The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 7 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-07-2013, 08:03 AM
Devansh Devansh is offline
Registered User
Devansh's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Russia, Moscow
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 645394
Devansh Reputation: 10
Sad AX1200i Loud Clicking Noise

Hey, I have my AX1200i For about 6 months now and it seemed to work like a charm. No noise no nothing. But today morning it started to make this clicking sound along with that my chipset fan died. I have my PC on almost 24/7 and the fan usually doesn't turn on, on the ax1200i. I have taken out the PSU and tried a self-test, to find that everything is ok (lights up green) but the clicking noise is still there only a bit quieter (Noise gets loud under load). I have checked for any power saving functions and they are all off.

Some Youtube video clips demonstrating the noise.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dt0KfDKZuBU
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8QaMtCo1CTQ

I wouldn't mind it if it was quiet, but I can hear it over my H100i running at maximum fan speed. Its driving me crazy!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-07-2013, 09:18 AM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 645406
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

Quote:
wouldn't mind it if it was quiet, but I can hear it over my H100i running at maximum fan speed. Its driving me crazy!
Then it would be best to have it replaced. Please use the link on the left to request an RMA.
__________________
NO, I do not work for Corsair! But I am an official forum helper.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-08-2013, 12:05 AM
Devansh Devansh is offline
Registered User
Devansh's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Russia, Moscow
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 645497
Devansh Reputation: 10
Default

I was wondering if I get an RMA will I loose my 7 year warranty to a 90 day one?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-08-2013, 05:28 AM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 645523
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

No, your warranty would still be valid from the original purchase date of the PSU. So if you purchased it 6 months ago, you would still have 6 1/2 years left .
__________________
NO, I do not work for Corsair! But I am an official forum helper.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 04-08-2013, 05:43 AM
Devansh Devansh is offline
Registered User
Devansh's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Russia, Moscow
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 645528
Devansh Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the reply, one more question. Is there simply nothing I can do to fix this PSU. Set it out let it cool etc, because the shipping charges to corsair are quite high, their charging $70 to deliver it.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 04-08-2013, 06:40 AM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 645541
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

No, there really isn't anything you can do to fix it on your own. Opening the case would void the warranty.

Although you might contact CS to see if there is anything they can do to help with the shipping charges. ot sure if they can or not, but it wont hurt to ask.

Where are you shipping from and to?
__________________
NO, I do not work for Corsair! But I am an official forum helper.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 04-08-2013, 06:59 AM
Devansh Devansh is offline
Registered User
Devansh's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Russia, Moscow
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 645546
Devansh Reputation: 10
Default

I'm shipping from Moscow to the Netherlands which would be the closest corsair support centre. Il give it a go and ask them, the price is so high mainly due to the weight.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 04-09-2013, 07:34 AM
Devansh Devansh is offline
Registered User
Devansh's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Russia, Moscow
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 645788
Devansh Reputation: 10
Default

Ok, got it fixed! The problem wasn't the power supply or my PC. It was In The power from the outlet itself. I had a bad laptop charger connected to the wall in the same circuit as the ax1200i. The charger was making a noise but was in another room. The ax1200i picked up the noise and started making the same noise as the charger. Glad I won't have to spend $70 for an RMA. Thumbs up to corsair! Not just for my chipset fan. asrock have disgraceful support. Thanks for your help anyways!
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
ax1200i, clicking, noise

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.