The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-22-2014, 07:09 PM
afrocircuit afrocircuit is offline
Registered User
afrocircuit's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 737368
afrocircuit Reputation: 10
Default firmware update hangs

My k95 RGB just got in and needed an firmware update, but every time I select the bin file and start the update process it just hands at 0% and keeps saying update. Did anyone else have this issue?

So far the longest I've waited was about 3 minutes with no update progress, currently waiting now to see if maybe that wasn't being patient enough.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-22-2014, 08:28 PM
Yakov's Avatar
Yakov Yakov is offline
No Russian.
Yakov's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 27
POST ID # = 737386
Yakov Reputation: 10
Default

I had to plug in 2 usbs using the UCB 2.0 ports instead of the single 3.0 cord.

Don't if if that'll help but, but that's how I fixed the problem you listed above.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-24-2014, 04:54 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,449
POST ID # = 737811
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

We recommend doing the firmware update on USB 2.0 and then if you want, re-plug back into a USB 3.0 after. A lot of the USB 3.0 ports on motherboards use a third party controller like Asmedia and they tend to have more problems than native controllers.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-24-2014, 05:18 PM
moses K70rgb moses K70rgb is offline
Registered User
moses K70rgb's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 737816
moses K70rgb Reputation: 10
Default

I have K70 RGB and I had the same problem, I solved it by moving the BIOS switch on the back of the keyboard to "2".

Previously hanged at 0% for ages, aborted many times until changing the polling rate.

Hopefully it helps you.

*Edited I use USB 2.0.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-25-2014, 03:04 AM
tsmith35's Avatar
tsmith35 tsmith35 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 737886
tsmith35 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moses K70rgb View Post
I have K70 RGB and I had the same problem, I solved it by moving the BIOS switch on the back of the keyboard to "2".
Same solution worked for me. Moved the switch to "2" and firmware downloaded to keyboard just fine. Connected using one USB 3.0 cable on an Intel USB port.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-25-2014, 10:49 AM
afrocircuit afrocircuit is offline
Registered User
afrocircuit's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 737931
afrocircuit Reputation: 10
Default

Hey guy's Thanks for all the replies, I still couldn't get it to work properly trying those solutions so I ended up plugging it in to my laptop and installing the software onto that. My laptop had no issues updating it via usb 3.0 so I think I'm just having an issue with the software itself which is weird cause I've uninstalled it several times and still get the same issue. Also, now I'm having no issues and it says the device "Works normally", but it constantly prompts me to update. I guess I'll just sit tight and wait for the next software update and hope that clears things up. Until then the keyboard works just fine now.

Last edited by afrocircuit; 10-25-2014 at 10:51 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 10-25-2014, 03:45 PM
naubin naubin is offline
Registered User
naubin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 737948
naubin Reputation: 10
Default

The software also prompted me to update the firmware again once the initial firmware update was done, I restarted and updated once again the firmware with the same .bin file and then it stopped nagging me about the update.

Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 10-28-2014, 08:26 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,449
POST ID # = 738513
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

In our next version, the firmware update should work correctly and only pop-up if the FW on the keyboard doesn't match what is the most recent version out.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 11-09-2014, 01:59 AM
afrocircuit afrocircuit is offline
Registered User
afrocircuit's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 740813
afrocircuit Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the update James! Sorry for my late response. So just to make sure, you are going to be releasing an updated version of both the software and the firmware for RGB Keyboards?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
firmware, hangs, issue, software, update

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.