Corsair Community

Gigabyte DQ6 & Dom 8888 Problems

.Spartan

Aloha!

I have spent months trying to figure out to OC my very, very expensive system and I simply cant get it to do so. Everyone I ask tells me it is the Dominators but they work. So I must be missing something fundamental to what is going on.

In short all the hardware view sites I have read have said the DQ6 can be "easily without any tweaking" OC on the FSB 360 with a 1440 speed. On the higher end to 520 on the FSB with a 2080 speed. I simply cant get it to boot at over 300 with a speed at 1200 - stably no matte what I do.

With that said I am by no means an expert with OC but this is really ticking me off. Can some one who knows what is going on give me config specks that they know for a fact work.

My specks are as follows:

Purchase/Build Date: 2/15/2007 - 3/15/2007

Chassis: CM Stacker 832 (modified)

MB: Gigabyte 6-quad N680I-DQ6 (BIOS v3)

CPU: QX6700 (Quad Core) OCed to 3GHz

RAM: XMS2 Dominators 4GB OCed to 1200 Mhz

GPU: 2 Calibre 8800 GTX P880+ OC 768MB OCed to Core:660, Shader:1750, Memory: 1100 (TEC active cooling)

SLI Enabled: Yes @Highest quality settings (Drivers v169.25)

SPU: SB Xi-Fi Fatal1ty

HDD: 4 WD Raptor 150GB (Raid0)

NAS: 6TBs Hitachi DS T7K500 (Raid5)

DVD: Plextor B900A

PPU: NONE

VDD: 2 Dell 30" 3007WFP-HC & 2 Dell 20" 2007FP monitors

PSU: Antec TruePower Quattro 1000watts

KB: Logitech G15

WC: Logitech QucikCam Fusion

SS: Altech 5.1 THX Theater System

TB: Kensington Expert Mouse

Maybe I dont understand something. When I purchased everything for my God Box the Doms at about $1,500 for 4GBs were the best RAM in the market from what I was told at every shop I went to. At the same time the following mobo reviews were released:

Hardwarezone

TweakTown

NeoSeeker

TechReport