The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-16-2019, 03:30 AM
Baba Yetu VI Baba Yetu VI is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 1018317
Baba Yetu VI Reputation: 10
Default H80i v2 installation questions

Hi,

I have an old motherboard which doesn't support RGB. On the H80i v2 unit, there is a connector which connects to the motherboard USB header. If my motherboard USB header is occupied, will the unit still run without connecting the USB cable to the motherboard?

Thanks for the help in advance.

Best regards
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-16-2019, 08:15 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,645
POST ID # = 1018338
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

The cooler will still run and follow a pre-programmed fan curve. The USB cable is for transferring data between the device and the software. There really isn't much RGB on a H80i v2 and that will stay once set. However, without it you will not have fan control or access to the coolant temperature data. If that is what you end up deciding, you may wish to move the fans off the H80i v2 controller and to your motherboard so you have some idea of what's happening.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-16-2019, 11:41 AM
Baba Yetu VI Baba Yetu VI is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 1018354
Baba Yetu VI Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
The cooler will still run and follow a pre-programmed fan curve. The USB cable is for transferring data between the device and the software. There really isn't much RGB on a H80i v2 and that will stay once set. However, without it you will not have fan control or access to the coolant temperature data. If that is what you end up deciding, you may wish to move the fans off the H80i v2 controller and to your motherboard so you have some idea of what's happening.
So, I suppose the fans' cable will be connected to the connectors stemmed from my PSU, am I correct? And the fans will be running at their max speed, what is the max speed of the H80i v2's fans?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-16-2019, 01:58 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,873
POST ID # = 1018368
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

The H80iV2 has an internal fan controller. You should connect the fans to that.
You really don't want to run the H80i V2's fans at max speed ... unless you enjoy the sound of a 737 taking off, that is.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 09-16-2019, 02:45 PM
Baba Yetu VI Baba Yetu VI is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 1018373
Baba Yetu VI Reputation: 10
Default

stupid question really, if the USB 2.0 header on my motherboard is used for connecting the pump, I will lose the connection to the front panel. Is there a workaround for that? Do I really need the link cable for normal operation of the unit?

Also, there is an AIO Pump on my motherboard, is it used for connecting to the H80i v2 pump?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 09-16-2019, 04:03 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,873
POST ID # = 1018382
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

The USB connection uses a standard mini USB 2.0 connection. So you could use a standard USB cable and put it into your rear I/O. Another alternative is an internal USB hub.

You don't need it for the unit to operate. You do need it if you want to control the unit and monitor the temperature and the fan and pump speeds.

The AIO Pump header on your motherboard is just a normal fan header set to 100%. You can use it if you want but you'll have to turn off the CPU_Fan warning. Putting it on the CPU_FAN header provides you with a warning in the event of total pump failure.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 09-17-2019, 11:28 AM
Baba Yetu VI Baba Yetu VI is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 1018462
Baba Yetu VI Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
The USB connection uses a standard mini USB 2.0 connection. So you could use a standard USB cable and put it into your rear I/O. Another alternative is an internal USB hub.

You don't need it for the unit to operate. You do need it if you want to control the unit and monitor the temperature and the fan and pump speeds.

The AIO Pump header on your motherboard is just a normal fan header set to 100%. You can use it if you want but you'll have to turn off the CPU_Fan warning. Putting it on the CPU_FAN header provides you with a warning in the event of total pump failure.
Thanks, you seem to understand what I am asking.

Another question about the monitoring and control of fan speed and pump speed: If I don't have iCue software, can I adjust the fan and pump speed via the BIOS?
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 09-17-2019, 11:44 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,873
POST ID # = 1018463
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

No, you cannot adjust the fan and pump speed via the BIOS. If you set the fan header to DC/3-pin mode and try to set a curve, you'll wind up not providing the pump with the full 12V that it needs to operate properly, leading to an early failure.
So ... don't do it.
You can set the curve in iCUE and save to the device - as long as the curve source is set to the pump temperature (which is what it should be).
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 09-17-2019, 11:50 AM
Baba Yetu VI Baba Yetu VI is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 1018465
Baba Yetu VI Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
No, you cannot adjust the fan and pump speed via the BIOS. If you set the fan header to DC/3-pin mode and try to set a curve, you'll wind up not providing the pump with the full 12V that it needs to operate properly, leading to an early failure.
So ... don't do it.
You can set the curve in iCUE and save to the device - as long as the curve source is set to the pump temperature (which is what it should be).
Now I am confused.
Ok, my motherboard is a P8Z77-I Deluxe. The link to the manual is https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m...7-I_DELUXE.pdf

Page 22/178 shows the diagram. I am currently using an old Hydro Series H60 (purchased in 2013) and I connect the cable from the pump to the Fan header and that's it. The fan which is attached to the radiator is one of the stock fan of my case and the fan is connected to DC.

If I replace this Hydro H60 with H80i v2, is it compatible?

If not, I am ready to purchase a new motherboard and CPU.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 09-17-2019, 12:04 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,645
POST ID # = 1018468
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

The H60 is a traditional non-software piece of kit. Power supply to the pump. Power to the fan. One standard fan wire for each and they act like a fan.

The H80i v2 (note the "i") is a software controlled cooler. It has its own onboard fan controller to run in accordance with coolant temperature (the proper control variable). It will still work without the USB connection, but the software cannot see it and you cannot change its behavior.

Your current motherboard and CPU should be compatible. Socket shape/type is the only thing that prevents one cooler or another from being fitted.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 09-17-2019, 12:12 PM
Baba Yetu VI Baba Yetu VI is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 1018469
Baba Yetu VI Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
The H60 is a traditional non-software piece of kit. Power supply to the pump. Power to the fan. One standard fan wire for each and they act like a fan.

The H80i v2 (note the "i") is a software controlled cooler. It has its own onboard fan controller to run in accordance with coolant temperature (the proper control variable). It will still work without the USB connection, but the software cannot see it and you cannot change its behavior.
So I should get one of those without an "i"?
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 09-17-2019, 01:34 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,645
POST ID # = 1018475
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

I think the easier solution is the get $7 USB 2 splitter/hub, unless you hate software and don't want any more programs on your machine. Most coolers these days have a software component, except on the low end of the scale.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 09-17-2019, 02:49 PM
Baba Yetu VI Baba Yetu VI is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 1018483
Baba Yetu VI Reputation: 10
Default

Is there a new version of the H60 that comes without the link cable?
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 09-17-2019, 04:49 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,645
POST ID # = 1018492
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Corsair H60 (2018)
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego.../CW-9060036-WW

Note this is not really the same performance category as the H80i v2. H60 is 120x25mm radiator, single fan, higher speed pump to compensate. H80i v2 is 120x49mm, dual 120mm fan, adjustable pump speed. I don’t know your needs and am not trying to sway you in either direction, but they are different products. One thing to note is the H80i v2 is pushing 100mm in thickness. That is a big sandwich to stuff into your case.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 09-18-2019, 01:45 AM
Baba Yetu VI Baba Yetu VI is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 1018526
Baba Yetu VI Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
Corsair H60 (2018)
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego.../CW-9060036-WW

Note this is not really the same performance category as the H80i v2. H60 is 120x25mm radiator, single fan, higher speed pump to compensate. H80i v2 is 120x49mm, dual 120mm fan, adjustable pump speed. I don’t know your needs and am not trying to sway you in either direction, but they are different products. One thing to note is the H80i v2 is pushing 100mm in thickness. That is a big sandwich to stuff into your case.
It is very thoughtful of you.

I find out my H60 pump speed from a third party utility known as Speedfan. It is denoted as CPU Fan probably because the cable of the H60 is connected to my mobo's CPU fan header. It is 4299 rmp! Miraculously high!!

Thanks for your thoughtfulness. I do understandthat they are different products. In fact, I wanted to reserve some upgrade possibilities in the near future. My plan is to clean my motherboard which is full of dust, then reuse it for a little while more until the new B55 chipset comes out, but my H60's radiator fin is full of dust and blocked that the fan cant do much to ventilate the heat off. At first I didn't realize there is new H60 thinking that the lowest model is H80i.

I've just checked the spec, the new H60 doesn't have a link cable which is GOOD!

By the way, do you know if H60 is sufficient to keep new(to me) CPUs like the 9th gen Intel 9400F, 9600K and 2nd/3rd gen AMD 2600, 3600 cool to run. I am assuming all of them to be running at stock speed, no overclock. My H60 is doing really well all these years, my CPU is "K" type which is 35C at idle and 55C when playing games. So I am seriously considering replace it with the new H60.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.