The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD) > SSD Firmware Update

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 12 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2010, 04:02 AM
hua5150 hua5150 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 443587
hua5150 Reputation: 10
Default P128 is VERY SLOW

I Bought the drive and installed Windows 7 64bit. It was freezing all the time and I got tired of it and did not want to spend the time to fix it so I canned it and loaded XP 32 bit. On windows 7 with CrystalDiskMark I got 220 MB read and about 190 write. So yesterday I formatted the drive and loaded XP and the drivers for my PC and all works great. No errors and no issues. But I noticed it was slow so I ran CrystalDiskMark 2.2 and 3.0 beta and HD tune and all are the same. 89.87 MB read and 64 Write (are you kidding). My regular HD is faster then that. What the hell happened??? it is running at less them HALF the speed. I just bought it like 30 days ago. I changed nothing in the bios. The only difference is now I have XP.

Computer

Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Professional
OS Service Pack Service Pack 3
CPU Type QuadCore Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550, 2833 MHz (8.5 x 333)
Motherboard Name EVGA NF68 (2 PCI, 2 PCI-E x1, 3 PCI-E x16, 4 DDR2
Motherboard Chipset nVIDIA nForce 680i SLI
System Memory 2048 MB (DDR2-667 DDR2 SDRAM)
Display
Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT (512 MB)
Monitor Dell E228WFP (Digital) [22" LCD] (KU31171L4V4M)

Multimedia
Audio Adapter C-Media CMI8738/C3DX Audio Device

Storage
IDE Controller NVIDIA nForce Serial ATA Controller
IDE Controller NVIDIA nForce Serial ATA Controller
IDE Controller NVIDIA nForce Serial ATA Controller
IDE Controller Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller
Disk Drive CORSAIR CMFSSD-128GG SCSI Disk Device (119 GB)
Disk Drive WDC WD10 01FALS-00J7B SCSI Disk Device (931 GB)
Optical Drive HL-DT-ST BDDVDRW UH08LS10 SCSI CdRom Device
SMART Hard Disks Status OK

Partitions
C: (NTFS) 119.2 GB (108.8 GB free)
D: (NTFS) 931.5 GB (655.7 GB free)
Total Size 1050.7 GB (764.5 GB free)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-14-2010, 03:57 PM
jasondhsd jasondhsd is offline
Registered User
jasondhsd's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 443652
jasondhsd Reputation: 10
Default

If you didn't tweak windows xp for SSD your drive will degrade very quickly also windows xp doesn't support TRIM so unless your regularly running garbage collection it will degrade. I would try windows 7 again. If its crashing all the time put in the windows 7 disc, click repair and run a memory test.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-15-2010, 12:57 AM
hua5150 hua5150 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 443702
hua5150 Reputation: 10
Default

Did the windows 7 repair and mem test. The ram is good. The thing is on 7 I found that if I unplug my mouse and put it back that will unfreeze it sometimes. But like I said I killed 7 and am now on XP. My Mother Board doen't have AHCI mode either.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-15-2010, 04:51 AM
Seanie's Show Seanie's Show is offline
Banned
Seanie's Show's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 443713
Seanie's Show Reputation: 10
Default

run a dos based secure erase utility first, then try Windows 7 again, I had a major slow down like you too, they seem to degrade very quickly, the reason behind this is because if you are installing things, or downloading things to your SSD, your SSD will use empty blocks before it uses blocks marked as free space, ie deleted data, sooner or later they get all clogged up with deleted data hence the slow down, thats what TRIM and garbage collection is going to be for when they get it right.

I have a 2nd Generic hard drive attached to my computer which I download everything to etc to stop my SSD's getting clogged up, the only thing installed on my SSD's is Windows 7, programme files and the latest game im playing for faster loading, other than that everything else runs off my generic.

you can get a very very fast secure erase utility, freeware and very easy to use, just make sure you set your drive as IDE in the bios : http://www.iishacks.com/index.php/20...ate-drive-ssd/

Last edited by Seanie's Show; 03-15-2010 at 04:54 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-15-2010, 09:48 PM
hua5150 hua5150 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 443891
hua5150 Reputation: 10
Default

Why 7 again, yes I did spend money on it, but XP is faster and I am a gamer, I don't care about features. Won't trim work on XP or something like trim? what can I use on it to speed it up. I don't know much about this stuff.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-15-2010, 11:52 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 443904
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

XP doesn't support TRIM, too old. Only thing you can do on XP to restore performance is to clear out the drive.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-16-2010, 01:28 PM
hua5150 hua5150 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 443977
hua5150 Reputation: 10
Default

Clear out the drive/, meaning to back it up then reformat it, then ghost it back?
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 03-16-2010, 01:37 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 443979
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Well yes but I would suggest using Acronis Disk Image Ghost may not work well with SSD Drives. And use Parted Magic to erase the SSD Drive.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 05-17-2010, 07:58 PM
JoeSchmuck's Avatar
JoeSchmuck JoeSchmuck is offline
Registered User
JoeSchmuck's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 112
POST ID # = 451367
JoeSchmuck Reputation: 10
Default

I thought the current SSD firmware had a function built in that would perform automatic GC during idle time, or was that shortly after power was applied and no disk access operations are going on? I know I read something like that many months ago and it was not TRIM, just a function of the firmware. I don't know if anyone could elaborate on that.

Edit: Found the posting in the firmware Q/A:
Q: Will the performance of my P-Series SSD reduce over time?
A: P-Series SSDs with firmware VBM18C1Q offers a “Performance Recovery” feature, which allows the controller to maintain optimal performance over time. For this feature to function the SSD must have at least 15% free space available and be formatted using the NTFS file system. The PC or laptop must then be cold-booted (i.e. turned on from a full power-off state, not a ‘reset’) and left in an idle state for one hour, after which time full performance will be restored.

So, if you turn on your computer and enter the BIOS settings or hit pause, something to stop the computer from booting, then return to your computer a few hours later (do this at night before you go to bed), and of course you have at least 15% free space, you should be golden if you are running an NTFS formatted drive. Actually that's not too bad and beats backing up and reloading images all the time.

-Joe
__________________
Retired Rocket Scientist

Last edited by JoeSchmuck; 05-17-2010 at 08:04 PM. Reason: Update posting.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 05-25-2010, 11:15 AM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 452183
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

No, you must leave it set at the log in screen for about an hour after a cold or warm boot.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 05-26-2010, 07:44 AM
djmosley djmosley is offline
Registered User
djmosley's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 452287
djmosley Reputation: 10
Default

I want to use XP Professional on my P128 Drive. This PC will be a workstation for various creative programs (graphic design/music/video). This PC will not connected to the internet except for updating. The projects will be worked on and saved onto a second drive (not the P128).

If the P128 will only contain XP and the programs, what tweaks will be needed (as mentioned above)? Also, garbage collection was mentioned. Does this mean defragmenting the drive, or does it refer to using maintenance software like System Mechanic?
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 05-26-2010, 04:32 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 452373
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

You would need to align the partition prior to installing Windows on the SSD, I would just sue Accronis to create an image of the current install and install the SSD as a second HDD then quick format with 4K allocation to align the drive then test it with ATTO to be sure its performing properly then image the current drive using Accronis.
And if you want to use something to maintain the drive I would suggest Diskeeper Professional with Hyperfast as it is optimized for SSD drives.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.