The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 7 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-24-2013, 02:45 PM
GrahamB's Avatar
GrahamB GrahamB is offline
Registered User
GrahamB's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Leighton Buzzard, England
Posts: 98
POST ID # = 679842
GrahamB Reputation: 10
Default LED Fans and corsair link

Hi Corsair,

A suggestion to you, you need to establish a new standard for PWM fans and LEDs.

No LED fan will work with the Link Cooling node, what I want are PWM fans with LEDs, preferably RGB Leds, at a minimum on/off. I think this means going to 5 pin fans at a minimum, standard PWM + LED (and RGB).

As you are redesigning the cooling node, just a thought, as long as you can provide the fans as well.

I would think if you did this then these would differentiate you from the competition.

Just a thought.
__________________
I have nothing to do with Corsair, apart from buying my Case, Memory, Cooler, PSU and Link from them.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-25-2013, 03:35 PM
Corsair Dustin's Avatar
Corsair Dustin Corsair Dustin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Dustin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4,100
POST ID # = 679965
Corsair Dustin Reputation: 41
Default

Incidentally, I'm actually running five of our LED fans attached to a Corsair Link Cooling Node and they work fine. It's tough to get 3-pin fan compatibility across so many different fans for the Cooling Nodes, but all of our fans are tested with Corsair Link for compatibility.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-25-2013, 04:06 PM
GrahamB's Avatar
GrahamB GrahamB is offline
Registered User
GrahamB's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Leighton Buzzard, England
Posts: 98
POST ID # = 679971
GrahamB Reputation: 10
Default

I must ask how do you control the LEDs through the cooling node?
__________________
I have nothing to do with Corsair, apart from buying my Case, Memory, Cooler, PSU and Link from them.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-25-2013, 04:39 PM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 679975
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

There is nothing to control. They are only single color LED's. I believe what Dustin is getting at is that all the LED's light correctly, and the fan speed is controllable.
__________________
NO, I do not work for Corsair! But I am an official forum helper.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-25-2013, 05:06 PM
GrahamB's Avatar
GrahamB GrahamB is offline
Registered User
GrahamB's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Leighton Buzzard, England
Posts: 98
POST ID # = 679977
GrahamB Reputation: 10
Default

No control of On/Off for the LEDs or any brightness control?
__________________
I have nothing to do with Corsair, apart from buying my Case, Memory, Cooler, PSU and Link from them.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-25-2013, 05:48 PM
GrahamB's Avatar
GrahamB GrahamB is offline
Registered User
GrahamB's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Leighton Buzzard, England
Posts: 98
POST ID # = 679981
GrahamB Reputation: 10
Default

My understanding of fan connections:

PWM fans have:
Ground
+12V
Sense (one pulse per 1/2 rotation)
Control (PWM)

I cannot see how an LED Fan can fit into this scheme? If anyone can enlighten me I would be grateful.
__________________
I have nothing to do with Corsair, apart from buying my Case, Memory, Cooler, PSU and Link from them.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 10-25-2013, 05:51 PM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 679982
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

The 12v is split. Basically one side goes to fan power and one goes to power the LED's.. But of course this is all done on that tiny circuit board on the back of the fan.

Quote:
No control of On/Off for the LEDs or any brightness control?
No control over either.
__________________
NO, I do not work for Corsair! But I am an official forum helper.

Last edited by peanutz94; 10-25-2013 at 06:01 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 10-25-2013, 06:15 PM
GrahamB's Avatar
GrahamB GrahamB is offline
Registered User
GrahamB's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Leighton Buzzard, England
Posts: 98
POST ID # = 679987
GrahamB Reputation: 10
Default

The standard case fans with my carbide 500R have Ground, Fan 12V, and LED 12V in 3 pins. Fan speed is controllable via voltage but I cannot see how this would connect to a link cooling node.
__________________
I have nothing to do with Corsair, apart from buying my Case, Memory, Cooler, PSU and Link from them.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 10-25-2013, 06:16 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 679988
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Dustin View Post
Incidentally, I'm actually running five of our LED fans attached to a Corsair Link Cooling Node and they work fine. It's tough to get 3-pin fan compatibility across so many different fans for the Cooling Nodes, but all of our fans are tested with Corsair Link for compatibility.
for clarification your saying that all corsair fans work with link commander?
3 pin 4 pin and led?
is this with only the newest software or?
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 10-25-2013, 06:24 PM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 679992
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

Quote:
for clarification your saying that all corsair fans work with link commander?
3 pin 4 pin and led?
No, just 4pin and LED, but not 3 pin fans.
Quote:
The standard case fans with my carbide 500R have Ground, Fan 12V, and LED 12V in 3 pins. Fan speed is controllable via voltage but I cannot see how this would connect to a link cooling node.
It wouldn't. It would have to be a 4pin fan. I believe what Dustin was getting at was that all of Corsairs 4 pin PWM fans would work. Although he makes it sound as if even the three pin fan would too. I don't believe this is the case.
__________________
NO, I do not work for Corsair! But I am an official forum helper.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 10-25-2013, 06:46 PM
GrahamB's Avatar
GrahamB GrahamB is offline
Registered User
GrahamB's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Leighton Buzzard, England
Posts: 98
POST ID # = 680001
GrahamB Reputation: 10
Default

But with a 4 pin PWM LED fan the LEDs would have to be linked to the fan 12v and be always on, not controllable.

Would help if Corsair would publish this information in their fan descriptions!
Technical specs just say 2 years warranty, not very technical!
__________________
I have nothing to do with Corsair, apart from buying my Case, Memory, Cooler, PSU and Link from them.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 10-25-2013, 06:48 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 680002
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peanutz94 View Post
No, just 4pin and LED, but not 3 pin fans.

It wouldn't. It would have to be a 4pin fan. I believe what Dustin was getting at was that all of Corsairs 4 pin PWM fans would work. Although he makes it sound as if even the three pin fan would too. I don't believe this is the case.
i agree but didnt want to sound brash and say so
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 10-25-2013, 07:34 PM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 680017
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

Quote:
But with a 4 pin PWM LED fan the LEDs would have to be linked to the fan 12v and be always on, not controllable.
Not necessarily. Look at fans that have a separate on/off switch for the LED's. You could still bring , say a link connector off the circuit board instead of an on/off switch. That would make them controllable in LINK. But as you said before, your talking a whole redisgn of current fans. I don't know if that would happen or not.

A good example ifs the Enermax T.B. Vegas Duo for example( i run the vegas's myself on my loop) they have multiple LED's that are switchable via a small control button . All you would need to do is change the button to a connector and combine them via software. Stick a fork in it, it's done! LOL I know it's not QUITE that simple, but in theory it could be done.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835214033
__________________
NO, I do not work for Corsair! But I am an official forum helper.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 10-25-2013, 07:39 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 680018
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peanutz94 View Post
Not necessarily. Look at fans that have a separate on/off switch for the LED's. You could still bring , say a link connector off the circuit board instead of an on/off switch. That would make them controllable in LINK. But as you said before, your talking a whole redisgn of current fans. I don't know if that would happen or not.

A good example ifs the Enermax T.B. Vegas Duo for example( i run the vegas's myself on my loop) they have multiple LED's that are switchable via a small control button . All you would need to do is change the button to a connector and combine them via software. Stick a fork in it, it's done! LOL I know it's not QUITE that simple, but in theory it could be done.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835214033
i have 8 of the tbe's ,7 still unopened,i wasnt able to get them to work via the link
ccoulda been me tho,im not the brightest bulb on the tree
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 10-25-2013, 08:14 PM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 680025
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

I never tried them with LINK. So i couldn't tell you if they would work or not. That was just an example of what would or could be possible with the LED's themselves.

I have mine controlled VIA MB.
__________________
NO, I do not work for Corsair! But I am an official forum helper.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.