The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 06-14-2019, 08:04 AM
Yemble Yemble is offline
Registered User
Yemble's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Yorkshire (GOC)
Posts: 107
POST ID # = 1007959
Yemble Reputation: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mYb View Post
Well, I have the same problem as Pingo, and it is not a isolated to his PC, not isolated to a version of Windows 10, and not isolated to a version of iCUE 'cause I have this problem before the 1903 windows update, and there are other reports around the interwebs about this problem from some time (here/reddit).

As Pingo's setup, I have pretty recent components, no CD/DVD drive attached.

i9 9900k
ASUS ROG Maximus XI HERO
Corsair CMR64GX4M4C3200C16 (4 x 16 GB)
Corsair H115i PRO
Corsair HX850i
Samsung 970 Pro SSD 1 TB
Seagate Firecuda SSHD 2 TB
Western Digital Blue 500 GB - The oldest part from my PC - but doenst make any difference if I swap it out
ASUS ROG Strix RTX 2080TI

Peripheral devices connected

Logitech G413
Logitech G502
Xbox One Controller adapter

No other usb device connected

The problem, I suspect comes from either a weird combination (misfit) of Asus motherboard and iCUE or a combination of Samsung SSD and iCUE, or Windows screwing something with the drivers but I have stopped Windows from updating drivers.


Even if I uninstall completly iCUE and install the new update the same bootloop or "Inaccessible Boot Device" BSOD.
I try from time to time after a driver update or motherboard BIOS update to update iCUE and I have to use restore point to revert to the previous version.


I forgot to mention that all drivers are up to date, all programs and windows itself, latest BIOS and firmware to all the components except iCUE.
Different mobo, Aorus Master, but we have lots of other components in common and I have zero issues with Windows 10 x64 1903. Are you using the Samsung specific NVMe driver, which is certainly rock-solid for me?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-14-2019, 07:02 PM
Hank555 Hank555 is offline
BetaTesta
Hank555's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1008010
Hank555 Reputation: 10
Default

I think Corsair should be testing their 3.16 icue installer and see what files it modifies and installs,uninstalls and overwrites within windows so they aren't making many windows 10 users computers unusable or unstable with their software ! I know for a fact that their installer modified my Lan card settings which has nothing to do with their sound drivers or settings.If anyone wants to see what icue 3.16 is modifying within windows you can download Mirekusoft Install Monitor for free and do a fresh install of icue 3.16 and look at the list of things within the Registry and Windows folders that it modifies ,even before restart of your computer after installation .

Last edited by Hank555; 06-15-2019 at 02:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-16-2019, 04:52 AM
Dayglorange's Avatar
Dayglorange Dayglorange is offline
Registered User
Dayglorange's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 30
POST ID # = 1008148
Dayglorange Reputation: 10
Default

I recently experienced this problem myself and had to completely reset my Windows install as neither my restore points or recovery images would work, nor would any DISM commands. My problem occurred after a restart due to updating anti-virus software. So, no, it is definitely not only caused by iCUE, rather it seems to be (as usual) a Windows issue and I found in my research that this problem has been around for quite a while, at least as far back as 2015. As far as I can tell, it has something to do with Windows updates specifically, either updates failing to install correctly or being interrupted during install; as far as why the problem presents after updating other software, I'm not entirely sure. However, once I reset my PC and reinstalled the latest version of iCUE, I've not had any problems whatsoever, which makes me even more inclined to put the blame on Windows.
__________________
K95 RGB PlatinumNightsword RGBMM800 RGB PolarisST100 RGBVoid Pro RGB WirelessElgato Strem Deck Mini2xHD1202xHD140Lighting Node ProHydro H60
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-20-2019, 11:30 AM
Ceramicist Ceramicist is offline
Registered User
Ceramicist's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1008644
Ceramicist Reputation: 10
Default Possible Solution

I ran into this same issue. Upgrading iCue caused a bootloop and an error on the boot device being unavailable. I was able to get back in by using a system restore point, but iCue no longer recognized any of my devices (K95, Void Pro, Scimitar Pro). I redid the upgrade from a direct download (instead of through the utility's update) and had the same issue once again resolved by a system restore.

What I did next appears to have worked just fine.
1) Fully uninstall iCue
2) Reboot
3) Install iCue from a direct download
4) Reboot

I was able to get back in just fine and all of my devices were available. I noted that during the install I was asked to close certain programs so it could install, something I was never asked when it was trying to upgrade a previous install. I don't know if that is the issue: components that don't get fully installed in an update but do in a clean install.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-21-2019, 09:47 PM
TheDakk TheDakk is offline
Registered User
TheDakk's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 1008855
TheDakk Reputation: 10
Default

Just ran into this issue updating to 3.17 today. Never had any problems before and am running Windows 10 1903 as well.

After the upgrade my machine went into a blue screen reboot loop with the error "INACCESSIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE".

I was able to boot into Safe Mode successfully and tried to initiate a restore point prior to the install, but it failed with the following error:

An unspecified error occurred during System Restore: (Installed DirectX). Additional information: 0x8007045b.

Oddly enough, after that restore point failure, Windows booted fine even though I got the message that none of my system files were changed. 3.17 is still installed and everything appears to be working successfully (reboot, shutdown, ran games, etc.)

I exported the system info and logs incase it's needed to help resolve this issue.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 07-12-2019, 11:01 PM
Hank555 Hank555 is offline
BetaTesta
Hank555's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1011023
Hank555 Reputation: 10
Default

I talked with a tech from Microsoft and they said the newest patch from july for windows 10 takes care of the loop problem with corsair . If anyone has any problems with audio not working after installation of newest Icue ,use troubleshoot audio within windows 10 and have it fix the audio for you. It found a couple settings within windows that needed to be set for some reason and all fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-13-2019, 12:56 PM
Boight's Avatar
Boight Boight is offline
Registered User
Boight's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 1014561
Boight Reputation: 10
Default

This is the second time I've had this error. I'm using 1803 still. I was lucky enough to get into safemode and use a restore point. Last time I had to load a backup image.
There's a problem here and someone needs to pay attention.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09-10-2019, 03:03 PM
Gotan Gotan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1017676
Gotan Reputation: 10
Default Problem solved!

Hallo Everybody

Just uninstall older Corsair version with RevoUninstaller, which offers an advanced option that completely wipes out any traces of the software. Install the new software and you are good to go.

Kind regards
Gotan
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-03-2019, 05:34 AM
istooi istooi is offline
Registered User
istooi's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1022932
istooi Reputation: 10
Default

Just adding my experience.

(OS Windows 10 Pro 1809)

A few days ago i noticed my CPU fans were in unicorn barf mode instead of temperature dependent lighting like the rest of the system. So i checked for updates and sure enough i had 3.12.118 and there was a 3.2x version available.
After restarting my PC i ended up in a boot loop. Using some restore/repair options fixed the boot. iCUE was still 3.12.118.
Two times a charm and same result.

I used Gotan's advice and removed every little bit of iCUE from my system and reinstalled it from a fresh download (3.21.88). Now everything seems to work just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-03-2019, 09:25 PM
deno1000 deno1000 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 1022988
deno1000 Reputation: 10
Default

I have same problem after updating a new version of windows 1903, pc is freezing every time.
When it happened i tried installing older version of ICUE and pc freezed again.
i think that ICUE isn't optimized with new version windows 1903.
But of course people from corsair will say "everything is ok"
they are always saying "this is problem of ur PC"
but now that people started to report same problems maybe now they will understand.
it's fascinating how when i uninstalled windows and installed new windows,there wasn't any problems, but then I installed ICUE and bum my pc is freezed again.
Since i don't have it installed anymore i have no problems.

MY PC:


CPU: Intel i9-9900K@4.8Ghz
Motherboard: Asus Rog Strix Z390-F GAMING
Liquid Cooling: H100I Corsair RGB
Ram: Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO 32 GB DDR4 @3200MHz
GPU: Gigabayte RTX 2080 TI 8GB
SSD M.2: ADATA XPG Gammix 1TB PCIe
Seasonic FOCUS plus 750w gold
Case: Be quiet! SILENT BASE 801
Operating system: Windows 10 PRO 64bit

Last edited by deno1000; 11-03-2019 at 09:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot loop, icue crashing, windows 10

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.