Corsair Community

10 RGB QL Fans - Need some help setting up

mgivot

Hello, I am new to all this but really needed to build a new machine to handle my workload in my production business. My understanding of building a computer is definitely new. I like many others I am sure also have a slight case of OCD. Here is my question.

I recently had bought RGB ML Fans and a Commander Pro for my Lian Li Dynamic XL but realized that they do not look good in the intake position. So I used those in my old machine and ran out and got 10 of the RGB QL fans. However, I noticed that the setup is a little different. My question is if I plug the CORSAIR Lighting Node CORE (came with the QL 3 Pack) into the available USB hubs of my commander pro will that wok? Lastly, I have a total of 10 fans. I have 12 RGB ports via the 2x CORSAIR Lighting Node CORE, but commander Pro only has room for 6 Fans total? Can I use a splitter and run all 10 or should I get another Commander pro? Any help would be amazing. Thank you.

Yes, the Lighting Node Cores will work connected to the Commander Pro's USB ports.

You can also get/use RGB Fan LED Hubs with the QL-RGB fans and just use the CoPro's Lighting Channels.

As for the 10 fans on the CoPro - that's pushing it. You can try doing that ... no more than 2 on a header ... but we usually recommend no more than 9. That said, I'm running 10 (6 ML and 4 QL) from a single Commander Pro. Another option is to use a powered PWM fan hub for a set of fans that you want to control together. This takes care of the power for the fans.

• 4 months later...
Yes, the Lighting Node Cores will work connected to the Commander Pro's USB ports.

You can also get/use RGB Fan LED Hubs with the QL-RGB fans and just use the CoPro's Lighting Channels.