The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-16-2005, 10:07 AM
FORDMAV FORDMAV is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 196058
FORDMAV Reputation: 10
Default ** Corsair Vs1gbkit400 **

Hi Guys,
Have purchased 2 x 512mb DDR Ram sticks from corsair. They are part no. VS1GBKIT400. They are on there compatibility list for my mobo, but when I plug them in, I have no boot. When I switch it on, I just get a beep every couple of seconds. When I change back to my old ram, no problem, fires up straight away. What do you think my problem might be? Mobo is a epox ep-8k9a7i
I believe the ram is dual channel; would this be compatible with my epox?

Regards,
Andrew Smith

(Down Under)

Last edited by Wired; 06-16-2005 at 01:11 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-16-2005, 11:45 AM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 196085
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Please try and reset the bios with just our modules installed and I would test them one at a time with www.memtest.org and set the Dim Voltage to 2.7 Volts as well to make sure one is not failing.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-19-2005, 08:26 AM
FORDMAV FORDMAV is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 196572
FORDMAV Reputation: 10
Default

I can boot the system when only using one stick, by resetting the cmos each time. Sometimes it boots, and sometimes it doesn`t. DIMM Voltage defaults to 2.7 volts, and I have now ran both sticks individually through memtest, and received no faults. Still can`t boot system on both sticks, it just beeps every couple of seconds. I have attached a everest report, just thought it might help!!.
Attached Files
File Type: txt Report19062005.txt (160.9 KB, 794 views)

Last edited by FORDMAV; 06-19-2005 at 08:39 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 06-20-2005, 04:52 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 196825
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Does it pass www.memtest.org when you run them one module at a time or when you have both installed? If then there is probably some other problem. And in that report it states that you have WinNT4.0 is that what you are running? WinNT workstation 4.0? And was this a fresh install of the O.S. on this MB?
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 06-21-2005, 04:31 AM
FORDMAV FORDMAV is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 196955
FORDMAV Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY
Does it pass www.memtest.org when you run them one module at a time or when you have both installed? If then there is probably some other problem. And in that report it states that you have WinNT4.0 is that what you are running? WinNT workstation 4.0? And was this a fresh install of the O.S. on this MB?
Yes, I ran them one at a time, for a couple of hours each. No faults !!! I don`t know why it says WinNT, as I am running Windows xp sp1, and yes it was a fresh install
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 06-21-2005, 03:41 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 197052
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

You might need to update that software, are there any updates for it?
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.