The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-09-2011, 05:57 PM
Vockroth Vockroth is offline
Registered User
Vockroth's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 492834
Vockroth Reputation: 10
Confused GPU's memory effects on maxium system memory

I have been told that the combined GPU memory and MB Ram should not exceed the motherboard's total alowable memory, something to do with lanes. I have not found information regarding this at the MB site or Corsair's site. My P5N-D MB supports 8GB DDR2 within 4 slots. Each of my GPU's contain 896MB DDR3. I installed 6GB RAM per friends suggestion. I want to Max out my RAM. So I guess my question is could I have installed the full 8GB on the MB and been ahead? Using Asus's AI Booster I raised the RAM voltage to 2.1 which is the voltage shown on the RAM sticks. Does this increased voltage effect the RAM onboard the GPU's? Why did BIOS set RAM voltage to 1.86 and not 2.1?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-09-2011, 06:17 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,267
POST ID # = 492842
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

That will only be an issue if you are running a 32 Bit O.S. other wise it will not be anything to be concerned about.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
graphic card, video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.