The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD) > SSD Firmware Update

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 23 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #46  
Old 10-06-2010, 10:20 AM
blentre blentre is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 470028
blentre Reputation: 10
Default

Well, the earliest post I could find quickly was 7/22/2010 a full 76 days ago. I bought the drive Sunday and hope they have it out soon. On the 15th day, it goes back to the retail store. I'm not that patient and definately not eating $300.
Reply With Quote


  #47  
Old 10-06-2010, 12:32 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 470041
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blentre View Post
Well, the earliest post I could find quickly was 7/22/2010 a full 76 days ago. I bought the drive Sunday and hope they have it out soon. On the 15th day, it goes back to the retail store. I'm not that patient and definately not eating $300.
Are you actually having issues?
Reply With Quote


  #48  
Old 10-06-2010, 01:03 PM
blentre blentre is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 470054
blentre Reputation: 10
Default

Aye captain. BSOD when idle on fresh Windows 7 64 load yesterday as OS drive. Checked and trim is on. I need to check firmware version this afternoon and turn off the automatic reboot so I can catch the actual error. Do you recommend upgrading to firmware 1.1a if on 1.0??? From what I've read there's a small possiblity it may help. Thanks!!
Reply With Quote


  #49  
Old 10-06-2010, 01:14 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 470057
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blentre View Post
Aye captain. BSOD when idle on fresh Windows 7 64 load yesterday as OS drive. Checked and trim is on. I need to check firmware version this afternoon and turn off the automatic reboot so I can catch the actual error. Do you recommend upgrading to firmware 1.1a if on 1.0??? From what I've read there's a small possiblity it may help. Thanks!!
Yes, I would go ahead and try the new firmware. If it does not resolve the issues, RAM GUY suggests to disable hybrid sleep mode, disable suspend to RAM, and set the system to suspend to disk. Also, if it's still unstable after that, disable TRIM temporarily until the new firmware update (after 1.1) is issued. We expect it very soon but have no solid date at this time.
Reply With Quote


  #50  
Old 10-06-2010, 01:29 PM
blentre blentre is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 470065
blentre Reputation: 10
Default

Will report back later but already have all power saving functions disabled except speedstep and turning off the monitor after 15 minutes. This all happens at full awake and not any kind of resume. Appears to be prolific during idle but even within minutes of idle, no where near a sleep timer if you get my drift. I would love to S3 sleep instead of turning on/off all the time but holding off until issues resolved with SSD.
Reply With Quote


  #51  
Old 10-14-2010, 04:42 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 471515
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Set it to suspend to disk instead and I would disable TRIM as well.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #52  
Old 10-15-2010, 06:52 AM
Shivan Shivan is offline
Registered User
Shivan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 38
POST ID # = 471578
Shivan Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellowbeard View Post
Also, if it's still unstable after that, disable TRIM temporarily until the new firmware update (after 1.1) is issued. We expect it very soon but have no solid date at this time.
So are you still waiting for Sandforce to release its firmware, or are you waiting for the Corsair programmers to adapt it?
Reply With Quote


  #53  
Old 10-15-2010, 09:04 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 471588
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

There are no Corsair programmers. It's all handled by SandForce.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #54  
Old 10-15-2010, 09:20 AM
Shivan Shivan is offline
Registered User
Shivan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 38
POST ID # = 471589
Shivan Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wired View Post
There are no Corsair programmers. It's all handled by SandForce.
Errrm.... You wrote in http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showpost...&postcount=329

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wired View Post
Corsair Firmware version 1.0 = Sandforce Firmware version 3.1.0 reference + custom Corsair tweaks
Corsair Firmware version 1.1 = Sandforce Firmware version 3.2.0 reference + custom Corsair tweaks
Reply With Quote


  #55  
Old 10-15-2010, 10:26 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 471594
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Custom tweaks for Corsair by SandForce may be the better way to describe it.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #56  
Old 10-15-2010, 10:42 AM
Shivan Shivan is offline
Registered User
Shivan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 38
POST ID # = 471595
Shivan Reputation: 10
Default

I see.

(10 characters)
Reply With Quote


  #57  
Old 10-18-2010, 05:53 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 472127
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

For any one using Intel controllers there was a new driver posted that seems to maybe solve some of the BSOD problems as reported by another user.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.