The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-21-2018, 08:52 AM
yianni yianni is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 973643
yianni Reputation: 10
Default Can I control ek rgb blocks with commander pro and link?

As the title says can i control those RGB lights with the commander pro and link? Or is it only intended for corsair products
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-21-2018, 09:21 AM
solarity solarity is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 728
POST ID # = 973647
solarity Reputation: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yianni View Post
As the title says can i control those RGB lights with the commander pro and link? Or is it only intended for corsair products
Just a FYI, iCUE replaced both Link and CUE.

The Commander Pro and LNP are both intended for a normal users to use it only with Corsair products. That doesn't mean advance users can't do some mods. It all depends on what LEDs EK is using. Check out my RGB 101 video for a better understanding:


I can't recall if EK is using addressable RGB, though I have personally blown fuses in the LNP from reversing the polarity in my LNP. As I am into tinkering and getting into electronic engineering, I do want to tie some of my analog devices into iCUE, as it is the best software out there. My first prototypes:


If you haven't invested in EK, have you seen Corsair's HydroX teasers: https://www.corsair.com/us/en/hydro-x-series

Corsair did hire some top technical brass from EK months ago: https://www.techpowerup.com/239706/c...top-management

According to a former Employee at EKWB, that I met on reddit, the two guys they hired are really top notch.
__________________
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-21-2018, 12:40 PM
yianni yianni is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 973665
yianni Reputation: 10
Default

Seems like a huge hassle to get it working haha, from the hydro-x teaser those dont look nice to me, unless they make full nickel blocks. then maybe :)
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-21-2018, 02:43 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,810
POST ID # = 973676
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Those are 12V RGB LEDs. The Corsair system uses all 5V RGB.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 09-24-2018, 12:43 PM
solarity solarity is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 728
POST ID # = 974030
solarity Reputation: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yianni View Post
Seems like a huge hassle to get it working haha, from the hydro-x teaser those dont look nice to me, unless they make full nickel blocks. then maybe :)
We don't know what all they are coming out with, though just as every other Corsair product, it will work with iCUE, as long as their are RGB LEDs in it. :)

I would love to know if the block has a flow meter or just an indicator. It would be very cool to plug that into GPU fan header to read the RPM, then have the flow rate displayed in iCUE.
__________________
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 11-18-2019, 07:07 AM
Hoba.rce Hoba.rce is offline
Registered User
Hoba.rce's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1024297
Hoba.rce Reputation: 10
Default

Hi i can confirm that EKWB D-RGB water block can be controlled with Commander pro.

I just had to hot-wire one end of the RBG extension cord ie. Akasa AK-CBLD01 (unless you want to cut the wires directly on the block cable and loose warranty) to the Corsair LED stripes entension cable that comes with the LED stripes on the other end. You must keep the correct pin layout (+5V, digital, GND).

Works just fine incl. all the cool effects, rainbow waves etc. that your Commander can do with an ordinary LED stripe.

To fit the custom EKWB kit (Velocity D-RGB + Coolsteram SE280 + XRES 100 DDC MX 3.2 PWM) into the tiny Coolermaster HAF XB was quite a challenge though xD. But had no choice since my Corsair H115i died after 3 years of hard work :(
Attached Images
File Type: jpg TNFI1311.JPG (199.1 KB, 45 views)
File Type: jpg FWNU5368.JPG (210.7 KB, 41 views)
File Type: jpg UPZZ2932.JPG (202.2 KB, 36 views)
File Type: jpg XHBB6680.JPG (327.0 KB, 34 views)

Last edited by Hoba.rce; 11-18-2019 at 07:11 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 11-18-2019, 08:22 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,810
POST ID # = 1024303
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

This whole post is over a year old.
There are third party, pre-built adapters out there now to control EK Digital RGB (and other Aura devices) out there now. Or ... you can splice your own adapter.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.