The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD) > SSD Firmware Update

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-06-2012, 05:30 AM
Camuser Camuser is offline
Registered User
Camuser's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 588784
Camuser Reputation: 10
Default Firmware update tool doesnt see drive

I have a Corsair Force GT 3 120G SSD and tried to update the firmware but to no avail. I downloaded the update tool from this website and follow the instructions but no device is found or listed in the window for the firmware to update.

How can I make my drive visible or is there a manual way to do this?

Thanks
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 07-07-2012, 05:57 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,193
POST ID # = 589018
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Have you tried the troubleshooting steps, e.g. try to flash it on an Intel SATA port, right click the tool and run as admin?
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 07-09-2012, 06:38 AM
Camuser Camuser is offline
Registered User
Camuser's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 589189
Camuser Reputation: 10
Default

[Fixed]
Soon as i connected to another ATA port, the update tool was able to see my drive to update the firmware.

Im somewhat disappointed in the results i see however.


Is there anything else I can do to ensure I'm getting the best performance out of my drive other than what I've done already below:

1) Updated Firmware (checked)

2) Secure erase SSD (checked)

Thanks for your help
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 07-09-2012, 08:10 PM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,331
POST ID # = 589370
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 124
Default

The results are normal, It's on a SATA II port.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 07-10-2012, 03:26 AM
Camuser Camuser is offline
Registered User
Camuser's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 589421
Camuser Reputation: 10
Default

I've connected to my SATA 3 port and here are my results:



Can I achieve the performance that is on the box that states "Read 555 mb/s" and "Write 515 mb/s"

It seems I'm far from that. Anything else I can do to narrow the gap?

Thanks
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 07-10-2012, 03:45 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,331
POST ID # = 589424
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 124
Default

The speeds on the box are SATA III speeds. The Marvell controller you have only runs at 5Gb/s not 6Gb/s. I'd leave it on the Intel SATA II port.

There is a option to use a PCIe card.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 07-10-2012, 12:39 PM
Camuser Camuser is offline
Registered User
Camuser's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 589492
Camuser Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks Toasted for your help!

Any suggestions on where I begin to use a PCIe Card ? Be specific as possible please :)
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 07-11-2012, 06:25 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,331
POST ID # = 589625
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 124
Default

Search some PCIe cards from a retailer such as Newegg and read reviews.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 07-11-2012, 03:18 PM
Camuser Camuser is offline
Registered User
Camuser's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 589749
Camuser Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
Search some PCIe cards from a retailer such as Newegg and read reviews.
I ended up going with highpoint 2710 rocketraid controller. I wouldnt say the reviews were all that great with this product but a few reviews were good and for the price it seem reasonable.

Here are my results:



Thanks for all your help
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 07-12-2012, 03:18 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,331
POST ID # = 589836
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 124
Default

Nice SATA III speeds you got there. :)
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 07-19-2012, 07:51 PM
Synbios's Avatar
Synbios Synbios is offline
Registered User
Synbios's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 1,157
POST ID # = 591208
Synbios Reputation: 10
Send a message via AIM to Synbios
Default

That is awesome that the new controller card has those speeds with the drive. Good to know that it was being limited by the onboard controller.
__________________
Force drive not recognized in firmware update utility? Click here
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.