Corsair Community

Problem with CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9

alexnode

I bought a Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9 8GB 1600MHz CL9 DDR3 Vengeance Memory Two Module Kit and I built a stable system ASUS p8z77-v, i7-2700k Corsair HX750W, H100i, Crucial M4 256 and a Carbide 500r. Windows 8 pro

I overclocked the cpu to 4.4ghz and set up the memory to 1600mhz. I am completely new to OC so I used AIsuite II. The system was fast and stable.

Yesterday I bought another pair of 8gb (2x4gb) memory which is CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9 8GB 1600MHz. The cover is the same but on the stick the version is v.8.16 not v.5.29. In bios some of the values are different

tRPC 208 new - 128 old

tCWL 8 new 9 old

I installed the sticks and couldn't boot (new A1-B1 Old A2 -B2). There was a Red light i pressed the memOK button. No luck. I tested one only at A2 it booted properly, the other one though got the machine to an infinite boot loop. I used Memtest86 for the old all ok, the working new one all ok. The bad one could boot at all.

Then i though experimenting a bit more. I put the bad stick at b2 and the good one at A2. It booted properly ! and i did a usb memtest with no error for 3 loops. I tried again the bad stick alone and i couldn't boot at all. Then i put all the sticks together and it booted but crashed on a BSOD almost imediately as it was trying to load windows. I rebooted in memtest86 it passed the test.

I believe that one of the sticks is no good. But i wanted to make sure that i didn't miss any bios trick.

Any ideas ?

Yesterday I bought another pair of 8gb (2x4gb) memory which is CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9 8GB 1600MHz. The cover is the same but on the stick the version is v.8.16 not v.5.29. In bios some of the values are different

tRPC 208 new - 128 old

tCWL 8 new 9 old