The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD) > SSD Firmware Update

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 14 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-22-2013, 09:47 AM
Naki Naki is offline
Registered User
Naki's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 654836
Naki Reputation: 10
Question Issue with Corsair Force GS (360 GB SATA3) firmware update

I bought a 360 GB SSD drive (see thread title) last year (around August/September).
It had 5.02 firmware I think, I then updated it to 5.03, and recently to 5.05a.
However, it now shows as having 5.05 firmware (no A) and no firmware updates available, but a new 2nd drive which I purchased this month shows as having 5.05a out of the box. The new drive is the same model, but thinner (says 7 mm on the box).

Why did the 5.05a firmware update for my old drive end up as showing 5.05?
Will combining the two drives in RAID0 cause all my data to crash and burn?
Is there a way to get both to show/get the same firmware revision?

A separate note: I find it hard to believe the 5.05a update is from October 2012 - if it is, why did you post it just recently?
If not, I assume the fake date is there to not let the users know the exact date of the update, which is understandable, but inconvenient.

SYSTEM: ASRock Z68 PRO3 /Z68/LGA1155 mobo, Intel Core i7 CPU, 32 GB of RAM (Corsair).
2 (almost) identical Corsair SSDs - one older and with Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate SP1 (+all updates) installed on it, one new and empty (unformatted).

Last edited by Naki; 05-22-2013 at 10:23 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-22-2013, 11:33 AM
Naki Naki is offline
Registered User
Naki's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 654854
Naki Reputation: 10
Default

Here are some screenshots --->
Attached Images
File Type: png IntelRapid.png (94.3 KB, 325 views)
File Type: png SSD-old.png (89.4 KB, 298 views)
File Type: png SSD-new.png (90.0 KB, 293 views)
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-23-2013, 04:35 AM
Naki Naki is offline
Registered User
Naki's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 655014
Naki Reputation: 10
Default

I can not "simply buy a newer/faster drive" - my money is not unlimited. Also, I would have to sell the old drive, which I am not used to (almost never do it), so that will be an additional headache.

Also, I want RAID0 not just for the bigger speed, but bigger capacity also - my 360 GB SSD has just 80 GB free and I want to add a lot more stuff on the system partition. :)
Anyway, if you are sure that the firmwares are the same, even though they show as different, I will go ahead with RAID0 - of course, backing up all important info first. :)

I doubt I am the first person in these forums who uses SSD RAID0 on a Intel Z68 chipset, so I thought someone here could know if that works OK.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-23-2013, 04:46 AM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,289
POST ID # = 655020
Technobeard Reputation: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Naki View Post
Also, I want RAID0 not just for the bigger speed, but bigger capacity also - my 360 GB SSD has just 80 GB free and I want to add a lot more stuff on the system partition. :)
If you want RAID 0, go for it, but here's a caveat: You're doubling all of your potential physical failure points - SATA ports, SATA cables, SSDs.
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett

Last edited by Technobeard; 05-23-2013 at 05:37 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-23-2013, 04:58 AM
Naki Naki is offline
Registered User
Naki's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 655018
Naki Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technobeard View Post
Like Ram Guy said, they're identical in functionality but the difference is a tweak for the different NAND.
I am a bit confused here - the different NAND does not mean faster speed, right?
The box of the 2 SSDs I have here (Corsair Force GS 360 GB/SATA3) shows the same model and same speed figures (Read 555 MB/s, Write 530 MB/s) - I assume you mean the newer NAND is physically smaller, with the drive being thinner, but same speed? The part numbers of the two SSDs are different, however.

EDIT: Model is CSSD-F360GBGS-BK for both. Part number is 48-000403 REV AA for the old one, and 48-000561 REV AA for the new SSD.

Last edited by Naki; 05-23-2013 at 05:09 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 05-23-2013, 05:21 AM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,289
POST ID # = 655022
Technobeard Reputation: 68
Default

CSSD-F360GBGS-BK is the model / part number. Not sure where you're getting 48-000403 REV AA / 48-000561 REV AA.

All CSSD-F360GBGS-BK are physically identical. Make sure they have the same firmware and you should have no issues with RAID 0 (at least no issues caused by different NAND or firmwares).

Yes, two different SSDs with different NAND could run at different speeds. The type of NAND also affects the speed (synchronous, asynchronous, toggle). Also depends on how you're measuring speed (ATTO vs. IOPs, synthetic vs real world benchmarking, etc).

What the engineer that Ram Guy quoted was referring to is that the NAND in a Force GS is different than the other Sandforce based drives.

The NAND being smaller (24nm vs 25nm) isn't related to the drive thickness (at least as far as I'm aware).
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 05-23-2013, 05:23 AM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,289
POST ID # = 655023
Technobeard Reputation: 68
Default

The factory firmware tool is different than the one you used. It's the same firmware however. It's just a character missing in the displayed version number.

Please post screenshots of the current firmware version using our Corsair Toolbox.
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 05-23-2013, 05:25 AM
Naki Naki is offline
Registered User
Naki's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 655024
Naki Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technobeard View Post
CSSD-F360GBGS-BK is the model / part number. Not sure where you're getting 48-000403 REV AA / 48-000561 REV AA.
Back of the product boxes.
OK, screenshots coming up!


Last edited by Naki; 05-23-2013 at 06:28 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 05-23-2013, 05:33 AM
Naki Naki is offline
Registered User
Naki's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 655026
Naki Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technobeard View Post
If you want RAID 0, go for it, but here's a caveat: You'r'e doubling all of your potential physical failure points - SATA ports, SATA cables, SSDs.
Yes, thanks, I am aware of that. I am using good SATA clip cables, so at least that part should be fine (cables won't become loose).
Also, a question - when using RAID0, each file is written in half to one SSD, and the other half - to the other one, does that not mean less writes to each SSD, which should prolong their life? If not, why not?
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 05-23-2013, 05:59 AM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,289
POST ID # = 655031
Technobeard Reputation: 68
Default

All you ever wanted to know about RAID (circa 2000) and were afraid to ask: http://archive.arstechnica.com/paedia/r/raid-1.html

Yes, you're writing 50% to one and 50% to the other, which would lower the writes.
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 05-23-2013, 06:05 AM
Naki Naki is offline
Registered User
Naki's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 655033
Naki Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the link!

OK, so what about the screenshots - should I go ahead with RAID0, or is it dangerous?
EDIT: I have also submitted a support ticket - I hope I get a reply there too.

Last edited by Naki; 05-23-2013 at 06:53 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 05-23-2013, 02:21 PM
Naki Naki is offline
Registered User
Naki's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 655109
Naki Reputation: 10
Default

My support ticket ID# is 6022763, and 8 business hours have well passed since submitting the ticket.
Help, please?
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 05-23-2013, 04:56 PM
Incriminated Incriminated is offline
Registered user
Incriminated's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 152
POST ID # = 655139
Incriminated Reputation: 10
Default

raid is always "dangerous", thats why technobeard told you that it doubles the risk of failures, what you replied: Yes, thanks, I am aware of that.

So yes it's dangerous! You are free to run it, it should work, without any warranty.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 05-23-2013, 06:20 PM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,289
POST ID # = 655150
Technobeard Reputation: 68
Default

RAID 0 is only "dangerous" in that you have more points of failure. Nothing will explode :)

RAID 0 won't affect the drive's warranty, however if there's an issue, we may ask for you to try the drive by itself (which would require it to be erased). You can always decline of course :)
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 05-23-2013, 06:45 PM
Incriminated Incriminated is offline
Registered user
Incriminated's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 152
POST ID # = 655156
Incriminated Reputation: 10
Default

i mean without the warranty it will work (not the warranty of the product).
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.