The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-08-2004, 11:49 AM
SparkyPR SparkyPR is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 142282
SparkyPR Reputation: 10
Angry K8N Neo2 won't post

The problem is that the system will hang up on post . No beeps.
I'm using TWINX1024-3200XL's. Either stick is good on single channel mode,
but if I try dual channel, the system won't boot. This on either configuration
Slots 1-2 or 3-4.
I have seen few people with the same problem in other Forums
Any ideas on whats going on?

System Specs:
PS Antec true power 430W
MSI K8N Neo2 platinum
AMD64 3500+
TWINX1024-3200XL 2-2-2-5-T1 2.7V
PNY 6800GT
2 WD 80G
Audigy2 ZS
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-08-2004, 03:05 PM
SparkyPR SparkyPR is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 142309
SparkyPR Reputation: 10
Unhappy Anybody have an Idea?

Have been talking to MSI Tech support. They want me to try another mobo.
Well... I don't have another one!!. I'm going to try some PC2700 ram that I was using on my old board and see what happens.

I would really apreciate any comments!!!
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-08-2004, 07:47 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 142373
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Is this a socket 939 AMD64 MB? If so I would suggest you get the latest bios and then set the Dim Voltage to 2.8 Volts! In addition you might try and relax the timings to Cass 2-3-2-6 and see if the system is more stable!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-08-2004, 08:28 PM
SparkyPR SparkyPR is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 142389
SparkyPR Reputation: 10
Default

Yes, it's a 939 board.
I will try those settings and let you know. The funny thing is that I can overclock either stick to 240 FSB using 2.8V and 2.5-3-3-7 T1, everything stable.. running memtest for over 20 min with no errors, and other benchmarks with no problem.

Just can't get to run both sticks at the same time in dual mode.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 09-08-2004, 08:40 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 142392
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

That might suggest the CPU or memory controller in the CPU has some problem! Can you test the modules in another system?
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 09-08-2004, 09:54 PM
SparkyPR SparkyPR is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 142402
SparkyPR Reputation: 10
Default

No luck with those settings you sugested, and I have already the latest bios they have on the web site (V1.1). Some people say there is a beta bios, but is nowhere to be found.

Tech support at MSI sayd the same thing... I have an Nforce1 board that I could try the memory modules on, but have no way of testing the CPU.
Could it also be the Power supply? Its about 2 yrs old. Voltages don't look that bad, but I'm starting to suspect everything at this point.

Also, this setup worked fine for a couple of days when I first put it together.
And is only 3 days ago that this problem started.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 09-09-2004, 08:25 AM
Lpf Lpf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 142455
Lpf Reputation: 10
Default

i have same prob:
If i use my 3200xl with my Neo2 MB with cas 2.2.2.5, (slot 1&2 or 3&4), my PC in not stable.
But with cas 2.3.3.6, all is ok. Why 3200xl can have 2.2.2.5 on this MB ? Have you any information from MSI or Corsair ?

thanks
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 09-09-2004, 10:59 AM
SparkyPR SparkyPR is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 142471
SparkyPR Reputation: 10
Default

NOt much info from either one. At least the guys here have tried to gime me a hand.
Both of them have pointed that the memory controller is on the CPU, so I guess if there is any memory issues he could be the first culprit.
Second nobody garantees that any of us will be running at 2-2-2-5. But in my case, I would be very happy if I could use both sticks at all!!

What I have been trying to get thru Corsair and MSI is that more cases like ours are showing up. Not just timming problems, but just complete refusal from the equipment from booting when dual channel is enabled. I can't do much about it, but I think THEY should get together probably with AMD also and figure this one out. After all this is their latest parts and for some reason, they are not working in this combination.

One more thing maybe somebody has seen this one... I'm using the Core Center software from MSI to monitor the board, and sometimes runs fine at startup, and other times errors out saying that can't recognize the board?
But if I started manualy after errors out, runs fine. I just wonder if this is another indication that there is something wrong with the board
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 09-09-2004, 12:15 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 142478
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I am sorry that you both are having trouble, but there are a few things to consider, these modules are very aggressive Cass 2-2-2-5 and this MB is very new, it is not uncommon for a new MB to go through a few bios revisions till they sort out the bios and get the best performance. That being said, we have tested this MB and found no major problems running at Cass 2-2-2-5 on this MB! I would suggest that you try and load setup defaults and then set the Dim Voltage to 2.8 Volts and leave all of the other settings at default and then exit saving changes and test with www.memtest.org. And SparkyPR, in your case I would try and set the CPU voltage up a few tenths of a volt and see if that helps.
Bottom line if our modules will not run at the advertised spec in an approved platform we will be happy to replace them. That being said, there is no way we can guarantee that every MB even the same model that's listed in XMS Qualification and Testing will be able to run with really tight timings! There are just too many variables that enter into the equation and may have an affect on the end result, like the PSU, and if you suspect the PSU I would suggest you test with another one, and one that is at least 400 watt or bigger!
When trouble shooting it is best to try and simplify the problem and test things one at a time, and if you suspect a given part, then try and verify your suspensions by testing that component in another system! In this case you suspect the memory, then I would try and test the modules in another system, and Lpf If changing the timings makes the system stable that would suggest some other problem, like weak power or some other setting. But I would test the modules one at a time with www.memtest.org to be sure.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 09-10-2004, 08:52 AM
SparkyPR SparkyPR is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 142674
SparkyPR Reputation: 10
Default

I got good news... it works!! Somehow loading the Fail-safe defaults on the board did it. After that I have been able to even push things to 209 FSB still using 2-2-2-5 and no errors with www.memtest86.org. Memory is running at 2.8v and CPU at 1.65V. CPU is water cooled so no problems with heat.

Thanks a lot for your help.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 09-10-2004, 09:39 AM
cimerol cimerol is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 42
POST ID # = 142676
cimerol Reputation: 10
Default

I've been running 2-2-2-5-1T for 3 weeks now without a hiccup.
__________________
MSI K8N NEO2 Platinum-s939
AMD FX-53
ThermalTake Pipe 101 HS w/VAntec Tornado Fan
Artic Silver 5 Thermal Paste
TwinX1024-3200XLPRO 2-2-2-5-1T @ 2.75v
PNY 6800 Ultra
Creative Audigy 2 ZS
2 WD 74 Raptors SATA RAID0
Enermax 600W PSU
ThermalTake XaserIII Super Series Case
VERY STABLE!
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 09-10-2004, 12:02 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 142690
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Good news, please let me know if you have any questions!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 09-11-2004, 06:11 AM
Lpf Lpf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 142877
Lpf Reputation: 10
Default

thank for your help,

i test my ram one by one.
For one, in same slot (1), my pc don't boot with all value in auto for bios.
And with other, no prob. Bad ram ? If you confirm can you to write the process to change them ?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 09-13-2004, 10:42 AM
Lpf Lpf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 143137
Lpf Reputation: 10
Default

sorry Up !
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 09-13-2004, 01:22 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 143179
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I would tend too agree, lets get your modules replaced!
Please follow the link in my signature “I think I have a bad part!” and we will be happy to replace them or it!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.