The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-17-2013, 01:20 PM
AshrafAce AshrafAce is offline
Registered User
AshrafAce's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Dubai
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 640846
AshrafAce Reputation: 10
Question Memory upgrade for my p9x79 pro w/ i7 3970X

As of a few days ago, my vengeance memory has been playing up. I have been considering to buy a new 64GB set but I cannot decide on which to get. There is also the problem of cooling them. If you are going to recommend a domiator series memory, would you suggest Corsair's Airflow Pro?

Open to suggestions
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-17-2013, 04:57 PM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 640878
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

Quote:
There is also the problem of cooling them. If you are going to recommend a domiator series memory, would you suggest Corsair's Airflow Pro?
It's definitely not a necessity , if thats what your asking. Memory just doesn't get that hot unless your really overclocking them pretty high. But at stock voltages they won't "require "any cooling.
__________________
NO, I do not work for Corsair! But I am an official forum helper.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-18-2013, 09:38 AM
AshrafAce AshrafAce is offline
Registered User
AshrafAce's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Dubai
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 641048
AshrafAce Reputation: 10
Default

Okay, cooling aside, which memory would you recommend? Hopefully it will be black (to match my full razer setup and black/green phantom 820) and compatible with my mobo and cpu.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-18-2013, 11:41 AM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 641068
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

Depends on what you are doing with your machine,how much memory you want and what speed are you looking for.
__________________
NO, I do not work for Corsair! But I am an official forum helper.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-18-2013, 06:22 PM
AshrafAce AshrafAce is offline
Registered User
AshrafAce's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Dubai
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 641164
AshrafAce Reputation: 10
Default

As stated from before, I am searching for a 64Gb kit. It has to be compatible with the p9x79 pro and the i7-3970X. My initial thoughts were the CMZ64GX3M8A1600C9. 1600MHz and 64Gb will do the job. Opinions?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-19-2013, 04:13 AM
Turbonerfs101e's Avatar
Turbonerfs101e Turbonerfs101e is offline
Registered User
Turbonerfs101e's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 490
POST ID # = 641255
Turbonerfs101e Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AshrafAce View Post
As stated from before, I am searching for a 64Gb kit. It has to be compatible with the p9x79 pro and the i7-3970X. My initial thoughts were the CMZ64GX3M8A1600C9. 1600MHz and 64Gb will do the job. Opinions?
Hi AshrafAce

CMZ64GX3M8A1600C9 as a maximum compatibility with all Intel® Core™ i3, i5 and i7 processors, as well as the 2nd generation Intel processor family. So it sould worck geat with your Intel i7-3970X motherboard.

But i don't now why you want that mutch memory as 32 BG is mor then you need for games?

Hope this help
Sincerly yours
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-19-2013, 04:49 PM
AshrafAce AshrafAce is offline
Registered User
AshrafAce's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Dubai
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 641447
AshrafAce Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the reply. As for your question. I also, in my spare time, create some private mods for pc games. These are high-end high quality mods which use around which uses over half of my total memory.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 03-20-2013, 06:47 AM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 641604
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

Quote:
But i don't now why you want that mutch memory as 32 BG is mor then you need for games?
Not everyone is a gamer Turbo!
__________________
NO, I do not work for Corsair! But I am an official forum helper.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 03-29-2013, 02:52 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 643704
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Actually only Core I7 Quad channel series CPU's will support 64 Gig Core I5 D/C CPU's are limited to 32 Gig because of the number of slots and Core I3 only support 16 Gig of memory and the modules have to made with IC's no larger than 256 X8 Memory IC's so that would 4.0 Gig double rank modules or 16 Gig total. If the MB you have only has two slots then you would be limited to 8.0 Gig of Ram for Core I3 CPU's
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
airflow pro, dominator, dominator platinum, p9x79 pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.