The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2017, 01:25 AM
RoundDuckMan RoundDuckMan is offline
Registered User
RoundDuckMan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 58
POST ID # = 885803
RoundDuckMan Reputation: 10
Exclamation [PSA] If you're looking for an unofficial Linux or Mac driver, there is ckb-next now!

You might notice on ckb's webpage that it hasn't been updated in AGES. As a result, some guys gathered together to make a fork called ckb-next. It is located here (https://github.com/mattanger/ckb-next).

It's still pretty newish at the moment, and don't expect too many changes over ckb at the moment, but hopefully (if the developer/maintainer for ckb doesn't come back) this project will get more attention and we can still have healthy cross-platform support for Corsair products.

Last edited by RoundDuckMan; 01-09-2017 at 01:27 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-09-2017, 01:50 PM
pacmac pacmac is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 885890
pacmac Reputation: 10
Default

Nice work. Hope it works in Gentoo. I will try it later :)
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 07-15-2018, 04:26 PM
QUAD849 QUAD849 is offline
Registered User
QUAD849's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 963616
QUAD849 Reputation: 10
Default

It works great. I cant believe Corsair with their own developers couldn't come with something like this but some guys on their free time could.

As good as the Corsair hardware is, I have to say that Corsair developers are the laziest and I have seen, adding that to their lack of vision I'm quite disappointing of Corsair strategy.

The work made by the guys of ckb-next is amazing, if you use OSX or Linux, you should try it.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 07-15-2018, 11:01 PM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is online now
CORSAIR Beta Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,305
POST ID # = 963682
Inheritance Reputation: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QUAD849 View Post
It works great. I cant believe Corsair with their own developers couldn't come with something like this but some guys on their free time could.

As good as the Corsair hardware is, I have to say that Corsair developers are the laziest and I have seen, adding that to their lack of vision I'm quite disappointing of Corsair strategy.

The work made by the guys of ckb-next is amazing, if you use OSX or Linux, you should try it.
Corsair actually did make a Mac OS driver for CUE 2 but due to the lack of anyone using it or giving 2 craps, it was axed with iCUE.
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 09-05-2018, 07:55 AM
rainynight65 rainynight65 is offline
Registered User
rainynight65's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 971573
rainynight65 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inheritance View Post
Corsair actually did make a Mac OS driver for CUE 2 but due to the lack of anyone using it or giving 2 craps, it was axed with iCUE.
That’s blatantly false. The Mac driver was only made available to a very small number of users, I was one of them. Plenty of users expressed interest here on this forum but never got the chance to try it out. Why the project was canned is anyone’s guess, I don’t know if Corsair were expecting thousands of users to be interested or if it was a side project by one of the devs that was never officially sanctioned. I still have it installed on my Mac and am disappointed that the software was discontinued. Hope it continues to work with Mojave and beyond.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 09-07-2018, 09:36 AM
bwoodruff bwoodruff is offline
Registered User
bwoodruff's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 42
POST ID # = 971808
bwoodruff Reputation: 10
Default

Hi everyone,

I'm just learning that the CUE software for Mac was discontinued. Very disappointed to hear this. I too was one of the early beta testers. I found out last night that unfortunately the latest version of it does not work with Mojave. Not only does it not work but it causes major crashes in the loginwindow and coreaudiod processes (I've submitted crash reports to Apple). I would strongly recommend against upgrading to Mojave with CUE installed unless you are comfortable rooting around in single user mode to get the plugin removed. The file/folder that has to be removed before the upgrade is:

/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/HAL/CorsairAudio.plugin

Moving the Corsair Utility Engine app to the trash won't do it, you have to delete that folder.

I guess, unfortunately, it is time for a new keyboard from a company that has more commitment to supporting Mac users. Very disappointed. I bought a K95 RGB Platinum less than a year ago specifically to help Corsair test this. Also separately purchased PBT keycaps.


Edit: Apparently they do include a CUEUninstaller app that will presumably also delete the HAL plugin. /Applications/Corsair/CUEUninstaller.app

Last edited by bwoodruff; 09-07-2018 at 09:38 AM. Reason: Found uninstaller
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 09-07-2018, 11:47 AM
bwoodruff bwoodruff is offline
Registered User
bwoodruff's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 42
POST ID # = 971817
bwoodruff Reputation: 10
Default

ckb-next is working for now. Thanks to everyone who has put efforts into that. It is a great piece of software. 1st party support would of course be preferable, but this is the next best thing.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 09-12-2018, 08:03 PM
rainynight65 rainynight65 is offline
Registered User
rainynight65's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 972499
rainynight65 Reputation: 10
Default

I am glad to see that ckb-next finally has a MacOS installer. It seems to work nicely now, hope the development continues.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 09-14-2018, 11:46 AM
gauss182 gauss182 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Mx
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 972718
gauss182 Reputation: 10
Default

awesome! its working great with my K70 RGB Rapidfire.

My workaround to configure the color was using a VM with Win10 and Corsair's CUE (VirtualBox was the only working VM), no cool efects only static color configuration. Now with this i finally have the full effects on Mac.

Just FYI, using MAC OSX 10.13.6, the dev team mentioned they are working with the next OSX release
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
linux, mac, rgb

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.