The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 62 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #91  
Old 09-19-2013, 06:31 PM
Ex0ticViru5 Ex0ticViru5 is offline
Registered User
Ex0ticViru5's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 32
POST ID # = 675211
Ex0ticViru5 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AceGoober View Post
For what it is worth, I am currently running a Corsair AX1200i and haven't experienced the buzzing noise at idle or under load as reported here.

The power supply is connected to a 1500VA UPS which is then connected to a 1500 VA line conditioner then to the wall. The power here isn't exactly the cleanest in the world (frequent brown-outs, spikes, etc) so it was a no brainer to me to protect my computer equipment component investments over the years.

Since implementing the equipment several years ago, and replacing every 5 years, I have only experienced two power supply related issues. First issue was due to a faulty mod performed by a third party retailer and the second was due to component failure within the six year old PSU itself.

I'm in no way implying that the issues with buzzing are caused from power from the wall yet from my past experiences I'd recommend having the incoming power checked first prior to directing fault at the power supply.
My house electrical current is fine, the buzzing noise only started when I replaced my old Corsair HX850 to an AX1200i.

I've then replaced it like 4 times for the same model and the issue persisted.

I have now an AX1200 (not the i version), it doesn't buzz and it is quiet just as my previous HX850.

So I think it's safe to say that there's definitely something wrong with these AXi power supplies.
Reply With Quote


  #92  
Old 09-19-2013, 06:47 PM
Ex0ticViru5 Ex0ticViru5 is offline
Registered User
Ex0ticViru5's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 32
POST ID # = 675212
Ex0ticViru5 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyguru View Post
Yeah... that's actually a common problem with A LOT of PSUs out there when they first retrofitted their +5VSB circuit to meet the ErP2013 stand by efficiency standard last year. You're correct in assuming the noise is coming from a transformer. Most likely, the +5VSB transformer. But I wouldn't suggest a self fix necessarily. Just PM me your PSU's serial #, etc. and I'll see what I can do given your extraordinary circumstances.
Corsair should tell their PSU's manufacturer to fix this issue ASAP.

There's alot of affected units out there with alot of angry customers experiencing the same irritating issue, including myself.

1. HX850 = Quiet
2. AX1200i = Buzz
3. AX1200i = Buzz
4. AX1200i = Buzz
5. AX1200i = Buzz
6. AX1200 = Quiet

Reply With Quote


  #93  
Old 09-20-2013, 10:13 AM
snfo snfo is offline
Registered User
snfo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 165
POST ID # = 675266
snfo Reputation: 31
Default

My 1200i sometimes buzzes sometimes doesn't.
Reply With Quote


  #94  
Old 10-08-2013, 02:39 PM
aTs's Avatar
aTs aTs is offline
Registered User
aTs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 59
POST ID # = 677699
aTs Reputation: 10
Default

any updates on the matter? RAMGUY, johnny?
Reply With Quote


  #95  
Old 10-08-2013, 04:19 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,882
POST ID # = 677718
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

aTs: Henry should have gotten a hold of you about a replacement.

Anyone else: The problem is really "random". It depends on the PSU, the load, the components used, etc.

I'm not trying to skirt responsibility but IF you have a buzz, you need to tell support what's going on and they should be able to help you.
Reply With Quote


  #96  
Old 10-08-2013, 04:44 PM
aTs's Avatar
aTs aTs is offline
Registered User
aTs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 59
POST ID # = 677722
aTs Reputation: 10
Default

Not yet! Can you give him a gentle bump? :)
Reply With Quote


  #97  
Old 10-08-2013, 07:35 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 677741
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Hello ATS,

We have sent you another email regarding your RMA. Please respond at your earliest convenience.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.

Last edited by RAM GUY; 10-08-2013 at 07:46 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #98  
Old 10-09-2013, 10:33 AM
aTs's Avatar
aTs aTs is offline
Registered User
aTs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 59
POST ID # = 677797
aTs Reputation: 10
Default

Hey,

I have not received such an e-mail, are you sure you are using the correct e-mail address? The RMA number (that was lastly assigned to me) is the following: #5712749

Let me know if you require anything else... and above else thanks for helping me resolve this ongoing issue.

EDIT: Mail received.

Last edited by aTs; 10-09-2013 at 01:16 PM. Reason: mail received.
Reply With Quote


  #99  
Old 10-30-2013, 03:19 PM
aTs's Avatar
aTs aTs is offline
Registered User
aTs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 59
POST ID # = 680670
aTs Reputation: 10
Default

Just wanted to chip in and say that although Corsair have been helpful I am left WITHOUT a PSU for almost a month. They said AFTER they received it that they were out of stock and that they would get more stock in 7/11. I think they should have told me beforehand that they did not have a replacement available and do the swap after they received some units... at least I hope that the new one will not be problematic. I'll update this thread when I receive my unit... half a month from now. :/
Reply With Quote


  #100  
Old 10-30-2013, 05:43 PM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 680684
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

aTs, did you try logging into your ticket and ask for an update any time recently?
__________________
NO, I do not work for Corsair! But I am an official forum helper.
Reply With Quote


  #101  
Old 10-30-2013, 05:52 PM
aTs's Avatar
aTs aTs is offline
Registered User
aTs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 59
POST ID # = 680689
aTs Reputation: 10
Default

Hi,

That was said in a private mail exchange with a Corsair Support Staff member. Henry H. Unfortunately there is nothing I can do and only wait; but again it's my fourth power supply (including the original I bought) so far. Hopefully this will be different and will solve the Buzzing issue altogether. Fact is though that I am without my workstation for almost 20 days now and will be for at least 10 days. That hinders my work as it's my main workstation we are talking about here; that causes me great discomfort as I had this issue from day 1. Heck, that's what I get for being an 'early' adopter.
Reply With Quote


  #102  
Old 11-07-2013, 02:56 AM
aTs's Avatar
aTs aTs is offline
Registered User
aTs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 59
POST ID # = 681695
aTs Reputation: 10
Default

Another update. Corsair has still AX1200i out of stock and will be until at least 3/12 (for any potential AX1200i RMAer's avoid until then); which is quite a long time to be without a power supply. Thankfully Corsair has said that it would ship me an AX1200 until they receive the new units.

Thanks a ton for that!
Reply With Quote


  #103  
Old 11-07-2013, 11:20 AM
aTs's Avatar
aTs aTs is offline
Registered User
aTs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 59
POST ID # = 681746
aTs Reputation: 10
Default

and... again another update. I received the Unit this morning and I installed it immediately. Man it's nice to have a quiet rig again. Now my power supply is dead silent. Same setup, same power delivery same components NO BUZZ, AT ALL. Hopefully when I receive the new AX1200i things will be different.
Reply With Quote


  #104  
Old 11-07-2013, 12:18 PM
V-Man V-Man is offline
Registered User
V-Man's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 28
POST ID # = 681754
V-Man Reputation: 10
Default

Nice to see things going well for you after all this time.

I don't want to jinx you or anything, but my replacement developed the whine issue only after I stressed the system & then it was constant (under stress or @ idle).

Hopefully you don't have a similar experience.
Reply With Quote


  #105  
Old 11-07-2013, 12:21 PM
aTs's Avatar
aTs aTs is offline
Registered User
aTs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 59
POST ID # = 681756
aTs Reputation: 10
Default

Well,

I stressed it a bit, not too much; but even at idle is dead silent... compared to the previous AX1200i that I had... it's quieter in the order of magnitudes... hopefully that won't change with this as well as with my upcoming (and awesomely late) replacement AX1200i.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
ax100i, buzz, buzzing, noise

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.