The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-22-2015, 11:32 PM
Ghallo Ghallo is offline
Registered User
Ghallo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 780687
Ghallo Reputation: 10
Default List of functional KVMs?

So, I ditched my ioGear MiniView Pro - since it "emulates" a keyboard it will not work with any gaming keyboard (blech).

I'm now on to the Linkskey "LDV-DM7224USK" and this is turning out to be $500 of worthless garbage. (Long story short, it works with 1 machine and not another... and if it ever loses power you have to disconnect and reconnect all the cables (not a small task).

So, here I am, about to return the Linkskey, and I am wondering if anyone out there has a recommendation.

I would prefer a triple port DVI solution, but will settle for Dual (or even a single... I'm desparate!) - and it needs to switch 4 PC's

I would like it to switch Audio as well, but just stereo is needed - I don't need anything fancy.

Price isn't a big issue - I want quality and I want it to work.

So please, someone with a working KVM let me know. I know that Corsair "doesn't recommend/test KVM's" but that doesn't mean they won't work.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-23-2015, 01:51 AM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,305
POST ID # = 780697
Inheritance Reputation: 70
Default

really depends if it can push enough power. adn if you have a ton of other stuff pluged in it might not be able to.
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-23-2015, 03:29 AM
Ghallo Ghallo is offline
Registered User
Ghallo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 780712
Ghallo Reputation: 10
Default

The only thing I have plugged in is the K95, a mouse, and a powered USB Hub. The second plug of the K95 is plugged into the powered USB Hub.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-25-2015, 08:25 AM
stevvie stevvie is offline
Registered User
stevvie's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 191
POST ID # = 781019
stevvie Reputation: 10
Default

I doubt many kvm will work correct as I'm convinced the K95RGB and probably the other RGB range are slightly out of USB spec. Thats why corsair are having SO much problems with them.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-26-2015, 04:24 AM
Ghallo Ghallo is offline
Registered User
Ghallo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 781121
Ghallo Reputation: 10
Default

Well, I know that it "kind-of" works with my
http://linkskey.com/product/ldv-dm72...itch-w-cables/

It works on 2 out of 3 machines :P

If it worked on 3 out of 3 ... well I'd be a happy camper! I don't know what is up with that other machine, but nothing I do seems to get it to work.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 05-26-2015, 07:13 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,459
POST ID # = 781248
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevvie View Post
I doubt many kvm will work correct as I'm convinced the K95RGB and probably the other RGB range are slightly out of USB spec. Thats why corsair are having SO much problems with them.
You're half right. Most ports on motherboards are out of spec and the troubles occur since we designed our peripherals to be in spec.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 05-26-2015, 09:55 PM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,305
POST ID # = 781275
Inheritance Reputation: 70
Default

Specs just something one writes down and says to others "i'd be nice if you followed these but you know your product your choice"
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 05-28-2015, 03:01 AM
mathew7 mathew7 is offline
Registered User
mathew7's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 781502
mathew7 Reputation: 10
Default

I'm using Aten CS1794, 4-port HDMI+USB+audio for 2 years, bought for about 250EUR.
KB emulation has "sticky" problems even with budget Logitech keyboards so I only use passthrough ports for KB+mouse. The difference from OS standpoint is that the passthrough ports connect/disconnect the devices on switching, but I never had problems with that, even inside games.
From the gaming keyboards, I did try Razer Deathstalker Ultimate 2014 which worked as expected even with only 1 USB connection, although I never installed its SW.

Although it's HDMI, DVI adapters are cheap and usable. Only VGA is unusable (I actually bought a VGA to HDMI adapter for maybe 50 EUR, since I do some PC repairing and not all PCs have DVI/HDMI).

PS: When I bought it it had an "automatic PC power detection" which I hated (and posted on Amazon), but in the latest firmware it can be disabled.

Edit: Just a disclaimer: I did not try it with a Corsair keyboard (OPs specific question), but I got on the forums since I'm looking to buy a K70 RGB. So hopefully I can give (positive???) feedback later.

Last edited by mathew7; 05-28-2015 at 03:04 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 06-18-2015, 03:44 PM
Ghallo Ghallo is offline
Registered User
Ghallo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 785506
Ghallo Reputation: 10
Default

Solved (at least for me):
Tripp Lite 4-Port Dual Monitor DVI KVM Switch with Audio and USB 2.0 Hub
Part: B004-2DUA4-K

So, I setup this KVM and it not only works with my K95, it works with all of the PC's I've attempted to connect it to. I am inclined to believe Corsair James, because of the experiences and problems I have been having it does not appear to be a problem with the K95 - it is a problem with specific MOBO Mfrs.

So, I went through about 3 other KVM's (thank goodness for Prime and free returns) and none of them worked with all of my machines. This one did - so I am posting here in case someone in the future has a similar problem.

A note: This KVM needs to have Keyboard emulation (on by default) turned off. You simply press NumLock and '-' to get into programing mode, then hit the 'n' key to turn off KB emulation. I basically put in a dummy USB keyboard used it to turn KB emulation off, then plugged the K95 in.

The only thing that has me scratching my head now is why KVM's are so rare. Oh well.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 06-18-2015, 04:33 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,459
POST ID # = 785520
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghallo View Post
Solved (at least for me):
Tripp Lite 4-Port Dual Monitor DVI KVM Switch with Audio and USB 2.0 Hub
Part: B004-2DUA4-K

So, I setup this KVM and it not only works with my K95, it works with all of the PC's I've attempted to connect it to. I am inclined to believe Corsair James, because of the experiences and problems I have been having it does not appear to be a problem with the K95 - it is a problem with specific MOBO Mfrs.

So, I went through about 3 other KVM's (thank goodness for Prime and free returns) and none of them worked with all of my machines. This one did - so I am posting here in case someone in the future has a similar problem.

A note: This KVM needs to have Keyboard emulation (on by default) turned off. You simply press NumLock and '-' to get into programing mode, then hit the 'n' key to turn off KB emulation. I basically put in a dummy USB keyboard used it to turn KB emulation off, then plugged the K95 in.

The only thing that has me scratching my head now is why KVM's are so rare. Oh well.
Thanks for sharing a device that works!

Maybe someday we should make a KVM huh?
__________________

iCUE - A CORSAIR Interface
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/icue
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 12-16-2015, 04:16 PM
Fhuron Fhuron is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 825946
Fhuron Reputation: 10
Default

I am using an IOgear 2 port USB kvm ( model GCS42UW6) with my k95 and it appears to be working, but I had to use both ports for the 2 USB plugs on the keyboard. I have one mouse plugged into my gaming PC and use a Bluetooth mouse for the laptop. So far, everything seems to be working ok.
I was also think of runing a pair of these to get my good mouse usable on both systems, just have one of the KB USBs plugged into each kvm and swith both: clicking 2 buttons isn't really that big of a hassle.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 10-01-2019, 02:11 PM
ralphclark ralphclark is offline
Registered User
ralphclark's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1019865
ralphclark Reputation: 10
Default K70 Lux on AV Access 4KSW41-KVM works out of the box

The AV Access 4KSW41-KVM is a 4-port HDMI KVM (one of my hosts is a cheap fanless microPC with no displayport.

Even the volume wheel and the multimedia keys are working on this KVM.

If it's 4K Displayport that you need, look for a KVM with TTU (True Transparent USB) as made by Uniclass, InLine and Lindy. Ditto for DVI.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
k95, kvm

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.