The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 9 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2011, 10:16 AM
Odaik Odaik is offline
Registered User
Odaik's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 96
POST ID # = 486971
Odaik Reputation: 10
Default USB3 for 700/800D

Hello,

Last year it emerged that Corsair was planning on USB3 upgrade kits for the front panels of the Obsidian line of cases, and that they would be available during the summer.

Have these materialised yet?

Thanks,

Odai.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-30-2011, 02:16 PM
andyvee andyvee is offline
Registered User
andyvee's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 450
POST ID # = 486987
andyvee Reputation: 10
Default

Not 100% sure but think i saw that the new 650d has USB3 on the front panel , seeing as there the same io panel then i would hope it would be available for the 7/800d once the 650d is out .
Also appears that SATA3 backplane may soon be available , check other threads on here for details .
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-04-2011, 08:52 AM
Odaik Odaik is offline
Registered User
Odaik's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 96
POST ID # = 487698
Odaik Reputation: 10
Default

Any chance on getting a response from Corsair on this?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-07-2011, 06:21 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,267
POST ID # = 488139
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

We have stated on several other posts the upgrade will be available on our on -line store but at this time we do not have an ETA when it will be available.
They are in production and will be available; just working out packaging and logistics to finish the update and get it released.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-10-2011, 10:30 AM
pyrodex pyrodex is offline
Registered User
pyrodex's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 488602
pyrodex Reputation: 10
Default

It is on the store as of this morning (02/10/2011).
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-10-2011, 11:49 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,193
POST ID # = 488613
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

http://www.corsair.com/obsidian-seri...grade-kit.html
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 02-10-2011, 11:58 AM
Bigm2793 Bigm2793 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 21
POST ID # = 488618
Bigm2793 Reputation: 10
Default

Yeah now if it would just let us buy it lol
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 02-10-2011, 01:00 PM
jmn2519 jmn2519 is offline
Registered User
jmn2519's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 488633
jmn2519 Reputation: 10
Default

are new cases going to be sold with this going forward? What is the cutoff? If I buy a case today and get the old panel will I get the new one for free?
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 02-11-2011, 09:26 PM
BMT22033 BMT22033 is offline
Registered User
BMT22033's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 488888
BMT22033 Reputation: 10
Default

Looks like this is now being sold. I just placed an order. Now bring on the SATA 3 backplane upgrade!
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 02-13-2011, 12:47 PM
Odaik Odaik is offline
Registered User
Odaik's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 96
POST ID # = 489028
Odaik Reputation: 10
Default

Just to confirm, the USB3 ports on this don't actually hook up straight to the motherboard headers, but act as a passthrough to the ports on the back panel (basically like an ordinary USB extension cable)?
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 02-13-2011, 09:44 PM
nickbaldwin86's Avatar
nickbaldwin86 nickbaldwin86 is offline
250D-mATX
nickbaldwin86's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Scappoose, OR
Posts: 79
POST ID # = 489064
nickbaldwin86 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Odaik View Post
Just to confirm, the USB3 ports on this don't actually hook up straight to the motherboard headers, but act as a passthrough to the ports on the back panel (basically like an ordinary USB extension cable)?
Correct those two ports on the front are just moving the rears to the front (via extension), I don't know of any motherboard that has USB3 pins on the board or any case that does it any different from this panel.

Kind of a worthless way of doing it imo
I am not lazy enough that I cant just reach around and plug it in the back
Now if it was to add two more ports, that would be worth $15


This img here should show it all, the two USB3.0 on the very left in the picture are the cables that get plugged into the back of the motherboard. which you will have to run out of the case

__________________
Project: Corsair 250D - mATX
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 02-20-2011, 03:44 AM
SodaPoPDima SodaPoPDima is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 490122
SodaPoPDima Reputation: 10
Default

Yah I had to run mine outside of the case. I was actually thinking of picking up an internal usb3.0 card for $35 just for better aesthetics but then I thought about it, who the heck cares it's in the rear of the case, nobody will ever see it.

I used the water cooling loop on top btw to run it out and loop down.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 02-20-2011, 04:31 PM
JSX JSX is offline
Registered User
JSX's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 110
POST ID # = 490157
JSX Reputation: 10
Default

only one usb to motherboard?!
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 02-21-2011, 11:22 AM
FlawlessSoul FlawlessSoul is offline
h+
FlawlessSoul's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: England
Posts: 223
POST ID # = 490226
FlawlessSoul Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSX View Post
only one usb to motherboard?!
Well, yes. Since the USB motherboard plug covers the front two USB2 sockets.

The USB3 ports are passthrough adapters (since a lot of boards dont have internal USB3 connectors).

This adapter looks like its just for making the two USB3 sockets connect to a standard USB2 motherboard header:


Not sure why they opted to things this way, was there not an internal spec worked out some time ago for USB3?

On a related note, can't see any difference on the audio cables, are they shielded now?
__________________

Last edited by FlawlessSoul; 02-21-2011 at 11:25 AM. Reason: Clarification ftw.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 02-25-2011, 07:01 PM
bogbrain bogbrain is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 490967
bogbrain Reputation: 10
Default

As shipping is in excess of $50 dollars to the United Kingdom does anyone know if it is possible to buy this in the EU?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.