The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice > iCUE Nexus

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-23-2020, 02:42 AM
Jonny6String809 Jonny6String809 is offline
Registered User
Jonny6String809's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1054978
Jonny6String809 Reputation: 10
Default iCue Nexus High CPU Usage

Has anyone else that has picked up the Nexus noticed insane CPU usage? I'm used to the last several versions of iCue consistently utilizing 5-6% of my CPU, but since installing the Nexus the CPU utilization from iCue is constantly 15-20%. If I unplug the Nexus it instantly goes back down to 5-6%, plug it back in and it's back to 15-20%. It's actually enough that my CPU (9600k@5.1) won't throttle down and is constantly at max speed.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-23-2020, 09:17 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 12,308
POST ID # = 1055016
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 122
Default

I doubled up from 3 to 6% on a 8700K. +10-15% more seems like a lot. Anything unusual about what's on on the screen? Mine are all graph monitoring system temps.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-23-2020, 08:56 PM
Jonny6String809 Jonny6String809 is offline
Registered User
Jonny6String809's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1055078
Jonny6String809 Reputation: 10
Default

Nothing unusual at all. I haven't even made any custom screens yet. I'm used to seeing a few percent increase if I have the dashboard open in iCue, but nothing this crazy.

I do have a lot of other hardware run by iCue. Commander Pro, H150i, K95, Nightsword, MM800, ST100, Void Elite and the Asus MB plugin. This spike only happens with the Nexus plugged in though. The second I unplug it iCue is back down around 5%.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-24-2020, 08:09 PM
no0va.bhamade no0va.bhamade is offline
Registered User
no0va.bhamade's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Clifton, NJ
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1055161
no0va.bhamade Reputation: 10
Default

i just got my nexus and installed it and everything my cpu (AMD Ryzen 7 3800x) jumping between 4 - 8 % usage and temperature never below 43 degrees (usually it idles between 33 - 38) so it's a bit disappointing might ask for a return and refund if it didn't get fixed within the next 2 weeks!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-25-2020, 07:54 AM
BahamutxD BahamutxD is offline
Registered User
BahamutxD's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 92
POST ID # = 1055199
BahamutxD Reputation: 10
Default

If you want less CPU usage from iCUE you need to remove devices not keep adding more. Seeing how Corsair doesn't mention this issue at all I wouldn't expect any move from them in the short term.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-25-2020, 01:37 PM
Jonny6String809 Jonny6String809 is offline
Registered User
Jonny6String809's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1055243
Jonny6String809 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by no0va.bhamade View Post
i just got my nexus and installed it and everything my cpu (AMD Ryzen 7 3800x) jumping between 4 - 8 % usage and temperature never below 43 degrees (usually it idles between 33 - 38) so it's a bit disappointing might ask for a return and refund if it didn't get fixed within the next 2 weeks!!!
That's my feelings as well. When the end of my return window starts getting close in a few weeks, it may very well be going back. Its function doesn't justify the CPU usage. I mainly got it to monitor system temperatures while I'm gaming. Kind of defeats the purpose of monitoring an overclocked rig when the monitoring device eats up the extra FPS you gained from the overclock and then some.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-28-2020, 06:33 PM
Corsair CJ's Avatar
Corsair CJ Corsair CJ is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair CJ's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Corsair HQ
Posts: 876
POST ID # = 1055708
Corsair CJ Reputation: 53
Default

Hi all, thanks for bringing this to our attention. Please note that the increased CPU utilization is likely due to updating the screen at roughly 24fps over USB (which largely relies on CPU resources). Animated backgrounds/buttons as well as monitoring widgets will also likely play a factor in increased CPU utilization as sensors need to be polled and onscreen items need to be rendered.

If you require any technical support with your iCUE NEXUS, please contact our support team at https://support.corsair.com where they'd be happy to assist you.
__________________


If you have a customer/technical support question please post a thread in the appropriate section of the forum or submit a ticket here:
CORSAIR Support Portal
CORSAIR Hydro X Series Tutorial Playlist
CORSAIR iCUE Software Tutorial Playlist
Info/Diagrams for Setting Up CORSAIR RGB Fans, Strips, ETC
iCUE NEXUS Guides and Resources

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-29-2020, 05:47 PM
Xrat3d Xrat3d is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1055837
Xrat3d Reputation: 10
Default

I got the same behavior but found the problem... I have my Nexus plugged into the usb passthrough of my K95 XT, but the cable that goes into the PC, was plugged into a USB 2.0 port, as soon as I switched that to a USB 3.0, my CPU utilization came from 10% down to 5% ... hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-31-2020, 12:13 PM
Corsair Nick's Avatar
Corsair Nick Corsair Nick is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,210
POST ID # = 1056018
Corsair Nick Reputation: 39
Default

Thanks for the additional input, this should prove useful to our validations team for testing. I'll go ahead and pass the info along.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-10-2020, 01:39 PM
Timb320 Timb320 is offline
Registered User
Timb320's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1057118
Timb320 Reputation: 10
Default 8 %cpu

FYI Mine is connected directly to the PC via USB 3 port and averages 8% CPU and idle CPU temps hover between 33 and 47 C while Icue is running, normally its around 31/33.

I would recommend Corsair add a polling interval setting so users can control how often icue pols devices and updates the nexus screen.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-20-2020, 04:42 AM
Strolla Strolla is offline
Registered User
Strolla's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1062037
Strolla Reputation: 10
Default

Same here, just got my nexus too. And same as Timb320 above. iCue using higher cpu usage. increasing idle temps.

Last edited by Strolla; 09-22-2020 at 06:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-21-2020, 04:06 PM
Corsair Nick's Avatar
Corsair Nick Corsair Nick is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,210
POST ID # = 1062253
Corsair Nick Reputation: 39
Default

Our developers are still looking into this, and we'll provide an update once we have an official word.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-17-2020, 05:21 AM
Strolla Strolla is offline
Registered User
Strolla's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1065718
Strolla Reputation: 10
Default

Still happening when using monitoring widgets after 3.34. Does not even need to be on current viewing screen. If you remove all monitoring widgets from iCue, usage drops back down. Pretty bad since this is sold as a monitoring tool.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-22-2020, 03:38 PM
Corsair Nick's Avatar
Corsair Nick Corsair Nick is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,210
POST ID # = 1066510
Corsair Nick Reputation: 39
Default

Thank you for the feedback. We've implemented some improvements in 3.34.161, but will be continuing to make further ones to improve the CPU usage in further updates.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-22-2020, 04:24 PM
Syranetic Syranetic is offline
Registered User
Syranetic's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 1066518
Syranetic Reputation: 10
Default

I have 11+ (and growing) devices in iCUE and I just got my Nexus. I don't see what people are complaining about, when controlling so many devices, USB polling for the screen, the RGB profiles... I usually see around 5-10% CPU usage. It is what it is... should Corsair always be looking for more efficiencies? Of course... but you can't expect there to not be a hit to your CPU running all this stuff.

In most cases it shouldn't matter anyway, it's not like games are using 90% of all your CPU cores.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.