The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Hydro X Custom Cooling

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-19-2019, 05:35 PM
Nathan66 Nathan66 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1024483
Nathan66 Reputation: 10
Default Need help with water cooling

When I used the configurator on the website it came back with this layout
Code - Ffdjjk
I was thinking that I would prefer a 360mm rad at the front and maybe also a 240 at the top but now I don't know if it will fit.

I am using a Msi Godlike with an Asus ROG 2080 ti. I have read in some places that the godlike is too big but in others, people have said it's fine. Are any of the components the issue here as they could be changed.

Also getting off-topic a bit here the 680x case was my first option but after some research, I found that my GPU would not fit with a 360mm rad at the front is this true?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-19-2019, 06:13 PM
Nazgul Nazgul is offline
Registered User
Nazgul's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 63
POST ID # = 1024490
Nazgul Reputation: 7
Default

I think you can pull it off............if you have the patience that is. But if you're not going to water cool your GPU, that might be the issue.


Last edited by Nazgul; 11-19-2019 at 06:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-19-2019, 06:15 PM
Nathan66 Nathan66 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1024492
Nathan66 Reputation: 10
Default

Isint this an Msi 2080ti and from what i can find in the specifications it isint as long as the Asus 2080ti
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-20-2019, 06:14 AM
tiborrr tiborrr is offline
Registered User
tiborrr's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 45
POST ID # = 1024555
tiborrr Reputation: 10
Default

Well, 500D is short for what you're trying to achieve.
When using card as long as Strix there are certain compromises that needs to be taken.

You can pull it off with a vertically mounted graphics card and a XR5 360 in the front, but not with card sitting in the motherboard slot. For that, you will need a bigger case, something along the line of 680X or 678C. If you haven't bought the case yet, I would reconsider the choice.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-20-2019, 10:07 AM
Nathan66 Nathan66 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1024570
Nathan66 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tiborrr View Post
Well, 500D is short for what you're trying to achieve.
When using card as long as Strix there are certain compromises that needs to be taken.

You can pull it off with a vertically mounted graphics card and a XR5 360 in the front, but not with card sitting in the motherboard slot. For that, you will need a bigger case, something along the line of 680X or 678C. If you haven't bought the case yet, I would reconsider the choice.
Can the Strix fit in the 680x? As far as i knew it couldnt
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-20-2019, 10:34 AM
Corsair GregX Corsair GregX is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 180
POST ID # = 1024575
Corsair GregX Reputation: 10
Default

2080 Ti Strix will fit in the 680X with a 360 radiator on front.
tfdq3x
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-20-2019, 10:49 AM
Nathan66 Nathan66 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1024576
Nathan66 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair GregX View Post
2080 Ti Strix will fit in the 680X with a 360 radiator on front.
tfdq3x
Thanks. Will 2 120mm or 140 mm fans also fit at the bottom?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-20-2019, 11:36 AM
Corsair GregX Corsair GregX is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 180
POST ID # = 1024580
Corsair GregX Reputation: 10
Default

Yes, two 120mm or 140mm fans will also fit at the bottom.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-20-2019, 12:03 PM
solarity solarity is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 729
POST ID # = 1024582
solarity Reputation: 33
Default

I don't know if this build will be possible, the Godlike is an EATX MB and the 500D SE only accepts ATX or smaller. Maybe any error on the configurator or someone's websites specs are wrong. I have 500D SE, though didn't get an EATX board as it wouldn't fit w/o modding.
__________________
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-20-2019, 02:20 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is online now
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,259
POST ID # = 1024601
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

This guy bolts his ETAX straight in his 500d se with no mods. he mentions this at around 3:15


but have seen people post who have had issues getting them in.....

Last edited by Zotty; 11-20-2019 at 02:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-21-2019, 05:27 AM
Corsair GregX Corsair GregX is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 180
POST ID # = 1024686
Corsair GregX Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solarity View Post
I don't know if this build will be possible, the Godlike is an EATX MB and the 500D SE only accepts ATX or smaller. Maybe any error on the configurator or someone's websites specs are wrong. I have 500D SE, though didn't get an EATX board as it wouldn't fit w/o modding.
500D and 500D SE officially doesn't support the E-ATX but there were plenty of reports from our users which were able to fit without performing modifications to the case. Based on this we enabled it so they were able to use the configurator and design their custom loops.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.