The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-2019, 01:34 PM
residualecho residualecho is offline
Registered User
residualecho's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1023636
residualecho Reputation: 10
Default DOMINATOR PLATINUM (4x16GB) DDR4 3200 on ROG RAMPAGE V ED. 10?

I have an old X99 I built with Corsair case, AX1200i PSU, i7 6850K, Corsair AIO cooler, Samsung M.2 SSD, Asus ROG RAMPAGE V Edition 10, Asus ROG Strix 1080GTX, Corsair Dominator 4X4GB DDR3 RAM.

The RAM I'm looking at, CORSAIR DOMINATOR PLATINUM 64GB (4x16GB) DDR4 3200MHz C16 Desktop Memory - CMD64GX4M4C3200C16 -- is not on the tested list from Asus. The system has been running Autodesk and Adobe graphics and VR since 2016, and we're starting to edit 4K video. System is stable at 3.6.

Is populating the same 4 of 8 slots going from DDR3 to DDR4, from 16 to 64Gb, a challenge apart from the usual mucking about in the bios? Is the RGB version right out because it's designed for X299 and later processors?

Looking to reduce risk for a solid upgrade, thanks for any advice.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 11-11-2019, 01:49 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,592
POST ID # = 1023637
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

You won't find much on the QVL since it will all be 2014-15 era products. They typically don't test past several months after launch. I think most quad channels kits will work, however there are a couple of hurdles -- RGB on X99 and 16GB modules.

This came up a few months back and we had a similar discussion. It seemed to work out OK, but you might also either reach out through a PM or post on the back of that and ask.

https://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthr...&highlight=X99
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 11-11-2019, 02:23 PM
residualecho residualecho is offline
Registered User
residualecho's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1023641
residualecho Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the quick response and link, I've got to improve my search skills. It looks like even the RGB might work, but I've lived without it this long. The goal isn't to run at stock speed of course, but it's the ram amount that's the current bottleneck and speed would be nice.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 11-11-2019, 03:22 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,592
POST ID # = 1023648
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

I think the same advice applies here — buy from someplace you know you can return without massive penalty. Every time I see an 8x8 kit my jaw hits the floor in shock. 4x16 seems both more common and reasonably priced. I think I would like my Dominator RGB even more spread out over a dual bank set up. They are bright and it sometimes feels like too much squeezed into the standard 4x8 right side bank.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-11-2019, 04:31 PM
residualecho residualecho is offline
Registered User
residualecho's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1023654
residualecho Reputation: 10
Default

Seasonally generous return policies abound. I'm likely to go with 4X8Gb RGB, for what may only be marginal performance improvement; if the 32Gb doesn't process 4K much faster, 64Gb won't be any better.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.