The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD) > SSD Firmware Update

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 38 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-22-2011, 09:55 AM
gingerbeardman gingerbeardman is offline
Registered User
gingerbeardman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 549706
gingerbeardman Reputation: 10
Default Flashing firmware with linux hdparm command

Has anybody tried updating the firmware using the Linux hdparm --fwdownload directive?

http://linuxreviews.org/man/hdparm/

It seems it would work, but I'd like to have confirmation from Corsair that the firmware .vic file is the correct format to be used with hdparm?

Information about its use to update the firmware other drives:
http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?p=1038167711 (success on another drive)
http://comments.gmane.org/gmane.linu...oweredge/38418 (no AHCI)
http://miazmatic.com/wiki/index.php/SFI_SSD_Notes (uses .vic file)

This would help for people using non-Windows operating systems such as Linux and Mac OS X, and also Windows users who cannot enable AHCI.

Any thoughts appreciated.

matt

Last edited by gingerbeardman; 12-22-2011 at 10:23 AM. Reason: edited references
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-05-2012, 05:08 PM
MaleEgo MaleEgo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 552400
MaleEgo Reputation: 10
Default

Bump!

I would be keen to find out if this is a viable option.

Only owning a Mac, it is somewhat frustrating not having an OSX upgrade path.

I also wondered if it would be possible to use the Ultimate Boot Disc to upgrade the firmware on a Mac?

Thank you in advance for your reply.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-05-2012, 06:14 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 552413
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

At this time, this is completely untested by Corsair and I can offer NO information on this procedure. PROCEED WITH CAUTION.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-05-2012, 06:21 PM
MaleEgo MaleEgo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 552414
MaleEgo Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the reply.

I cannot afford to be a ginny pig with my drive so will wait for a time when I can get it out and take to a friends to use his windows machine.

Are you aware if Corsair are in the process of or are planning to support OSX in the upgrade path? Reeding your forum, it does seem you have a fair Mac users a little upset that there is currently no option for us to upgrade in our native environment.

Again, thank you in advance.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 01-05-2012, 06:53 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 552424
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

I don't know what our plans are with regard to non Windows users. If we change our offerings, I'll be posting them in the SSD update section but I am not aware of any plans at this time.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 01-16-2012, 08:23 PM
gingerbeardman gingerbeardman is offline
Registered User
gingerbeardman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 555250
gingerbeardman Reputation: 10
Default

Can Corsair confirm that the firmware .vic file is the correct format to be used with hdparm?

Or can Corsair please give format details for the .vic file and I will investigate further.

Please?

Thank you.
matt
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 01-22-2012, 11:03 PM
Synbios's Avatar
Synbios Synbios is offline
Registered User
Synbios's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 1,158
POST ID # = 556567
Synbios Reputation: 10
Send a message via AIM to Synbios
Default

I have a linux machine at work and an extra F40 I got from Yellowbeard. I will test this out next week and post the results.
__________________
Force drive not recognized in firmware update utility? Click here
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 01-23-2012, 02:03 AM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 556587
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbeardman View Post
Can Corsair confirm that the firmware .vic file is the correct format to be used with hdparm?
We have no way of verifying this. Our firmware packages and the update tools both come from SandForce in their complete form. If you need more detailed information, you'd probably need to get it from SandForce or perhaps the developers of HDPARM.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 01-23-2012, 07:08 AM
gingerbeardman gingerbeardman is offline
Registered User
gingerbeardman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 556643
gingerbeardman Reputation: 10
Default

Could you (Corsair) please ask SandForce on our behalf?

Thank you.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 01-23-2012, 03:57 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 556829
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbeardman View Post
Could you (Corsair) please ask SandForce on our behalf?

Thank you.
No, I am sorry but at this time, this information is not available. IF any changes, I will post it here.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 01-23-2012, 04:13 PM
gingerbeardman gingerbeardman is offline
Registered User
gingerbeardman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 556838
gingerbeardman Reputation: 10
Default

Is that no you won't ask them or no they won't tell you?
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 01-23-2012, 04:24 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 556846
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellowbeard View Post
No, I am sorry but at this time, this information is not available.
IF anything changes, I will post it here.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 01-23-2012, 05:30 PM
gingerbeardman gingerbeardman is offline
Registered User
gingerbeardman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 556876
gingerbeardman Reputation: 10
Default

I've sent an email to the hdparm developer and will also keep this thread updated with any new information I receive.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 01-23-2012, 06:06 PM
gingerbeardman gingerbeardman is offline
Registered User
gingerbeardman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 556882
gingerbeardman Reputation: 10
Default

Well, that was quick...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Lord, Developer of hdparm
Well, most hard drives and a lot of SSDs do use the SATA standard
commands for FIRMWARE DOWNLOAD, which is all that hdparm does.

But in some cases the "firmware file" may actually contain two
images, one for the "firmware bootloader", and another for the
"main image" on the drive. hdparm knows nothing about those,
and really only the drive makers know for sure.

Here, I buy *only* drives from ***, because (1) they have a very cool
and simple Linux firmware update tool, and (2) they have frequent firmware
releases to fix bugs sooner than most other brands.
My question remains. Corsair need to work with SandForce on this.

If other SandForce based brands are doing non-Windows firmware updaters then why aren't Corsair?

Last edited by gingerbeardman; 01-23-2012 at 06:15 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 02-06-2012, 08:02 PM
Synbios's Avatar
Synbios Synbios is offline
Registered User
Synbios's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 1,158
POST ID # = 560116
Synbios Reputation: 10
Send a message via AIM to Synbios
Default

I was going to try this method on a test drive but after looking at the .pkg file in a hex editor, I'm not totally convinced that it is the correct file. I don't think it's worth even my test drive for this.

I haven't figured out a way to decompile the .pkg file into it's components and then get the right file from there. I think it would be too complicated and too much could go wrong.

It would be much easier if SandForce provided the correct file for this method. For now, I highly suggest using a live windows environment for updating. I have performed the update on UBCD4Win and it works perfectly fine.
__________________
Force drive not recognized in firmware update utility? Click here
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
firmware, linux, ssd, update

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.