The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 10 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-25-2013, 11:38 PM
m0ngy m0ngy is offline
Registered User
m0ngy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 649273
m0ngy Reputation: 10
Default H80i - one fan just stopped working

Hi,

One of the fans has stopped working on my H80i.

When my PC powers up both H80i fans (and all case fans) will immediately spin-up but then one H80i fan will stop, while the other H80i fan continues as normal.

My mobo also registers a fault with the CPU fans at startup.

I swapped the fans on the power plug from the pump and it worked, so the problem is with the power coming from the pump, not the fan itself.

I've checked the power cable from the pump for any damage and there's none that I can see.

I've installed the latest Corsair Command software but I'm still on 1.0.4 firmware. I'm worried about trying to update a faulty unit, would probably brick it.

I've also tried unplugging everything, nothing worked.

I've currently got the fan working by connecting it directly to my mobo (Asus P6T Deluxe) but now both fans are running at full speed all the time with no throttle control, quite noisy.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Last edited by m0ngy; 04-26-2013 at 12:13 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-26-2013, 04:28 AM
DWreck DWreck is offline
Registered User
DWreck's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 35
POST ID # = 649286
DWreck Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by m0ngy View Post
Hi,

One of the fans has stopped working on my H80i.

When my PC powers up both H80i fans (and all case fans) will immediately spin-up but then one H80i fan will stop, while the other H80i fan continues as normal.

My mobo also registers a fault with the CPU fans at startup.

I swapped the fans on the power plug from the pump and it worked, so the problem is with the power coming from the pump, not the fan itself.

I've checked the power cable from the pump for any damage and there's none that I can see.

I've installed the latest Corsair Command software but I'm still on 1.0.4 firmware. I'm worried about trying to update a faulty unit, would probably brick it.

I've also tried unplugging everything, nothing worked.

I've currently got the fan working by connecting it directly to my mobo (Asus P6T Deluxe) but now both fans are running at full speed all the time with no throttle control, quite noisy.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance for your help.
You should try to reset everything to Default. Maybe there is a conflicting application trying to change the fan speed. If that doesn't work then you might want to look into getting the little splitter changed if its not the main board its self. Mean while you can to one of the following:

1. Just don't run it, you'll be fine with 1 fan. Unless you running you system up all the time.

2. Download a Fan Controller Program (e.g. Fan Xpert II) and lower you fan speed with that so its not as loud.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-26-2013, 07:17 AM
m0ngy m0ngy is offline
Registered User
m0ngy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 649309
m0ngy Reputation: 10
Default

Fan Xpert doesn't work with my mobo, I assume it's too old. I wouldn't be satisfied with that as a permanent fix anyway.

The software and hardware should work, reliably and as advertised.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-26-2013, 07:36 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 649439
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

sounds like you will need to get an exchange as one of the block inputs seems bad.
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 04-26-2013, 08:27 PM
m0ngy m0ngy is offline
Registered User
m0ngy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 649456
m0ngy Reputation: 10
Default

Yeah, the unit IS faulty. So, WTF do I do in the meantime, while I'm waiting for a new CPU cooler? Obviously, I'll have to buy another cooler, so now I'll have two expensive CPU coolers... great, really useful!

Where's the tech support Corsair?? You're supposed to respond to us, that's why we post on this 'Forum of the Damned'.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 04-26-2013, 09:04 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 649461
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

they monitor the forum in their spare time
the cooler will still work and cool things with one fan.you can request a advanced rma so you incur no down time.
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 04-26-2013, 09:09 PM
Bryman's Avatar
Bryman Bryman is offline
Registered User
Bryman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 852
POST ID # = 649467
Bryman Reputation: 19
Default

chill...you dont have to buy another cooler you can just RMA (replace) it
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 04-28-2013, 10:21 PM
m0ngy m0ngy is offline
Registered User
m0ngy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 649762
m0ngy Reputation: 10
Default

I've tried updating the firmware, get the following messages.

"Status: Corsair Command failed to reset."

"Status: H80i/H100i not connected!"

I've tried the USB in a different plug to no avail.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 04-30-2013, 08:39 PM
m0ngy m0ngy is offline
Registered User
m0ngy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 650114
m0ngy Reputation: 10
Default

No response - after 5 days - from anyone in Corsair tech support. What's the use of this forum if they don't even bother to respond? Not impressed with the reliability of Corsair products or their after sales service, and will be making my opinions widely known from this point forward.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 04-30-2013, 08:43 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 650117
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by m0ngy View Post
No response - after 5 days - from anyone in Corsair tech support. What's the use of this forum if they don't even bother to respond? Not impressed with the reliability of Corsair products or their after sales service, and will be making my opinions widely known from this point forward.
have you tried calling them?
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 05-02-2013, 07:17 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 650595
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Post your ticket # and I will take a look.. sounds like we need to set you up for an Express RMA to avoid downtime.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 06-03-2014, 07:56 PM
chozoecho chozoecho is offline
Registered User
chozoecho's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 713715
chozoecho Reputation: 10
Default

yea i have the same problem as mongy hopefully they will do express rma because this is my work /gaming computer and i just bought the product a couple of months ago other wise id just take it back to the canada computers i bought it at
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
fan, fans, power

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.