The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Hydro X Custom Cooling

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-20-2020, 10:44 AM
Toony Toony is offline
Registered User
Toony's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 1047086
Toony Reputation: 10
Default Issue with hydro x gfx waterblock

Hi .

I just build new system, I been running my ASUs 2070 super gpu on air cooling for 3 days making sure it work, today I fitted my water cooling, the gpu won’t boot up with Corsair hydro block on it, I get white light on motherboard, so I drained the system, put the stock cooler back on it booted up fine, swap back to the water cooling it will not boot am I missing something, ? The rbg connected is plugged in to my commander pro and the rbg works fine but card won’t boot it’s weird?

Any help be grateful

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2020, 01:05 AM
Corsair GregX Corsair GregX is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 224
POST ID # = 1047187
Corsair GregX Reputation: 10
Default

Hi!

Have you checked for compatibility between your graphics card model and GPU water block?
Can you let us know detailed information about your graphics card model and GPU water block you are using?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-22-2020, 11:55 AM
nerdballer nerdballer is offline
Registered User
nerdballer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 1047392
nerdballer Reputation: 10
Default

There isn't any sort of wired connection between the gpu block and the gpu itself, so I wouldn't think it's a technical incompatibility in that sense. One thing that could prevent it from working is if there is a thermal shutdown because your thermal paste wasn't applied correctly, your card is indeed not compatible with the block so proper contact isn't established, you didn't install the block correctly (not flush and reasonably tight), or if you didn't actually fill your loop. I'm not sure if that's the case here though, but I'd definitely check to make sure your GPU is listed as compatible with the block you purchased. If it is, then there are some other possibilities to consider?

Other than that, it's just sanity checks from there. Are you 100% sure you plugged in 8/12 pin power connectors to the GPU? Are you 100% sure you actually plugged in the DisplayPort/HDMI cable to the GPU itself? Are you 100% sure the GPU was properly installed in the PCIE slot? If you're vertically mounting, when you tested it stock, did you use a riser cable? Or did you just test it horizontally and only use the riser cable after you installed the water block? If so, you could have a bad riser cable. Any of those things not being correct can trigger the VGA light on your motherboard.

Does your CPU have integrated graphics? If so, one thing you could try is booting the machine while having your DisplayPort/HDMI cable plugged into the motherboard to force it to use the integrated graphics. From there you could check BIOS or any installed system monitors to see if the graphics card is being detected, and check temps and/or Event Viewer to see if anything is off.

Crazy unqualified possibility: I know most Motherboard BIOS will refuse to boot if something isn't installed on the CPU fan header for the CPU (until you disable the check anyway). I'm not sure if some GPUs have the same safety mechanism in their BIOS...could be it's freaking out when it detects that the fans are no longer connected. I've NEVER heard of that though so I highly doubt that's the issue. Just brainstorming here...

Last edited by nerdballer; 05-22-2020 at 12:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-24-2020, 10:02 AM
Toony Toony is offline
Registered User
Toony's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 1047685
Toony Reputation: 10
Default

hi

yes I checked that the waterblock was compatible through corsair website and it says it was.
the GPU card is asus 2070 super turbo model: TURBO-RTX2070S-8G-EVO
the waterblock is CX-9020009-WW which corsair website says is compatible.

The card is running perfectly fine at moment in the computer with default air cooler, soon as I put the waterblock on it doesn't post tried this 3 times, and with and without the backplate installed in case it was that.

I do have raiser cable and vertical mount it works fine with card on air cooler and with different gpu card but at moment I took it out just to try and get waterblock to work which is not working vertical mount or just normally plugged in to the pci-e slot, but its all works on air cooler

when I remove the block the whole chip and the block shows it connecting with the thermal paste, the pads are showing indents in them as if they hitting the chip on the card to.

yea all the power connectors are plugged in as I working with all the same cables on air cooler, I did wonder if the card is causing issue with no fan connected, but never had this in past and I cant see bios setting to change there either for that.

thanks

Last edited by Toony; 05-24-2020 at 10:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-25-2020, 08:01 PM
DarkCrazy's Avatar
DarkCrazy DarkCrazy is offline
DarkCrazy
DarkCrazy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Sessenheim/France
Posts: 37
POST ID # = 1047914
DarkCrazy Reputation: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toony View Post
hi

yes I checked that the waterblock was compatible through corsair website and it says it was.
the GPU card is asus 2070 super turbo model: TURBO-RTX2070S-8G-EVO
the waterblock is CX-9020009-WW which corsair website says is compatible.

The card is running perfectly fine at moment in the computer with default air cooler, soon as I put the waterblock on it doesn't post tried this 3 times, and with and without the backplate installed in case it was that.

I do have raiser cable and vertical mount it works fine with card on air cooler and with different gpu card but at moment I took it out just to try and get waterblock to work which is not working vertical mount or just normally plugged in to the pci-e slot, but its all works on air cooler

when I remove the block the whole chip and the block shows it connecting with the thermal paste, the pads are showing indents in them as if they hitting the chip on the card to.

yea all the power connectors are plugged in as I working with all the same cables on air cooler, I did wonder if the card is causing issue with no fan connected, but never had this in past and I cant see bios setting to change there either for that.

thanks
hi
Which cable do you use for the vertical?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-25-2020, 08:43 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,773
POST ID # = 1047918
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkCrazy View Post
hi
Which cable do you use for the vertical?
if you are referring to the issues with the First Gen Corsair Riser Cable... was an issue for Intel Boards,, z390 to be specific... the OP is AMD if his PC specs are up to date and the machine would still boot but get no display...

https://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=187028



this sounds like the block and board are shorting maybe....

Last edited by Zotty; 05-25-2020 at 09:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-25-2020, 10:52 PM
JonKrmr JonKrmr is offline
Registered User
JonKrmr's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 181
POST ID # = 1047922
JonKrmr Reputation: 10
Default

"this sounds like the block and board are shorting maybe...."

Bingo!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-26-2020, 08:03 AM
Toony Toony is offline
Registered User
Toony's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 1047971
Toony Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotty View Post
if you are referring to the issues with the First Gen Corsair Riser Cable... was an issue for Intel Boards,, z390 to be specific... the OP is AMD if his PC specs are up to date and the machine would still boot but get no display...

https://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=187028



this sounds like the block and board are shorting maybe....

I use the cablemod riser cable kit it works fine with card on air cooler and spare old ti560 card I have lying about, at moment its not fitted in the pc and the card just plugged into the pcie port, both card work in this port to, but the moment I put waterblock on with ot without backplate, vga light comes on wont post, am sure it a block issue but I cant narrow down to where as if it is I can try return it as it not even month I have had it as it was all bought brand new.

thanks for replies :)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-26-2020, 08:31 AM
LeDoyen LeDoyen is offline
Registered User
LeDoyen's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 154
POST ID # = 1047975
LeDoyen Reputation: 26
Default

Do you clean the PCIE contacts on the card after mounting the block? It sounds silly but it happens that just a slight trac of skin oils can defeat contacts.
I have once seen my card work at X8 speed because the PCB wasn't completely clean. same for the riser cable contacts.

It would be a big coincidence that this would cause the issue only when you try the waterblock, but could be worth checking too, and it would be an easy fix.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-26-2020, 09:36 AM
Toony Toony is offline
Registered User
Toony's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 1047980
Toony Reputation: 10
Default

hi

on the riser cable no but I have on the card on 2 of the attempts to get it working with watercooling made sure everything was clean, each time I removed the card I put the plastic cover for the pcie contacts back on to make sure I have not damaged or got dust or dropped anything on the card
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-26-2020, 09:51 AM
nerdballer nerdballer is offline
Registered User
nerdballer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 1047982
nerdballer Reputation: 10
Default

Sounds weird man. I guess if it was me, I'd probably try these things.

If my CPU has integrated graphics, I'd plug my video cable into the MoBo and see if the GPU is even being detected or not once I get into BIOS or Windows.

I'd try different outgoing ports on the GPU. I doubt that's the issue, but it doesn't hurt to check.

If you really want to test if it's an issue with the video card freaking out when no fans are detected, you could try leaving the stock cooler on but not plugging in the fans to the GPU's fan header. If it doesn't boot up at that point, then we know that's the issue. You wouldn't damage the card by testing this for a few minutes as the heatsink would still have plenty of thermal runway to absorb any heat before temps got too high. A lot of GPUs these days don't even run the fans when idling...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-26-2020, 09:57 AM
Toony Toony is offline
Registered User
Toony's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 1047984
Toony Reputation: 10
Default

hi

its weird alright never had this issue before with any gfx and waterblock in past, I not tried running the stock cooler without the fan plugged in, there 2 cables on the stock cooler white and brown? which is fan guessing the other controlling the small rgb on fan or could I just unplug them both,

if the card doesn't post with fan disconnected is that fault or card been designed to work with fan connected as fail safe?

ryzen 7 3700x don't have intergrated gpu chips and my monitor only has hdmi no display ports as I have not updated monitor thinking hdmi would be ok :)

thx
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-26-2020, 10:05 AM
nerdballer nerdballer is offline
Registered User
nerdballer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 1047985
nerdballer Reputation: 10
Default

I'd probably leave both unplugged to replicate how the GPU sees things when it's installed on the waterblock. What we're trying to determine here is whether the GPU isn't happy when those things are unplugged, or if perhaps you're getting some sort of short when the waterblock is installed. If things work on the stock cooler even when those cables are unplugged, then we know it is something specific to having the waterblock installed. If it still doesn't work, then we know it's something related to the GPU not being happy when those cables aren't plugged in.

If it's the latter, then I would think that's a fault with the GPU. Which exact Asus GPU are you using?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-26-2020, 10:11 AM
Toony Toony is offline
Registered User
Toony's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 1047987
Toony Reputation: 10
Default

hi

am using the below card link there to


GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER Blower EVO 8192MB GDDR6 PCI-Express Graphics Card
TURBO-RTX2070S-8G-EVO
https://www.overclockers.co.uk/asus-...gx-43s-as.html

well if it gpu that's at fault am stuck on using air cooling as I been trying to get answer for this for 2 weeks emailed the corsair, asus and the company I bought it from who told me since I removed the cooler I voided the warrenty on it which I knew was the risk anyway and is hoping its the waterblock, ill try unplugging the 2 cables see what happens

thx
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-26-2020, 10:45 AM
nerdballer nerdballer is offline
Registered User
nerdballer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 1047991
nerdballer Reputation: 10
Default

Ugh i hate that for you man. It's weird how some manufacturers get all sketched out when you remove the stock cooler while other don't. I know EVGA is more open to it, and from what I've heard NVIDIA doesn't officially void your warranty if you open up their FE cards. I also noticed there are no tamper-evident stickers or tape or screws when cracking open the FE. I'm not sure about your model though. At the end of the day, if Asus can't prove you cracked open the card, and you don't tell them when you do a Return/RMA...well...that could give you some options...

But let's not get ahead of ourselves. It's just as likely that there's a short when the waterblock is installed as there being a GPU fault. That's the point of that next test.

I looked up your model but am having a hard time finding reviews that mention putting this model underwater. For sanity's sake, it would be nice to see proof that it has been done. I'm not sure if waterblock manufacturers just test PCB fit when put together their compatibility lists or if they actually fully install it and boot the system...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.