The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD) > SSD Firmware Update

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 12 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #31  
Old 11-23-2010, 09:20 AM
Drago1303 Drago1303 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 477658
Drago1303 Reputation: 10
Default FW release date?

Hi,

I'm new here but have been reading the forum for quite a while. Now I registered to ask the following question:

The Beta of the X-Series FW has been releases almost a year ago, when can we finally expect a final version?

I have avoided trying to update it for 2 reasons:
1. If the Beta broke my drive I wouldn't have a hard drive to use my PC while waiting for the replacement.
2. AMD only recently released an AHCI driver that supports TRIM, I wanted to wait for that.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote


  #32  
Old 11-23-2010, 10:04 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 477661
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

The TOOL is preliminary, NOT the firmware.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #33  
Old 11-23-2010, 10:22 AM
Drago1303 Drago1303 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 477664
Drago1303 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wired View Post
The TOOL is preliminary, NOT the firmware.
Oh, sorry, my bad. Sooo, when to expect a final tool, then?

Last edited by Drago1303; 11-23-2010 at 10:27 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #34  
Old 11-23-2010, 01:34 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 477680
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drago1303 View Post
Oh, sorry, my bad. Sooo, when to expect a final tool, then?
The version linked is the final tool. There will be on new versions of this.
Reply With Quote


  #35  
Old 11-23-2010, 02:26 PM
Drago1303 Drago1303 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 477687
Drago1303 Reputation: 10
Default

Ah, I see. Thanks. So I guess I'll try updating the FW sometime soon.
Reply With Quote


  #36  
Old 12-29-2010, 09:02 PM
ph2005 ph2005 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 482475
ph2005 Reputation: 10
Default

Merry Xmas Wired, hope you can help here:)

OK here the problem...
Got a X64 ssd drive and I am trying to flash it to ver 2.0

Read the details on the first page (to update firmware to ver2.0)

Downloaded the "UPPER64.EXE" software unzipped it copied it to my USB stick and all I have now is my formatted ssd X64 drive and my USB stick attached to the PC.

Have also set up the PC to load up removable drive (ie USB drive) when it boots but all I keep getting is that the pc cannot read the usb stick and there is a command com error.

How do you put the command com on the USB stick? Should I or does this have to be on the drive I am so confused:(

Where does the boot come from to get this to setup? FOUND IT>>>

Sorry about the emergency but this must be the most anal update system in the history of computers!!!

All this technology at their finger tips and this is it????

Boggles the mind, Unbelievable!

Even nowadays we have to go through so many hoops and rings of fire just to make a USB bootable, what a Joke@!

Sadly disappointed with Corsair that could not make a simple update to flash their hard drives:(

Is it just me, or isn't there an easier way to do this?

Frankly, (IMO) if it wasn't for "Wired" no-one would buy their products as you'd be fighting all night just trying to get thing to work correctly, who needs the grief after shelling out major$$$.

We should shout a great big "Thank-you" to Wired, for all the times he has bailed everyone out with his great help!!!

Lets not make this a thankless job for him, he deserves major respect and admiration, giving you FREE help:)

THANKS WIRED!

Last edited by ph2005; 12-29-2010 at 11:09 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #37  
Old 12-29-2010, 11:37 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 482496
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ph2005 View Post
Sadly disappointed with Corsair that could not make a simple update to flash their hard drives:(

Is it just me, or isn't there an easier way to do this?
How To Make the Ultimate Bootable USB Flash Drive
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #38  
Old 12-30-2010, 12:02 AM
ph2005 ph2005 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 482497
ph2005 Reputation: 10
Question

I finally up and running...

So, after all that...

I tried "UPPER64.EXE" and saw nothing, (ie Hard drive not recognized and then it goes back to C:\>.

what is wrong???

Last edited by ph2005; 01-01-2011 at 03:20 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #39  
Old 01-04-2011, 08:08 AM
Falcon68 Falcon68 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 483095
Falcon68 Reputation: 10
Default

Got the same response in the past. This seems silly, but you should try an other SATA-port of your mainboard. That worked in my case...
Reply With Quote


  #40  
Old 01-13-2011, 09:08 AM
kwisatzhaderach's Avatar
kwisatzhaderach kwisatzhaderach is offline
I like toast
kwisatzhaderach's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 135
POST ID # = 484585
kwisatzhaderach Reputation: 15
Default

The link for Corsair to fix or repair the drive for updating is no longer working. Can you please post a new link?
__________________


Reply With Quote


  #41  
Old 01-13-2011, 09:46 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 484588
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

1. As per the note at the top bad links should be posted in a different thread.
2. The RMA link on the left side bar is working.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #42  
Old 05-13-2011, 12:08 AM
Deke11 Deke11 is offline
Registered User
Deke11's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 502197
Deke11 Reputation: 10
Default Successfully Updated my X32 SSD's

Hi all,

Have read all the threads here and I have to tell you all that you failed to mention the following;

CrystalDiskInfo will not even see your SSD's unless they're setup on IDE not AHCI!

The Flash program will not find drives either unless the drive is in a port that is setup as IDE not SATA.

Others have been saying just move it to a different port if it dosen't recognize the ssd, I left it in the same port and just change my BIOS on my MB so that ports 4&5 were IDE instead of SATA, and then the flash utility work just fine.

Yes If you read this correctly I took a chance on weather to use the lower32 or the UPPER32 program, I choose the lower32, just due to the fact that when connected to my mb it showed it as Corsair instead of CORSAIR, I got lucky, Don't take that chance put your SSD's on a IDE port then use CrystalDiskInfo to verify for UPPER or lower.

Now to install Win 7 fresh onto one of my 32GB drives, so I can have TRIM support.

Deke
Reply With Quote


  #43  
Old 06-16-2011, 05:57 PM
flowlo flowlo is offline
Registered User
flowlo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 508127
flowlo Reputation: 10
Post Getting drive information with Linux

Just to give all newbies out there a hint how to read the firmware information with a Linux based operating system:

Code:
sudo hdparm -I /dev/sd? | grep --extended-regexp --color=auto '(^/dev/sd[a-z]:$|^\sModel Number:\s|^\sFirmware Revision:\s)'
To list Model Number and Firmware Revision of all storage devices.

Code:
sudo hdparm -I </path/to/device-file>
To list details about a specific drive.

Please note that I used sudo to obtain root privileges. If you do not have sudo installed, you have to run those instructions from a root shell.
The upgrade itself using a bootable USB stick remains the same.
Reply With Quote


  #44  
Old 07-21-2011, 03:57 PM
tetard tetard is offline
Registered User
tetard's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 514520
tetard Reputation: 10
Default X256 - firmware 1.1, but OS X Lion says no trim

Hi there,

I've upgraded OS X to Lion release, and now System Information tells me that Trim is not supported. From reading this thread, I was under the impression that Trim was supported in firmware 1.1 (which I think is what is on this drive, again according to System Information).

So, does this drive need 2.0 ? Or is it really the same as 1.1 ? And if so, why am I told that Trim is not supported ?

Thanks in advance !



Capacity: 256,06 GB (256.060.514.304 bytes)
Model: Corsair CMFSSD-256D1
Revision: 1.100000
Serial Number: X5BRP6B398F5A5JSPL1F
Native Command Queuing: Yes
Queue Depth: 32
Removable Media: No
Detachable Drive: No
BSD Name: disk0
Medium Type: Solid State
TRIM Support: No
Partition Map Type: GPT (GUID Partition Table)
S.M.A.R.T. status: Verified
Reply With Quote


  #45  
Old 07-21-2011, 04:01 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 514522
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

As noted in the first post, you need firmware 2.0 to have TRIM support on this SSD.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.