The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD) > SSD Firmware Update

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 32 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-02-2011, 06:38 PM
icsterm icsterm is offline
Registered User
icsterm's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Romania
Posts: 49
POST ID # = 538895
icsterm Reputation: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to icsterm
Default Force SATA 2 FW update error (2.0 -> 2.4)

I have the last year F60 drive, it came with 1.1 firmware and I upgraded it to 2.0 some 10 months ago using the alternate method in step 5 of the PDF instructions manual.

How I'm trying to update my drive to 2.4 but error occurs, I have Intel RST v9 and last update for 2.0 worked, since I use the same operating system (win7).

There is no alternate package in this firmware. How can I fix the error attached?

It says : "Firmware for this drive not found in package".

It should work since i'm using Force drive (Sandforce SF-1200). It's not an 25nm drive.

Is the 2.4 update only for newer SATA 2 Force drives (25nm only) ?

This is not fair at all, please provide alternate fw for 40nm too.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ssd update error.jpg (124.9 KB, 1165 views)

Last edited by icsterm; 11-02-2011 at 07:07 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 11-02-2011, 08:53 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 538924
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

It has nothing to do with "fair". We're aware of the issue and working with SandForce to correct it.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 11-02-2011, 09:04 PM
icsterm icsterm is offline
Registered User
icsterm's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Romania
Posts: 49
POST ID # = 538926
icsterm Reputation: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to icsterm
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellowbeard View Post
It has nothing to do with "fair". We're aware of the issue and working with SandForce to correct it.
Thanks for clearing the situation.

I'm waiting for the updated 2.4 version.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 11-03-2011, 03:04 PM
Rican7 Rican7 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 539091
Rican7 Reputation: 10
Angry Seriously?!

So I got a Corsair Force F120 GB drive for my quad-core desktop last xmas, and I loved it.
I loved it so much that I bought one for my laptop. Big mistake. I never put my desktop to sleep... however, that is VERY common practice for me to do with my laptop. Well, this wonderful new SSD made that impossible.

Anyway, long story short. I've been checking this damn forum every few days (at least once a week) since January, and you guys FINALLY come out with a firmware update.... and it doesn't work.
Awesome.

FML.
Let me know when my product that I bought almost a year ago actually works.

Kthxbye
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-03-2011, 03:13 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 539093
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rican7 View Post
So I got a Corsair Force F120 GB drive for my quad-core desktop last xmas, and I loved it.
I loved it so much that I bought one for my laptop. Big mistake. I never put my desktop to sleep... however, that is VERY common practice for me to do with my laptop. Well, this wonderful new SSD made that impossible.

Anyway, long story short. I've been checking this damn forum every few days (at least once a week) since January, and you guys FINALLY come out with a firmware update.... and it doesn't work.
Awesome.

FML.
Let me know when my product that I bought almost a year ago actually works.

Kthxbye
Have you actually tried the firmware update yet?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 11-03-2011, 05:06 PM
aquila81 aquila81 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 539113
aquila81 Reputation: 10
Default

I just updated my SSD (an F115), but i still have the same problems.

* BSOD after suspend
* Disk not detected on cold boot

So, is it just me or does this firmware not do the trick?

BTW, the disk is installed in a HP EliteBook 8540w with Win7 x64.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 11-03-2011, 08:18 PM
grweidla grweidla is offline
Registered User
grweidla's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 539149
grweidla Reputation: 10
Default Firmware for this drive not found in package

I've also got a couple of F240s that were updated from 1.1 to 2.0 and required the alternate firmware package for the 2.0 update.

Tried the 2.4 update this morning on both and also received the "Firmware for this drive not found in package".

The update tool did not detect the drive in Thinkpad T510's I originally bought the drives for. Tried to run the update in 3 different desktop machines all configured to AHCI, tried as primary and secondary drive. The 3 desktop machines all detected the drive in the update tool but gave the error message above.

These expensive drives have been sitting in a drawer waiting for this update for over a year. Disappointed...

Regards,

Gerard...
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 11-04-2011, 12:09 PM
deity deity is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 539285
deity Reputation: 10
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by icsterm View Post
It says : "Firmware for this drive not found in package".
I get the same error...can't update to 2.4
Update from 1.1 to 2.0 worked only with alternate package.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 11-05-2011, 07:51 AM
Mummy Mummy is offline
Registered User
Mummy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 220
POST ID # = 539479
Mummy Reputation: 10
Default

all 3 of main whent starigth(from v. 2.0) to 2.4 via Maximus3 Gene (secendery controller), no problem.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 11-05-2011, 05:42 PM
GaMer_71 GaMer_71 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 539626
GaMer_71 Reputation: 10
Default

My drive (CSSD-F40GB2) also does not update... error: Firmware for this drive not found in package. Please fix It !!!!!!!
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 11-05-2011, 07:55 PM
husmoaschta husmoaschta is offline
Registered User
husmoaschta's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 539645
husmoaschta Reputation: 10
Default

2 F40GB2 bought on the same day. the first updated, the second not. One year "developement" and "testing" and then this! Be ashamed, Corsair. That really is poor. For heavens sake the raid is still working with mixed 2.0/2.4.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 11-06-2011, 01:55 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 539685
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Try putting the files in the Desktop or C: drive.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 11-06-2011, 05:25 AM
GaMer_71 GaMer_71 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 539710
GaMer_71 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
Try putting the files in the Desktop or C: drive.
Tried, still error: "Firmware for this drive not found in package"

Too much please, Yellowbeard fix it......

Last edited by GaMer_71; 11-06-2011 at 05:44 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 11-06-2011, 02:43 PM
GaMer_71 GaMer_71 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 539807
GaMer_71 Reputation: 10
Default answer

The forum is full of dissatisfied users who are unable to install firmware 2.4
It responds to any of the persons responsible?
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 11-07-2011, 08:18 AM
paesan paesan is offline
Registered User
paesan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 33
POST ID # = 539927
paesan Reputation: 10
Default

I have had so many issues with these drives with freezing and playing the disappearing act that I was shocked that the firmware update went smoothly. Time will tell on whether these issues have been fixed.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.