The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-11-2020, 06:51 PM
Ironsidedonald Ironsidedonald is offline
Registered User
Ironsidedonald's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1040951
Ironsidedonald Reputation: 10
Default New Corsair Ram Stock XMP does not work and new ram has an older ver. number?

So i've had Corsair Vengeance LPX memory (CMK16GX4M2Z3200C16) in my computer since Dec 2017 and it has been working great with XMP enabled as this is stock overclocked memory. The box says 3200mhz on it and thats what it was set too.
The issue now is I went and bought the exact same kit to go from 16GB to 32GB and my computer was blue screening and apps were crashing constantly.
Once I turned off XMP it was fine. I ran MemTest86 with xmp on and off, With it on I got about 700 errors at one point and another try it crashed the program. With xmp off it works fine no errors and finishes a pass no problem.

I tried different slots, I even exchanged the ram for the same one and I have the same problems again. SO XMP worked on old memory but not new memory.
The only difference I can see between the sticks is the new stuff is VER 4.32 and the 2 year old ram is Ver 5.32. So the old ram has a newer version number than the new stuff? I checked and the packaging has changed since the old one and the serial number is a higher number indicating it is newer stock made more recently.

Sorry for the long rant but This is all the info I have and I am at a loss what to do.
And yes my Bios is up to date.

Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-11-2020, 09:09 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11,561
POST ID # = 1040960
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 116
Default

The version numbers usually indicate the materials came from a different batch or supplier of material. This can be a substantial obstacle to getting them to play well together. Even when the version numbers are the same, there is always an chance two different kits manufactured some time apart are not going to get along.

I would set manual speed and voltage (3200, 1.35v) and then enter the primary timings in the DRAM Timing menu of the Advanced BIOS. You may also need to set IO and SA voltage, but I can't give you a figure for Ryzen. You can start on Auto and see how it goes. If this doesn't boot or kicks back errors, you may need a new plan. Remember there was a pretty firm ceiling on the 2000 series processors with RAM frequency and just because it can run 2x8 at 3200 does not mean it automatically can do 4x8@3200.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-11-2020, 10:30 PM
ResurrectorRTX's Avatar
ResurrectorRTX ResurrectorRTX is offline
Intel and NVIDIA Fanboy
ResurrectorRTX's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1040965
ResurrectorRTX Reputation: 10
Default

I'd say there's an incompatibility between your old and new sticks even if they're running at the same speed with the same timing settings.

Try and set your settings manually as c-attack mentioned above. If that doesn't help, I'd suggest returning the new sticks and buy a new 4x8GB or a 2x16GB kit. That way you can be assured that the sticks will be working together as intended.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-12-2020, 06:04 AM
emissary42's Avatar
emissary42 emissary42 is offline
Registered User
emissary42's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Nehr'esham
Posts: 1,041
POST ID # = 1040999
emissary42 emissary42 Reputation: 122
Default

The version number does not indicate which kit is newer or older, but what type of IC they are built from. The production date can be determined from the serial numbers instead, starting with JJ KW.

In general different version numbers lower the chance of both kits working together. That is one of the reasons why the official recommendation is to use a single kit of the required capacity.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
not working, ram, version, xmp

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.