The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 8 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 09-09-2014, 02:40 AM
Corran's PC Specs

POST ID # = 726261
Corran Reputation: 10
Default Programming the K70 RGB

Hello. About two months ago I was looking for a mechanical keyboard and was intrigued when I learned about the K70 RGB. As a software engineer, I had a lot of ideas, but I'm worried that I've set expectations too high.

For example, I would like to create a "heatmap profile" where keys turn "hot" when you use them repeatedly and the rest turn "cold". When you switch between programs, the heatmap would change to what it last was for that program. This way, instead of manually creating a profile for each program the heatmap would automatically generate profiles for you.

Another idea would be accept to input from a music player, and, instead of reacting to key presses, the keys would react to the music. Imagine an audio spectrum analyzer but on the keyboard.

These kinds of ideas would require storing state for each key, persisting and loading that state between reboots, performing some small computations, having a unique id for each foreground process available, and accepting input from external programs. That is quite a laundry list of asks for a new v1 product, but I was still hopeful especially after seeing a screenshot on the product page which shows "SCRIPT" as an option for programming the board:
(I'm guessing this image will be replaced soon now that the actual software is out...)

Now that the red switch version is out and the manual and software are available to all to review, I'm a bit sad to find such depth of programability missing. The primary reason I don't have a keyboard yet is because I was holding out for the blue or brown switches, but I'm not sure anymore...