The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-02-2006, 02:41 AM
gidder gidder is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 267468
gidder Reputation: 10
Default ******** DDR faster then Corsair dual channel - how could that be?

Although it was a simple passmark test the playing ground is still equal. i have been running TWINX1024-3200C2PT in my asus A7N8X-E Deluxe board for over a year now. Plenty of blue screens and mem errors over the course. checked for over 24 hours with memtest at 6-3-3-2.5T and no errors many times. Just for giggles I picked up two ******** (how bout that! you cant say the name of another memory manufacturer hmmm i didnt realize that. well count the stars) D1GBPC32OPT 1 gig sticks and tossed them in and ran them in duel channel mode. they kicked corsairs butt. these things werent even manufactured in the same country as each other no less not being a matched pair and they still run fine and faster in DDR2 then DDR.

I ran the test over and over and over with so many different timings and bank slots that my wife said if she hears that blasted windows theme one more time "im gonna smash that thing!!" is her exact quote. Not once did Corsair win. seriously, ive tried everything

After all the reading that ive done on this great board of the problems people have trying to get this combo to be friends im convinced now that the board just does not like this memory.

mind you there is no aggression here or bad mouthing i really think that corsair makes the finest memory on the planet. i just picked the wrong board when building the system.

D1GBPC32OPT

A7N8X-E Deluxe
Uber 1013
Athlon XP 3200+
******** D1GBPC32OPT (2 sticks DDR2 all auto settings)
Maxtor 200 SATA non raid
AIW Radeon 9600

Last edited by Wired; 11-02-2006 at 02:47 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 11-02-2006, 02:52 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,190
POST ID # = 267469
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

TWINX1024-3200C2PT and D1GBPC32OPT are both DDR1 packs, no DDR2 memory was mentioned, nor would DDR2 memory even run in that system. What are you looking at in terms of "speed"? Do you have actual numbers to post?

As for your issue, have you tried setting the memory voltage to the appropriate setting, e.g. 2.7x volts (warrantied up to, but not over, 2.90 volts)?

Also, what's Uber 1013, a modded BIOS based on the official 1013 release? If so, try using the latest official BIOS if the voltage change doesn't help.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)

Last edited by Wired; 11-02-2006 at 02:57 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 11-02-2006, 12:43 PM
gidder gidder is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 267490
gidder Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the reply Wired:

Oh man, my bad ( palm to forehead ) let me correct DDR2 to Dual Channel Mode. That should make a lot more sense when I talk about the other companys sticks not even manufactured in the same country.

The Uber Bios is a modded version of official 1013 that cut down on errors and blue screens a lot.

I did bump the voltage to 2.8 but I didnt try 2.9.

As far as speed, well maybe i exaggerated the severity of the butt kicking a little but you have to remember i had no expectations of the testing to even be close no less corsair to be slower. please, again, there is no bad mouthing here, i would that corsair should stop recommending this module for use with this board. its just not worth the setup headaches when another module works faster, by a hair but still faster, with all auto settings.

Ive attached a shot of the final indexes from passmark which is a rating based on the same tests performed for each company. DC is Dual Channel and SC is Single Channel. For the Corsair the UD is User Defined ( 6-3-3-2.5T ) Dual Channel 2.8v. STD is all auto settings

passmark.jpg

Anyway, take it for what its worth, delete the whole thread if you will. like i said, i would like to see corsair take a closer look at their compatibility recommendations so when i build my next system i can be confident that corsairs high end stuff is the headache free choice.

PS If a mod could change the subject line DDR2 to DDR-Dual it will be more informative not to mention me look less goofy!
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 11-02-2006, 07:32 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,190
POST ID # = 267552
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

So you're comparing a 1GB pack (2x512) to a 2GB pack (2x1GB) - not surprised the 2 GB pack edged it out by a bit.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.