The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-06-2018, 09:31 PM
djmorgan's Avatar
djmorgan djmorgan is offline
Registered User
djmorgan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gold Coast Australia
Posts: 89
POST ID # = 957939
djmorgan Reputation: 10
Default H80i V2 power

The H80i using Corsair link provides 2 power options 'performance' and 'Quiet' rpm is something like performance = 2800+/- quiet = 1950 +/-

What I would like to know is how does Corsair Link alter the RPM of the pump is it simply by reducing the power delivered to the pump from 12V to something less? or by something internal in the pump?

Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-06-2018, 10:27 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,252
POST ID # = 957948
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djmorgan View Post
The H80i using Corsair link provides 2 power options 'performance' and 'Quiet' rpm is something like performance = 2800+/- quiet = 1950 +/-

What I would like to know is how does Corsair Link alter the RPM of the pump is it simply by reducing the power delivered to the pump from 12V to something less? or by something internal in the pump?

It's internal to the pump. DO NOT reduce the power from 12V, for any reason, at any time. These pumps absolutely, positively require the full 12V at all times.

FYI: Link does not do anything to control any motherboard fan headers. Altering that voltage would be doing that.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-06-2018, 10:32 PM
djmorgan's Avatar
djmorgan djmorgan is offline
Registered User
djmorgan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gold Coast Australia
Posts: 89
POST ID # = 957950
djmorgan Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
It's internal to the pump. DO NOT reduce the power from 12V, for any reason, at any time. These pumps absolutely, positively require the full 12V at all times.

FYI: Link does not do anything to control any motherboard fan headers. Altering that voltage would be doing that.
Thanks for that....... but how internal? facts not guesses please, unless a brake of some sort it must be power supplied to the motor.

Last edited by djmorgan; 06-07-2018 at 12:41 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 06-06-2018, 10:42 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,252
POST ID # = 957952
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djmorgan View Post
Thanks for that....... but how internal? facts not guesses please, unless a break of some sort it must be power supplied to the motor.
The setting for the speed is sent to the cooler via the USB interface. That's a fact. ALL of the Corsair "i" coolers work this way; there is a microcontroller inside the unit that controls the pump, the fans and (if present) lighting. That's also a fact.

Now ... what the MCU does internally ... don't know. But that's how it works.

And when I'm guessing, I'll clearly state it with some sort of qualifier that indicates that. This isn't a guess. DO NOT alter the power on the cooler. It MUST be kept at 12V at all times. Failure to do so will result in improper operation of the cooler and may significantly reduce the lifespan of the cooler.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 06-07-2018, 12:48 AM
djmorgan's Avatar
djmorgan djmorgan is offline
Registered User
djmorgan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gold Coast Australia
Posts: 89
POST ID # = 957965
djmorgan Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
The setting for the speed is sent to the cooler via the USB interface. That's a fact. ALL of the Corsair "i" coolers work this way; there is a microcontroller inside the unit that controls the pump, the fans and (if present) lighting. That's also a fact.

Now ... what the MCU does internally ... don't know. But that's how it works.

And when I'm guessing, I'll clearly state it with some sort of qualifier that indicates that. This isn't a guess. DO NOT alter the power on the cooler. It MUST be kept at 12V at all times. Failure to do so will result in improper operation of the cooler and may significantly reduce the lifespan of the cooler.
Ever heard the story of Chicken Little?

In a previous thread you indicated that one could setup a profile using Corsair Link and then save it to the pump and disconnect Corsair link and software.

If not using a USB link to the pump it runs as default in performance mode 2800+/- so the speed (RPM) seems to be independent of the Corsair link.

Be nice if a Corsair Tech would respond.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 06-07-2018, 12:55 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,252
POST ID # = 957966
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djmorgan View Post
Ever heard the story of Chicken Little?

In a previous thread you indicated that one could setup a profile using Corsair Link and then save it to the pump and disconnect Corsair link and software.

If not using a USB link to the pump it runs as default in performance mode 2800+/- so the speed (RPM) seems to be independent of the Corsair link.

Be nice if a Corsair Tech would respond.
You can. Doesn't change a thing about what I said. That profile gets written to the MCU via USB and runs there. If you never connect Link, there is a default profile that runs on the MCU.

It is internal to the pump. It does not change anything about the fan header.

Still needs 12V all the time.

See http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=168801.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.