The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-14-2019, 03:48 AM
Grixx Grixx is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1027443
Grixx Reputation: 10
Default iCUE 3.23.XX Issue

This is my first time posting here so I apologize if this is not the right place to post this topic.

I believe I have found an issue with the current build of the iCUE software, 3.23.66. Though, I first witnessed the issue with the build immediately preceding this one.


Problem:
The issue is K70 RGB MK.2 SE starting to type multiple buttons from a single key press.


Perceived Cause:
The cause appears to be having actions saved in the actions library for the mouse. In my specific case, actions that remap keys to the side buttons on the mouse, a Scimitar Pro RGB.

I have the side keys mapped to number pad buttons. Saving any of the mapped keys to the Actions Library within iCUE then causes the keyboard to hit multiple keys. In my case, it was number row also hitting number pad keys, and function keys hitting any combination of any other key on the keyboard.

Steps Taken:
  1. Uninstalled iCUE
  2. Backed up & deleted the Corsair folder under %APPDATA%
  3. Ran CCcleaner to remove anything lingering in the registry
  4. Restarted my system
  5. Navigated to https://www.corsair.com/us/en/downloads
  6. Download the latest build of iCUE, 3.23.66
  7. Installed iCUE 3.23.66

After clean install of iCUE 3.23.66;
  1. Opened note pad and tested every key - confirmed zero error events
  2. Backed up the clean install of Corsair folder in %APPDATA% to my desktop
  3. Replaced Corsair folder with previously backed up folder that contained my profiles
  4. Tested keys in note pad again - confirmed 13 keys with error events
  5. Appended Corsair folder in %APPDATA% with "maybe bad"
  6. Copy and pasted a copy of the clean install Corsair folder to %APPDATA%
  7. Tested keys in note pad again - confirmed zero error events
  8. Created a new profile
  9. Went to https://www.keyboardtester.com/tester.html (I wanted more comprehensive testing than notepad can offer)
  10. Tested all keys - confirmed zero error events
  11. Created a lighting effect for K70 RGB MK.2 SE
  12. Tested all keys - confirmed zero error events
  13. Saved lighting effect for K70 RGB MK.2 SE to Lightings Library
  14. Tested all keys - confirmed zero error events
  15. Set up DPI preferences for Scimitar Pro
  16. Tested all keys - confirmed zero error events
  17. Set up Side key action for Scimitar Pro side button 1
  18. Tested all keys - confirmed zero error events
  19. Repeated Previous 2 steps for each side button, 11 more times - witnessed zero error events
  20. Saved saved all created key actions to actions library
  21. Tested all keys - confirmed 13 error events
  22. Closed iCUE
  23. Appended Corsair folder within %APPDATA% with "MyProfile"
  24. Copy and pasted new copy of clean install Corsair folder into %APPDATA%
  25. Before starting iCUE tested all keys - confirmed zero error events
  26. started iCUE with clean install Corsair folder in place
  27. Tested all keys - confirmed zero error events
  28. created an action for Scimitar Pro RGB
  29. Tested all keys - confirmed zero error events
  30. saved the action into the action library
  31. Tested all keys - confirmed 1 error event
  32. Closed iCUE
  33. Deleted Corsair folder from %APPDATA%
  34. Removed the "MyProfile" from previous Corsair folder
  35. Tested all keys - confirmed zero error events
  36. Started iCUE
  37. Tested all keys - confirmed 13 error events
  38. Deleted all saved actions from the action library
  39. Tested all keys - confirmed zero error events

Closing Thoughts:
I did not test creating actions for the K70, but as you might guess, by this point I felt like I was doing more than my own due diligence. I think from my testing, and ability to reproduce the error, something is going wrong when saving actions to the actions library in the newest builds of iCUE.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-14-2019, 07:55 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,078
POST ID # = 1027458
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

I’m afraid you are 6 weeks late to the party and there are dozens of threads going back to the launch of 3.22.74. Your best option is to clear out anything saved in the Action Library, while leaving assigned profile actions alone (keyboard and mouse). This is not a guaranteed solution and some launch application commands or macros may still cause issues when in the normal profile. Corsair is aware of the issue.

Last edited by c-attack; 12-14-2019 at 07:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-14-2019, 09:50 PM
Xii-Nyth Xii-Nyth is offline
Registered User
Xii-Nyth's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1027537
Xii-Nyth Reputation: 10
Default

Ahh just was about to post this fix I found deleting the appdata/roaming/corsair/libraries/actions when I saw this, wonder how I never found the older posts mentioned by c-attack when I was trying to fix it yesterday.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-15-2019, 09:18 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,078
POST ID # = 1027579
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Unfortunately, a lot of them have generic names like "K70 problem", "macro", "wrong keys" and things that are not immediately obvious. They are also stretched across both the iCUE and keyboards forums. This issue affects all keyboards, but the number of keys seems to alter how the bug is presented. It also is likely to affect programmable mice.

Deleting the Actions Library from the App Data/Roaming/Corsair folder works as well and might be easier if you have a few dozen things in the library.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-15-2019, 06:59 PM
LOKIoA LOKIoA is offline
Registered User
LOKIoA's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 1027629
LOKIoA Reputation: 10
Default

I also stumbled across this issue today. (It's been Update-Day as you can guess). I am very impressed with your detailed troubleshooting process Grixx, nice one!

But what, how come that this issue persists since 6 weeks and multiple updates?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.