The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Audio

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 11 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-27-2014, 10:09 PM
mistystriker mistystriker is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 699469
mistystriker Reputation: 10
Sad Vengeance 2100 - Brand New - Audio Cutting Out, Software Issue?

Hi guys,
I'm running Windows 8.1 and I only bought this headset about five days ago so I have the latest drivers (Headset Software Version 2.0.26, Audio Drivers 1.0.0.27). I've yet to find an exact reason as to what sets off this problem as it can happen when I'm doing nothing, when I'm in the middle of a YouTube vid, a game, a Skype call, music... there's not really any defining factors I can see straight up.

But anyway, the issue:
At random intervals (the time varies between incidents), the audio in my headset goes kaput. The mic continues to function, and occasionally there will be crackly blips pulsing in the headphones at regular intervals. This will continue until I unplug the dongle and replug it back in. Turning the headset on and off does nothing to fix it. If it happens mid-game, I have to reboot the game to get audio back. YouTube videos will cease to play if it drops out while I'm watching something. Spotify flat out crashes. iTunes stays open but the song time numbers won't move until the sound is back up.

I have tried uninstalling the drivers and the software, rebooting and then reinstalling things. No success. The default format for the headset audio is set to DVD Quality. I can find no solutions online though I think some people are having similar issues? Corsair has -not- responded to my support ticket lodged four days ago, despite their email claiming they answer within one business day.

Any help appreciated.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-28-2014, 04:12 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,338
POST ID # = 699516
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 124
Default

Try the dongle on a different USB port and see if that helps.
Have you tried the extension as well?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-03-2014, 04:58 AM
mistystriker mistystriker is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 699884
mistystriker Reputation: 10
Default

Have tried new USB port, and I'm already using the extension cord that came with the headset.

Other new things I have tried: Disabling Legacy USB in the BIOS. No change.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-03-2014, 10:54 PM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,338
POST ID # = 699990
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 124
Default

When the audio cuts, does the L.E.D. on the dongle start flashing?
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-04-2014, 05:50 AM
mistystriker mistystriker is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 700019
mistystriker Reputation: 10
Default

Nope, stays solid.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-04-2014, 10:23 PM
vizionblind vizionblind is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 700119
vizionblind Reputation: 10
Default

same issue here. mine just started cutting out audio yesterday :( The headset was purchased a month ago. running latest drivers and windows 8.1
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-30-2014, 10:51 AM
mistystriker mistystriker is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 703423
mistystriker Reputation: 10
Default

An update on this:

Corsair support are wanting to organise an RMA for the dongle as it may be faulty. Guess who gets to pay international postage costs even though it's not their fault that the product has been like this since day one of purchase?
Yep..

Not enthusiastic about buying Corsair again.

Will advise if replacing the dongle fixes things.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 04-06-2014, 08:15 PM
mistystriker mistystriker is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 704462
mistystriker Reputation: 10
Default

Updating again:
New dongle didn't fix the issue. Now Corsair are replacing the whole headset so let's see how that goes. My boyfriend suggested disabling the wireless section of my router to see if that was causing the issue. Inconvenient, but I'll try it and check back.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 04-06-2014, 10:09 PM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,338
POST ID # = 704483
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 124
Default

It's possible nearby wireless devices may affect the V2100. Try moving the router away and leave the channel to Auto and see if that helps. You can move the dongle away instead of the router by using the included extension cable.

Do you have any other speakers connected to your computer?
Have you tried disabling those? Does it help?
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 04-13-2014, 09:38 PM
mistystriker mistystriker is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 705350
mistystriker Reputation: 10
Default

Messing with router wireless settings didn't change anything sadly.

While I was streaming some gameplay I had my usual audio issues and it the audio cut out in-stream as well. This pretty much confirms it's a software issue somehow right?
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 04-13-2014, 10:18 PM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,338
POST ID # = 705362
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 124
Default

Best way to find out if its a software or hardware issue would be trying the headset on another computer. The headset also has antennas which may be causing the issue instead of the dongle.

-Are you using any other speakers connected to your computer?
If yes, have you tried unplugging them?
-Have you tried turning off any power saving features? e.g. USB selective suspend found in Power options under Control panel.
-Latest chipset drivers?
Can be found here
Intel
https://downloadcenter.intel.com/default.aspx
AMD
http://support.amd.com/en-us
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 06-21-2016, 08:20 PM
sorry6 sorry6 is offline
Registered User
sorry6's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 859126
sorry6 Reputation: 10
Default

i no this is a old thread but was there any updates as to what was going wrong. Ive seen people with the void compaining of the same thing
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 06-25-2016, 07:23 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,338
POST ID # = 859735
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 124
Default

Put in a support ticket and see whether Corsair can provide you with suggestions
https://corsair.secure.force.com/
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 11-19-2016, 02:53 PM
BullSchmutz BullSchmutz is offline
Registered User
BullSchmutz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 879489
BullSchmutz Reputation: 10
Default

This is happening to me when I play SOMA.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 10-03-2018, 01:33 AM
ReleavedStudios ReleavedStudios is offline
Registered User
ReleavedStudios's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 975042
ReleavedStudios Reputation: 10
Thumbs up found a fix for it myself in a couple days :)

Ok so this post is several years old and you might have a new headset but I'm putting this on multiple forums to show my findings.
the wireless 7.1 is broke, from experience just setting the sound to stereo in the vengeance software stops it entirely, could do it with 5.1 but i haven't tried
https://imgur.com/a/j8vjsGf
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
audio cuts out, audio issues, audio problems, vengeance, vengeance 2100

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.