The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Customer Service > Warranty and RMA Questions

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-16-2012, 10:10 AM
glydur glydur is offline
Registered User
glydur's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 562143
glydur Reputation: 10
Default HX1000W causing video problems?

Originally posted in power supply forum but thinking this forum is more appropriate for getting support answer. Thanks!

I suspect I have a problem caused by my PSU but not certain. My PC began locking up with video artifacting a few weeks ago. Thinking it was the video card I RMA'd it (EVGA GTX280). When I put in the new card I got video for about 30 seconds and then all video went out and stayed out unless I unplugged and reseated the new card (they sent me a GTX470 refurb which was nice). I called EVGA and the support guy told me that the old card had checked out with nothing wrong and perhaps it was my power supply. To shorten the story I found that the hard-wired PCI-E cables from the power supply seemed to be the problem. When I switched to modular PCI-E cables everything worked swell. Problem solved ... for about a week! Last night when I got no video again at power on! I couldn't get video and after a while left it shut down. an hour later I tried again and everything worked.

so.. all this leads me to think that my power supply is slowly going but everything works except the video so I'm wondering if Corsair or anyone has any advice on troubleshooting or opinion on whether this is really a Power issue? I don't have another system or power supply that's new enough to swap parts unfortunately. Thinking of springing for a PS tester or multimeter but I'd hate to spend in the wrong area if this is something else.

Thanks,
Glydur
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-16-2012, 02:39 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,267
POST ID # = 562192
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

What ports on the PSU are you using to power the Video card?
If only one Video card is installed you should have it connected to 12V2.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-17-2012, 10:22 AM
glydur glydur is offline
Registered User
glydur's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 562362
glydur Reputation: 10
Default hx100w

thanks for your reply. i don't have the manual with me at work so not sure which are 12v2 but originally I had the card attached to the hard-wired PCI-E ports (6+2) - At that point I was getting video artifacting and system hangs requiring a cold reboot. Thinking it was the video card I RMA'd it and then when the new one came it had only about 30-sec of video to a minute before losing all video. Called EVGA and they told me my old card had checked out and I might want to look at power issues. Long story short I found that when I disconnected the hard-wired PCI-E cables and connected two modular PCIE cables to the blue plugs in the PSU and to the video card I got video. About a week later I turned on the system and got no video again but then later in the day I did and at the moment it's working though every once in a while the screen goes black for a sec or two (not too often). I know something's still not quite right because of that. Most recently I used a multimeter on the hard-wired PCI-E connectors (while the modulars powered the card) and they all show good voltage (about 12.7V). I've also replaced the DV-I cable to the monitor and waiting to see if I have more issues.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-17-2012, 09:02 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,267
POST ID # = 562481
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

The Hard wired PCI-E are connected to 12V 1 so please use the modular PCI-E cables and connect them to 12 V2 and see if that helps.
If that does not solve the issue please use the link on the left and we can try and replace it.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-21-2012, 04:48 PM
glydur glydur is offline
Registered User
glydur's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 563096
glydur Reputation: 10
Default Hx100w

Thanks. Sorry for the delay. I will try that. It's connected to the modular cables now. How do I tell whether it's connected to 12 V1 vs. 12 V2? It's currently connected to two of the blue modular connectors but I didn't distinguish which at the time. I'll look at the manual when I get home and see if I can get the V1 vs. V2 info.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-22-2012, 01:45 AM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,267
POST ID # = 563172
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

They are marked on the connector or on the label of the PSU.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-22-2012, 07:13 AM
andyvee andyvee is offline
Registered User
andyvee's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 450
POST ID # = 563210
andyvee Reputation: 10
Default

RG , the hardwired pci's are off 12v2 .
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-22-2012, 12:54 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,267
POST ID # = 563242
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Yes you are correct, and glydur, please use the link on the left and request an RMA and we can replace it.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-23-2012, 05:49 PM
glydur glydur is offline
Registered User
glydur's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 563559
glydur Reputation: 10
Big Grin Hx1000w

Thanks. I will do that. I don't suppose there's any way to get a replacement and then send the old one back so I'm not out a PC for 2 weeks? Figure it can't hurt to ask!

Last edited by glydur; 02-23-2012 at 06:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-24-2012, 12:15 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,267
POST ID # = 563684
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

You will need to get the RMA conformation then contact our customer service by phone to make those arrangements. Their phone number is listed under Contact on the main site.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-26-2012, 09:11 PM
glydur glydur is offline
Registered User
glydur's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 564180
glydur Reputation: 10
Default Thanks again

I'm on vacation but I will request the RMA as soon as I get home.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hx1000w, power supply, video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.