The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-16-2018, 10:15 AM
Tyg420 Tyg420 is offline
Registered User
Tyg420's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 963756
Tyg420 Reputation: 10
Red face How do I get RGB fans on the H150i Pro?

Hello, I'm currently trying to build a pc around the 500D RGB SE Case, I noticed the fans on the radiators are often displayed with RGB fans but they aren't sold that way, so I was wondering, how do you get the RGB fans on there? I'm very new to pc building so I dont really know what im doing, is it a matter of unscrewing the stock fans and putting the RGB ones in? Or is it more complicated than that? I can imagine wiring being an issue aswell. Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 07-16-2018, 10:30 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,230
POST ID # = 963759
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

It's more complicated. The physical fan is the same (other than built in LEDs), but the control and wiring is more complex. The nutshell version is each Corsair RGB fan has two wires -- one for fan power and one for lighting power. Fan power works the same as any other fan. The lighting power must go to a separate RGB Lighting control hub that needs its own SATA power line. Then you must plug the lighting hub into a device to interact with the software (Lighting Node Pro or Commander Pro). There definitely are additional hardware and wiring requirements.

See here for a more in depth look.
http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=173880
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #3  
Old 07-16-2018, 05:48 PM
Tyg420 Tyg420 is offline
Registered User
Tyg420's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 963814
Tyg420 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
It's more complicated. The physical fan is the same (other than built in LEDs), but the control and wiring is more complex. The nutshell version is each Corsair RGB fan has two wires -- one for fan power and one for lighting power. Fan power works the same as any other fan. The lighting power must go to a separate RGB Lighting control hub that needs its own SATA power line. Then you must plug the lighting hub into a device to interact with the software (Lighting Node Pro or Commander Pro). There definitely are additional hardware and wiring requirements.

See here for a more in depth look.
http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=173880
So basically, If i get the 500D RGB SE, that comes with 3 rgb fans + a commander pro, and get 3 additional rgb fans + a RGB Fan Led HUB + a lighting node pro with 4 led strips, I should have 6 rgb fans, and 4 lighting strips working?

6/6 slots fan cables into the commander pro, 6/6 slots RGB fan cables (from both my radiator and normal case fans ) into the Corsair RGB fan LED Hub, This hub goes into the commander pro, 1/2 slots, and for lighting strips, (Lighting Node PRO that comes with 4 LED strips, ) I can piece these 4 together, and then connect it into 1/2 slots on the lighting node pro? then connect the ighting node pro to the commander pro? 1/2 slots

Apolagies for being vague, i'm really trying my best to understand all this. I'd hate to run into issues, thank you!

Last edited by Tyg420; 07-16-2018 at 05:57 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 07-16-2018, 05:56 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,523
POST ID # = 963815
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

You'll want to have one set of fans go to the radiator itself, rather than the CoPro. Other than that, I think you are on the right track.

I think the 500D comes with LL fans. So if you get 3 more LL fans, you won't need an additional NoPro or Fan Hub.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 07-16-2018, 06:02 PM
Tyg420 Tyg420 is offline
Registered User
Tyg420's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 963816
Tyg420 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
You'll want to have one set of fans go to the radiator itself, rather than the CoPro. Other than that, I think you are on the right track.

I think the 500D comes with LL fans. So if you get 3 more LL fans, you won't need an additional NoPro or Fan Hub.
Ah, right. 3 fans controlled by the commander, 3 by the AIO, I would need a NoPro for the strips though, correct? And I woulnd't need an additional Fan hub, because? Does the included 3LL fans include one of these?
Thank you :)
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 07-16-2018, 06:51 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,230
POST ID # = 963823
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Commander Pro vs Lighting Node Pro -> Both will do the job of managing the lights. the difference is the the Commander Pro will give you software based (iCUE/Link) control over all the fans in your system. It is a 6 fan controller in addition to its light control duties, plus 4 temp probes that are very useful for fan control and general monitoring.

The Lighting Node Pro is just a light controller. You should get one in the LL120 3 pack. You should also have one that comes with the 500D Special Edition version. Thus, there should be no reason to buy another LNP.

You don't have to buy the LNP to get the strips. There is a stand-alone pack that comes with extensions. While there are other ways to get the extensions, they are extremely useful and made setting up a mid to large case take less than 60 seconds.

You only need the Commander Pro, if you want desktop control over fan speeds. You will get the lighting control through the LNP and have a spare for any future additions.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.