The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-11-2019, 05:28 PM
MrBraydogg MrBraydogg is offline
Registered User
MrBraydogg's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1027140
MrBraydogg Reputation: 10
Exclamation Lighting Node PRO Not Detected on Internal USB2.0 Header Extention

PREVIOUSLY READ POSTS (I won't let @DevBiker down):

https://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?p=940351&p=940351

https://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=178995

Prerequisites:
Turn off fast startup in BIOS?: YES
Turn off fast startup in WINDOWS?: YES
DISABLE HXCI in BIOS? YES
Does USBDeView show NoPRO connected with a green dot? YES
NoPro Firmware wipe? YES
Complete iCUE reinstall? YES

Relevant Information:
MOBO: ROG Crosshair Hero VI (ONE usb 2.0 header)
Windows Version: 10 Home, Build 1909
iCUE Software Version: 3.23.66
Corsair Products:
  • H115i PRO
  • Lighting Node PRO
  • x3 LL120 RGB (connected to NoPRO)

As previously stated, my current MOBO only has ONE USB2.0 internal header. Because of this, I need to use a USB2.0 Extender (That is the one I purchased). The H115i PRO IS detected by iCUE when either directly connected to the MOBO or the extender. The NoPRO on the other hand is detected by USBDeView when either directly connected to the MOBO or the extender, but fails to be detected by the iCUE software when connected to the extender. I'm at the point of believing that this is an oversight in iCUE software... Any more information/operations that you all would like me to try, I would gladly give a shot.

Last edited by MrBraydogg; 12-11-2019 at 05:35 PM. Reason: Youtube link made the post messy. Added windows and iCue versions.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-11-2019, 07:30 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,070
POST ID # = 1027163
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Does iCUE detect the LNP when it's connected to the motherboard?
Does iCUE detect the LNP when the cooler is not connected to the USB extender? (It's OK - the cooler will still work w/o the USB connection.)

And ... here's what might be happening ...
Did you know that the LNP's microcontroller is powered by USB? It is. Even without SATA power, if just the USB is plugged in, iCUE will pick up the LNP. But ... that's an unpowered hub. It only uses the power from the header, which is 500mA, between all of the ports on the hub. So each device on the hub gets less power. And the LNP isn't getting enough. The answers to the above questions will service to confirm this hypothesis (or not).
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-11-2019, 09:51 PM
MrBraydogg MrBraydogg is offline
Registered User
MrBraydogg's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1027180
MrBraydogg Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Does iCUE detect the LNP when it's connected to the motherboard?
Yes.
Quote:
Does iCUE detect the LNP when the cooler is not connected to the USB extender? (It's OK - the cooler will still work w/o the USB connection.)
No, iCUE does not detect the LNP when its connected to the extender by itself.
Quote:
Did you know that the LNP's microcontroller is powered by USB? It is. Even without SATA power, if just the USB is plugged in, iCUE will pick up the LNP. But ... that's an unpowered hub. It only uses the power from the header, which is 500mA, between all of the ports on the hub. So each device on the hub gets less power. And the LNP isn't getting enough. The answers to the above questions will service to confirm this hypothesis (or not).
This part is where i was going with my hypothesis as well... until I did some digging into USBDeView and found that the device is displaying an output of 50mA when connected to the extender... suffice to say that may be the problem. Then I plugged the LNP straight to the MOBO header, and USBDeView persisted to display LNP with an output of 50mA...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-11-2019, 09:59 PM
MrBraydogg MrBraydogg is offline
Registered User
MrBraydogg's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1027182
MrBraydogg Reputation: 10
Default

DevB, in most of these senarios, is it common ground to use NZXT's device for my issue?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-11-2019, 10:09 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,070
POST ID # = 1027183
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBraydogg View Post
DevB, in most of these senarios, is it common ground to use NZXT's device for my issue?
Not sure if it's 'common ground' but lots of folks use it. I got it specifically because it's a powered hub.

And I'm not sure how accurate the device power reading is in USBDeView or where it comes from. I do know that it's not necessarily the actual power draw for the device.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-11-2019, 10:35 PM
MrBraydogg MrBraydogg is offline
Registered User
MrBraydogg's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1027187
MrBraydogg Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Not sure if it's 'common ground' but lots of folks use it. I got it specifically because it's a powered hub.

And I'm not sure how accurate the device power reading is in USBDeView or where it comes from. I do know that it's not necessarily the actual power draw for the device.
Just purchased that hub for myself. Considering everything is being detected properly I'm sure power draw is the issue. I will update & hopefully seal this post when its on my rig in two days . Thanks for your input DevB, & all the help you bring.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-12-2019, 02:09 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,070
POST ID # = 1027198
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Looking forward to the update and hope all goes well!!
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-14-2019, 12:27 AM
MrBraydogg MrBraydogg is offline
Registered User
MrBraydogg's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1027423
MrBraydogg Reputation: 10
Default

Yes! Now using the powered NZXT internal usb hub and everything is working how it should be!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-14-2019, 03:20 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,070
POST ID # = 1027441
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBraydogg View Post
Yes! Now using the powered NZXT internal usb hub and everything is working how it should be!
Excellent!! Glad to hear it!
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
icue devs, lighting node usb issue, usb 2.0

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.