The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 11 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #16  
Old 02-22-2010, 10:59 AM
nofferman nofferman is offline
Registered User
nofferman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 440605
nofferman Reputation: 10
Default

cfish, if you could share your BIOS settings I would be very grateful. What did you end up setting IMC to? I'm having similar issues with the same motherboard/CPU and two 4GB sets of CMX4GX3M2A1600C7 v7.1 RAM.

After a cold boot, I'm getting Windows 7 instability and memtest failures in the upper 4GB range. Seems to happen most often after the PC's been sitting powered down overnight; if I get a clean run of memtest on boot, I can run for days without issue, and quick power downs or restarts won't re-introduce the problem. I've swapped the motherboard, reseated the CPU, and swapped the RAM pairs around, the issue still persists.

memtest failure

It doesn't make much sense to me, but reseating the RAM then rebooting into memtest or Windows will clear the issue for me until the next time I power down my PC.

I'm hoping one of my BIOS voltage settings is just a bit too low, and it's just enough to trigger data errors when the system is cold.

Thanks cfish!
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 02-23-2010, 06:28 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 440762
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

nofferman: You have a different issue as there's no guarantee that 2 packs of memory will work together at rated specs since they were not tested that way. I'd start your own thread and mention the version # and lot codes of each pack.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 02-23-2010, 10:30 AM
nofferman nofferman is offline
Registered User
nofferman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 440784
nofferman Reputation: 10
Default

thanks Wired, will do.
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 02-23-2010, 12:57 PM
RJLeong65 RJLeong65 is offline
Registered User
RJLeong65's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,235
POST ID # = 440797
RJLeong65 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfish View Post
Version 3.2

After 3 weeks of messing about with this build I seem to be getting somewhere. I have narrowed the culprit down to the IMC voltage and am currently testing this using LinX.

I began by following this article because the mianboard is similar and the memory is the same. After replicating the settings given in that article, the system was almost stable, freezing just once or twice per day. The IMC voltage of 1.15 used for the Corsair build is too low. I have now tested 1.20 which seems to be fine most of the time but fails in the LinX stress test after a couple of hours. I'm now testing 1.25.

The Intel specification recommends an IMC voltage of no more than 1.21 but that seems to be conservative and I have come to the conclusion that the Asus board, although having 4 RAM slots, is not capable of running 4 modules of 1600 memory within that Intel specification.
Actually, the recommended limit of running only two ranks of 1600 memory per channel is per the official JEDEC specification. Intel and AMD merely had to follow those recommendations. As such, if you want 8GB of memory at 1600 speed, you will have to find an 8GB dual-channel kit with only two modules. Unfortunately, such kits are significantly more expensive right now than four-module 8GB kits. If you fill up all four slots with double-ranked 2GB modules (for a total of 8GB), running the memory at 1333 or lower speed is advised for better stability.

In short, no Intel or AMD platform can run 1600 memory at full speed with the tightest-rated timings with more than one double-ranked module per channel. I posted this in another thread where someone with an AMD Phenom II x4 965 processor had the very same problem, which apparently ended up being solved simply by (manually) relaxing the latency timings of the memory (in this case, changing it from the rated 6-6-6-18 to 7-7-7-21). Of course, although simply relaxing the latency timings might have worked with ultra-low-latency 1600 memory, normal (9-9-9 to 11-11-11) 1600 memory might have to be reduced to running at 1333 speed in order to become stable with all four slots filled with double-ranked modules.
__________________
Sorry, but I don't work for Corsair (or any other memory company)! I'm just a computer enthusiast who loves to help out others...

Last edited by RJLeong65; 02-23-2010 at 01:22 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 02-24-2010, 08:20 AM
cfish cfish is offline
Registered User
cfish's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 440918
cfish Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofferman View Post
cfish, if you could share your BIOS settings I would be very grateful. What did you end up setting IMC to? I'm having similar issues with the same motherboard/CPU and two 4GB sets of CMX4GX3M2A1600C7 v7.1 RAM.
Sorry, I spoke too soon. Still having problems with Prime95 large FFT test - all other tests pass OK.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RJLeong65 View Post
In short, no Intel or AMD platform can run 1600 memory at full speed with the tightest-rated timings with more than one double-ranked module per channel.
I hear what you say and I'm amazed that this 4-piece 8GB kit is specified as compatible with this board in the Corsair memory configurator. The least they can do is publish a warning. Something like "...this memory/motherboard combination may cost you weeks of your life and then still not work properly."
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 02-24-2010, 10:50 AM
cfish cfish is offline
Registered User
cfish's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 440934
cfish Reputation: 10
Default

OK, I think I've had a breakthrough! After initial advice from this forum I started experimenting with the memory controller voltage and although I was able to improve stability by increasing this, it never solved the problem.

I then moved on to experimenting with the memory frequency. The system was very unstable at 1333 and at 1600 with XMP so I tried some intermediate settings by modifying the base clock. I discovered that a base clock of 145, giving a memory speed of 1450 was the most stable speed but the system was not 100%, it passed all the LinX and Prime95 stress tests except for the Large FFT test, which froze the system within minutes of starting.

After a little more research, I realised that this failure was probably a result of a memory latency that was too tight. So, I changed the 8-8-8-24 DRAM timing to 9-9-9-24 and the system passed the Large FFT test for the first time!

At the moment I'm repeating all the tests with the new latency settings and also running a Sandra Burn-in but it is looking good.

So, although I bought a memory kit at 1600 and C8, I actually have 1450 and C9 (with a modestly overclocked CPU as a bonus) but I'm just happy to have a stable system (fingers crossed) after 4 weeks of trying.
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 02-27-2010, 10:40 AM
David.one David.one is offline
Registered User
David.one's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 441533
David.one Reputation: 10
Default

Good job
You have reached a stable system in 1600 XMP
Could you give me your bios settings so I can try
Because I too would like to use my 8GB in 1600 XMP

Thank you in advance
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 02-27-2010, 11:40 AM
cfish cfish is offline
Registered User
cfish's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 441535
cfish Reputation: 10
Default

Sorry to be the bringer of bad news but my system is still not stable :(

Thought I was there but after a full battery of tests, it's not. I have come to the conclusion that there is something fundamenatally wrong with this combination of memory and board - nothing I do results in stability - some settings are better than others but ultimately, it's unstable.

I'm going to have to buy some different memory.

Anyone interested in 8GB of Dominator memory going at a knock-down price?
Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 02-28-2010, 12:43 AM
Stan Lenci Stan Lenci is offline
Registered User
Stan Lenci's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 441617
Stan Lenci Reputation: 10
Default

Yes, I'd be interested in your BIOS settings. Please share them with me.
Thanks
Reply With Quote


  #25  
Old 02-28-2010, 06:32 AM
David.one David.one is offline
Registered User
David.one's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 441637
David.one Reputation: 10
Default

Ok thank you anyway

A question. Speeds between 1600 and 1333, is there a significant difference on the computer?

thank
Reply With Quote


  #26  
Old 02-28-2010, 07:33 AM
cfish cfish is offline
Registered User
cfish's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 441644
cfish Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stan Lenci View Post
Yes, I'd be interested in your BIOS settings. Please share them with me.
Thanks
If I ever achieve a stable system I'll post BIOS settings here but I'm now into my 5th week of this and still no luck.

Quote:
Originally Posted by David.one View Post
Ok thank you anyway

A question. Speeds between 1600 and 1333, is there a significant difference on the computer?

thank
If you mean in terms of performance, there is an incremental improvement but I wouldn't call it "significant".
Reply With Quote


  #27  
Old 02-28-2010, 06:04 PM
David.one David.one is offline
Registered User
David.one's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 441698
David.one Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you for your answers
Reply With Quote


  #28  
Old 05-14-2010, 06:55 PM
rockford rockford is offline
Registered User
rockford's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 451104
rockford Reputation: 10
Default

My setup is fairly similar to yours and my system hasn't crashed once during the 2 weeks it's been running (probably jinxed it now tho).

P7P55D-E PRO + I5 750 + CMD4GX3M2B1600C8

As you can see, i'm also using 4 memory modules more or less like yours, except i bought two sets of 4 GB instead of one complete set.

No tweaking done, but out of curiousity i checked the timings, and by auto they are set to 9-9-9-24 and voltage 1.556 V (at the time i checked anyway).

Since i have no OC skills I'll probably live it like this even tho the timings are a bit off.

I do however have a different problem. My Intel X25 is only doing a read speed of 206 MB/s, while it should be doing 250. But this is probably not the right forum...
Reply With Quote


  #29  
Old 08-16-2010, 01:31 AM
HollyDOL HollyDOL is offline
Registered User
HollyDOL's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 461555
HollyDOL Reputation: 10
Default

I am running P7P55D-E Pro + i7 860 + CMD4GX3M2A1600C8. I haven't manage to force the board running stable on XMP (running 2x2GB), getting random restarts or BSODs about twice a day while playing a movie or gaming. Lowering frequency to 666 ("1333") MHz is the only thing that helps (well, makes the system rock stable).

Have you had any success with voltage tweaks? Ie. is it worth spending hours and hours on trying to make it work on 1600MHz? And yes, my CPU is well seated.
Reply With Quote


  #30  
Old 09-27-2010, 08:32 PM
205Captain 205Captain is offline
Registered User
205Captain's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 468528
205Captain Reputation: 10
Default I have the same issue

Cfish - I hope that you return to this site as I would be interested in your BIOS settings. I have the "X" version and you have the "D" version of this memory and I can't run it as 8Gb but only as 4Gb.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
cmd8gx3m4a1600c8

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.