The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 11 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-19-2011, 04:12 PM
ValueDriven ValueDriven is offline
Registered User
ValueDriven's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 535926
ValueDriven Reputation: 10
Default Carbide 500R Top radiator

For someone who has or seen this case.

I've see a review which places the H100 thin (25mm) 240mm (long) rad on top of the top "plate" mounts where it fits under the mesh dust filter which actually forms the top surface of the case.

Is there room in this case for the H100 with (push) fans attached, both inside the case? If that is the situation, then the second set (pull) fans could fit on the top under the mesh, for a true push-pull fan set up.

If the above would fit, would a more standard rad like the RASA 759 RS240 rad fit there?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-25-2011, 10:24 AM
Bubblehead_629 Bubblehead_629 is offline
Registered User
Bubblehead_629's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 537159
Bubblehead_629 Reputation: 10
Default 500r/h100

I have the 500R/H100 combo and it seems to be working great inspite of some issues.

1) I could not mount the H100 radiator wfans(push) in the chassis due to MB interferance w supplied fans. My solution was to mount the fans in a pull configuration outside the chassis under the black mesh with the radiator in the chassis. The supplied hardware was OK for mounting. I do not know if this is a recommended solution.

2) I must have missed or not received documentation regarding the functions of the 500R front panel switches.

3) I must have missed or not received documentation regarding the method of selecting the fan profiles.

I would appreciate the docs if they exist.(They must as I really like Corsair!!)

Case looks cool!!
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-29-2011, 04:46 AM
system.failure system.failure is offline
Registered User
system.failure's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 538051
system.failure Reputation: 10
Default

I mounted my H100 inside my 500R just fine, complete with the ability to close the lid.

--------------- -> Lid
[==========] -> Rad
--------------- -> Case
{====}{====} -> Fans
|| || || ||
|| || || || -> Long screws

Put the long screws up thru the fans (which are inside the case), and into the rad, which is outside the case yet (of course) still inside the boundries of the "lid". Close the lid, and win hard at internal-H100-push-config-goodness.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-29-2011, 06:05 AM
system.failure system.failure is offline
Registered User
system.failure's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 538056
system.failure Reputation: 10
Default

Forgot to mention pulling fans...

Not likely. Logistically, yes, you can have p/p, however you would have to forgo the lid and keep the top fans exposed. Not without some incredibly thin fans. I haven't measured but it doesn't look good.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-30-2011, 03:42 AM
erocker erocker is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 538172
erocker Reputation: 10
Default

Would the top bay allow for.. say a 30mm thick radiator? What are the dimensions of the radiator bay?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 11-02-2011, 10:05 AM
petaylor petaylor is offline
Registered User
petaylor's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 538786
petaylor Reputation: 10
Send a message via ICQ to petaylor
Default

I tried mounting my H100 on top with fans in the case pushing air through the H100. It sounded OK until you put the mesh cover on top. So, I reversed it. I put the H100 in the case with the fans on top pulling air through the H100 and out the top. Much quieter! My preference.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 11-04-2011, 04:08 PM
erocker erocker is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 539331
erocker Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by erocker View Post
Would the top bay allow for.. say a 30mm thick radiator? What are the dimensions of the radiator bay?
Got my case, and there's at most 29mm of clearence. The only radiator I can find that will fit in there (besides the H50,60,100) is the Black Ice Pro II. 25mm thick and it performs quite nicely. I would of gone for the H100 but since I already have a loop, I went with the radiator. Anyways, I love this case, great product!
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 11-08-2011, 06:13 PM
dantesuper dantesuper is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 540281
dantesuper Reputation: 10
Default

Is it possible to mount the h100 with 4 fans (push/pull) in that case ? I thought about mounting it like that:

--------------- -> Lid
{====}{====} -> Fans
--------------- -> Case
[==========] -> Rad
{====}{====} -> Fans

What do you think ?
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 11-11-2011, 05:57 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 540959
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Doing a push/pull with our H100 on a 500R might be a little tight. This will really depend on the motherboard's layout, especially by the DIMM slot area.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 11-12-2011, 02:29 AM
dantesuper dantesuper is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 541070
dantesuper Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
Doing a push/pull with our H100 on a 500R might be a little tight. This will really depend on the motherboard's layout, especially by the DIMM slot area.
Great ! Thanks for the anwser.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.