Corsair Community

LED Fan direct hookup to motherboard possible?

Hi,

I have a Gigabyte Auros Master Z390 motherboard which has for LED ports for light strip hookups. Two are 12V digital RGB 4pin connectors and the other two are 5V/12V selectible LED 4pin connectors. So was wondering would any of the corsair LED or RGB fans be compatible or would I need to use the corsair command module?

Thank you

You would need to use a Lighting Node Pro and an RGB Fan Hub. Depending on the connector - and I think that Gigabyte's z390 boards are using the same connector as Asus and MSI - it should be possible to get an adapter to control the RGB Fan Hub. I can tell you that Gigabyte's software doesn't do anywhere near what you can do with iCUE tho.

That is correct.

Keep in mind, too, that Corsair came out with their addressable RGB system well before any of the motherboard manufacturers were including addressable RGB on motherboards, too.

My MSI Z390 motherboard comes with a JCORSAIR jumper (3pin), which I was hoping to connect directly to the 140LL fan (4pin). However now I read that the Corsair controller is required.

Do you think it's possible to wire up a 4pin to 3pin connector and plug the 140LL fan directly to the motherboard?

I know the 3pin is 5V/Data/Ground.

What about the 4pin from LL140 Fan? 5V/Data/unused/Ground ??

My MSI Z390 motherboard comes with a JCORSAIR jumper (3pin), which I was hoping to connect directly to the 140LL fan (4pin). However now I read that the Corsair controller is required.

Do you think it's possible to wire up a 4pin to 3pin connector and plug the 140LL fan directly to the motherboard?

I know the 3pin is 5V/Data/Ground.

What about the 4pin from LL140 Fan? 5V/Data/unused/Ground ??

The 4pin RGB is 12V analog RGB. If you hook your LL fan up to that in some way, you'll blow out your LEDs. Don't do it.