The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-28-2006, 02:54 PM
A. King A. King is offline
Registered User
A. King's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 266973
A. King Reputation: 10
Unhappy Bios Error with HX620

Hello,

I replaced an old sparkle 300w power supply with your HX620W supply and received a bios error for voltage

3.3 -> 3.47
5 -> 4.89
12 -> 12.86
-12 -> -12.07
-5v -> -6.14 *** (red)

System: Asus P3C200, Pentium 3 1.4ghz, 1gb corsair memory

At the same time as replacing the PSU I replaced the video card with a new gigabyte 7600gs AGP but now experience video corruption and lock ups.

There is a previous post below about -6.14 voltage which I didn't understand - could you explain again. Note that voltages were read correctly with the old Sparkle 300w psu.

Is the PSU bad and causing the video card failure or is the fault with the new video card?

Thanks
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-28-2006, 05:32 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,190
POST ID # = 266988
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

http://www.houseofhelp.com/forums/sh...highlight=volt

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
That MB does not sue the -5 Volt rail thats why is hight just set it to ignore.
In otherwords, the -5v line doesn't exist inside of the power supply, so don't worry :)

the -6.14 is probably just a default in the BIOS.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-28-2006, 10:03 PM
A. King A. King is offline
Registered User
A. King's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 266995
A. King Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the fast response - I will set the -5v line to ignore in the bios.

How about the +12 v line which read 12.86. Is this overvoltage OK?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-29-2006, 01:26 AM
RJLeong65 RJLeong65 is offline
Registered User
RJLeong65's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,235
POST ID # = 266997
RJLeong65 Reputation: 10
Default

To be honest, I would not recommend most power supply units which have multiple +12V rails on any older system which draws a lot of power from the +5V rail but relatively little power from the +12V rail(s), such as your system. (Pentium III platforms do not make much use of the +12V rails, relying more on the +5V rail.) However, the Corsair PSU has relatively little capacity on the +5V rail but a lot of capacity on the +12V rail(s), making it a poor match for anything older than a Pentium 4 platform. And that 12.86V reading on the +12V is outside the +/-5% tolerance range (which means that the reading should be between 11.4V and 12.6V). But all bets are off if you're just reading the voltages in the BIOS or software; such readings can be notoriously inaccurate.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-03-2006, 06:44 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 267707
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I would try and reset your bios and see if the results change as well.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.