The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Systems > CORSAIR ONE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-20-2018, 11:00 AM
AMIGrAve AMIGrAve is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 951255
AMIGrAve Reputation: 10
Default Thunderbolt 3 Dock and the Corsair One?

I've got a Thunderbolt 3 dock (OWC OWCTB3DK13PSL) that I use with my laptop. On this dock I plug my monitor, my mouse, keyboard, s/pdif sound and ethernet cable.

I'd like to know if I can plug a thunderbolt 3 dock on the Corsair One?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-20-2018, 04:27 PM
Corsair StormShadow's Avatar
Corsair StormShadow Corsair StormShadow is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 558
POST ID # = 951304
Corsair StormShadow Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGrAve View Post
I've got a Thunderbolt 3 dock (OWC OWCTB3DK13PSL) that I use with my laptop. On this dock I plug my monitor, my mouse, keyboard, s/pdif sound and ethernet cable.

I'd like to know if I can plug a thunderbolt 3 dock on the Corsair One?
that dock is compatible with MAC ONLY.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-20-2018, 05:55 PM
AMIGrAve AMIGrAve is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 951316
AMIGrAve Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair StormShadow View Post
that dock is compatible with MAC ONLY.
No it's not. I'm currently using it on my Lenovo Thinkpad X1C5 under windows 10.

So let me reformulate. If I plug any thunderbolt 3 dock (working on a windows 10 laptop with usbc thunderbolt 3) into the Corsair One Elite, will it work ?

If true, should every device plugged on the dock (as mentioned before) work ?

Thanks in advance for your response.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-21-2018, 08:04 PM
Corsair StormShadow's Avatar
Corsair StormShadow Corsair StormShadow is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 558
POST ID # = 951431
Corsair StormShadow Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGrAve View Post
No it's not. I'm currently using it on my Lenovo Thinkpad X1C5 under windows 10.

So let me reformulate. If I plug any thunderbolt 3 dock (working on a windows 10 laptop with usbc thunderbolt 3) into the Corsair One Elite, will it work ?

If true, should every device plugged on the dock (as mentioned before) work ?

Thanks in advance for your response.
Strange, the specifications on the product page says otherwise.
In any case, I'm afraid it won’t work because the USB-C on the CORSAIR ONE is not meant for display connectivity. It’s not a thunderbolt display port albeit it has the same shape.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 04-22-2018, 08:04 AM
AMIGrAve AMIGrAve is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 951483
AMIGrAve Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair StormShadow View Post
Strange, the specifications on the product page says otherwise.
In any case, I'm afraid it won’t work because the USB-C on the CORSAIR ONE is not meant for display connectivity. It’s not a thunderbolt display port albeit it has the same shape.
That's what I though.
Do you think that the other devices than the monitor could work ? (eg: keyboard, mouse, ethernet, sound)
I wouldn't mind plugging the monitor directly to the Desktop additionally to my laptop, but I'd like to "share" the rest and plug the usbc cable from one machine to another depending on which one I'll be using.

That would be great if someone at corsair could test a thunderbolt 3 hub on the Corsair with lower bandwitdh devices such as kayboard/mouse, ethernet and sound.

Last edited by AMIGrAve; 04-22-2018 at 08:09 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 04-22-2018, 06:01 PM
Corsair CJ's Avatar
Corsair CJ Corsair CJ is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair CJ's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Corsair HQ
Posts: 674
POST ID # = 951567
Corsair CJ Reputation: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGrAve View Post
That's what I though.
Do you think that the other devices than the monitor could work ? (eg: keyboard, mouse, ethernet, sound)
I wouldn't mind plugging the monitor directly to the Desktop additionally to my laptop, but I'd like to "share" the rest and plug the usbc cable from one machine to another depending on which one I'll be using.

That would be great if someone at corsair could test a thunderbolt 3 hub on the Corsair with lower bandwitdh devices such as kayboard/mouse, ethernet and sound.
A normal USB Type-C hub would work. Thunderbolt 3 would definitely not since the USB Type-C port on the CORSAIR ONE does not support any kind of Thunderbolt connectivity.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 04-23-2018, 08:00 AM
AMIGrAve AMIGrAve is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 951645
AMIGrAve Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for your answer !
I assume that with the Corsair One form factor it is not possible to add a thunderbolt 3 card.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 04-23-2018, 04:28 PM
Corsair StormShadow's Avatar
Corsair StormShadow Corsair StormShadow is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 558
POST ID # = 951701
Corsair StormShadow Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGrAve View Post
Thanks for your answer !
I assume that with the Corsair One form factor it is not possible to add a thunderbolt 3 card.
That is correct.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.