 MB
Free 1240 MB
Utilization 30 %


--------[ SPD ]---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

[ Corsair CMX256A-3200LL ]

Memory Module Properties:
Module Name Corsair CMX256A-3200LL
Serial Number None
Module Size 256 MB (1 rows, 4 banks)
Module Type Unbuffered
Memory Type DDR SDRAM
Memory Speed PC3200 (200 MHz)
Module Width 64 bit
Module Voltage SSTL 2.5
Error Detection Method None
Refresh Rate Reduced (7.8 us), Self-Refresh
Highest CAS Latency 2.0 (5.0 ns @ 200 MHz)

Memory Module Features:
Early RAS# Precharge Not Supported
Auto-Precharge Not Supported
Precharge All Not Supported
Write1/Read Burst Not Supported
Buffered Address/Control Inputs Not Supported
Registered Address/Control Inputs Not Supported
On-Card PLL (Clock) Not Supported
Buffered DQMB Inputs Not Supported
Registered DQMB Inputs Not Supported
Differential Clock Input Supported
Redundant Row Address Not Supported

Memory Module Manufacturer:
Company Name Corsair Memory, Inc.
Product Information http://www.corsairmicro.com/main/products.htm

[ Corsair CMX256A-3200LL ]

Memory Module Properties:
Module Name Corsair CMX256A-3200LL
Serial Number None
Module Size 256 MB (1 rows, 4 banks)
Module Type Unbuffered
Memory Type DDR SDRAM
Memory Speed PC3200 (200 MHz)
Module Width 64 bit
Module Voltage SSTL 2.5
Error Detection Method None
Refresh Rate Reduced (7.8 us), Self-Refresh
Highest CAS Latency 2.0 (5.0 ns @ 200 MHz)

Memory Module Features:
Early RAS# Precharge Not Supported
Auto-Precharge Not Supported
Precharge All Not Supported
Write1/Read Burst Not Supported
Buffered Address/Control Inputs Not Supported
Registered Address/Control Inputs Not Supported
On-Card PLL (Clock) Not Supported
Buffered DQMB Inputs Not Supported
Registered DQMB Inputs Not Supported
Differential Clock Input Supported
Redundant Row Address Not Supported

Memory Module Manufacturer:
Company Name Corsair Memory, Inc.
Product Information http://www.corsairmicro.com/main/products.htm


--------[ Chipset ]-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Chipset Properties:
Motherboard Chipset Intel Springdale i865PE
In-Order Queue Depth 12
CAS Latency 2.5T
RAS To CAS Delay 3T
RAS Precharge 2T
RAS Active Time 6T
PAT Disabled

AC'97 Audio Controller:
Audio Controller Type Intel 82801EB(M) ICH5
Codec Name Analog Devices AD1985
Codec ID 41445375h

Memory Slots:
DRAM Slot #1 512 MB (DDR SDRAM)

AGP Properties:
AGP Version 3.00
AGP Status Enabled
AGP Aperture Size 128 MB
Supported AGP Speeds 1x, 2x, 4x, 8x
Current AGP Speed 8x
Fast-Write Supported, Enabled
Side Band Addressing Supported, Enabled

Chipset Manufacturer:
Company Name Intel Corporation
Product Information http://www.intel.com/products/browse/chipsets.htm
Driver Download http://support.intel.com/support/chipsets/index.htm


--------[ BIOS ]--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BIOS Properties:
BIOS Type AMI
System BIOS Date 01/28/04
Video BIOS Date 03/10/23

BIOS Manufacturer:
Company Name American Megatrends Inc.
Product Information http://www.ami.com/amibios


===============
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-03-2004, 09:00 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 108697
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

According to your report, (Highest CAS Latency 2.0 (5.0 ns @ 200 MHz))
The SPD is set to Cass 2.0. And in fact the other timings are set correctly just the Cass latency is being set to Cass 2.5, by your MB's bios. Sorry, but ASUS is not correct on this one! They know how to call me if they have a question.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 03-04-2004, 02:55 AM
GuyM GuyM is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 108739
GuyM Reputation: 10
Default

Hi,
thanks for the answer

i am still a bit confused regarding how come i am (thats what it seems) the only one with this problem with this motherboard bios and memory because if it is a bios issue it should have been for all users

another thing: please i would be happy if if give me your final reccomandations regardind the settings for the memory in the bios

clocks - manual or auto and what timings
voltage - manual or auto and what voltage

(or voltage auto and memory manual and so one -- which combination do you reccomand)

in memtest it seems that all combinations passed OK!!

thanks





Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY
According to your report, (Highest CAS Latency 2.0 (5.0 ns @ 200 MHz))
The SPD is set to Cass 2.0. And in fact the other timings are set correctly just the Cass latency is being set to Cass 2.5, by your MB's bios. Sorry, but ASUS is not correct on this one! They know how to call me if they have a question.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 03-04-2004, 04:06 AM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 108744
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

No you’re not the only one! Just set the timings manually and all will be fine!
AI Overclocking: Manual/Disabled
Dim Reference Voltage: 2.75 Volts
DRAM Clock: 200 MHz (400DDR)
DRAM Timing (overrides SPD values): Manual
System Performance: Normal
SDRAM Bank cycle time (or tRAS): 6
SDRAM Bank Interleave: 4
SDRAM Row Precharge (tRP): 2
SDRAM RAS-to-CAS Delay (tRCD): 3
SDRAM CAS Latency: 2
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 03-04-2004, 02:21 PM
adamb2k4 adamb2k4 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 108813
adamb2k4 Reputation: 10
Default

What should the burst length be set to? 4 or 8?
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 03-04-2004, 02:31 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 108821
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Burst length of 8 is faster but if you have problems I would use 4 or Auto.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 03-04-2004, 02:36 PM
cloak cloak is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 108827
cloak Reputation: 10
Angry same for me.

i have the EXACT same problem, apart from i have 1024 instead of 512mb. my bios 1015 sets the spd to 2.5 cass latency. when i set all the settings manually to the 2 3 2 6 it doesnt boot. when i put the voltage up to 2.75v then my system boots but dosent recognise the promise raid controller, on which i have a raid 0 setup. im completely stuck. should i up the voltage further? i just dont know what to do. please help me because the only way i can get it to boot is to use 2.5 2 2 6 settings.

i have tried each of the dimms seperatly and its ok, and when i use both in single channel its ok, its when i use dual that it dosent want to play ball.

HELP!
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 03-04-2004, 02:44 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 108829
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

The Dim voltage and power for the promise controller are not related, I would suggest testing the memory on another system to make sure one is not shorted. However, that would suggest a bios issue or power problem to me. What PSU do you have?
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 03-04-2004, 06:52 PM
GuyM GuyM is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 108888
GuyM Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks a lot for the answer

but i am a bit puzzled regarding the bios settings:

a) i did not see anything like "bank interleave" where or what is it (is there another name for it??

b) in the bios i have settings for RAS precharge can be between 2 - 4
and DRAM precharge can be between 5 -8

it does not compatible with the names (or values) you mentioned
can you help me with the settings using my bios names??

thanks
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 03-04-2004, 09:18 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 108912
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Please use the settings I gave you before as a reference, any setting that is not listed just use bios default or Auto:
AI Overclocking: Manual/Disabled
Dim Reference Voltage: 2.75 Volts
DRAM Clock: 200 MHz (400DDR)
DRAM Timing (overrides SPD values): Manual
System Performance: Normal
SDRAM Bank cycle time (or tRAS): 6
SDRAM Bank Interleave: 4 (Not listed with all MB's)
SDRAM Row Precharge (tRP): 2
SDRAM RAS-to-CAS Delay (tRCD): 3
SDRAM CAS Latency: 2
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
asus p4p800 deluxe xms512 DDR400 computer boot troubles Skarn Warranty and RMA Questions 6 05-18-2004 09:42 PM
P4P800 Deluxe + Twinx3200LL = Nightmare carlosalt Memory 9 05-03-2004 10:35 AM
ASUS P4C800 E Deluxe & 2 x CMX256A-3200LL robztr Memory 14 04-28-2004 04:07 AM
Strange Problems: 2 x TWINX2048-3200 on Asus P4C800-E Deluxe Gerald Memory 15 04-25-2004 10:18 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.