The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 33 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-20-2011, 08:03 PM
ritaylor ritaylor is offline
Registered User
ritaylor's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mt.Washington, Ky.
Posts: 128
POST ID # = 499158
ritaylor Reputation: 10
Default Vengeance XMP profiles

I just got a kit of vengeance memory - CMZ12GX3M3A1600C9 - and there were 2 XMP profiles. Profile 1 had ram at 1.50, Vtt at 1.20 and timings of 9-9-9-24 2t. Profile 2 had ram at 1.50, Vtt at 1.35 and timings of 6-9-9-24 2t. Is this right? The "6" seems way out of line. Could the SPD be programed wrong?

Last edited by ritaylor; 04-20-2011 at 08:06 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-20-2011, 08:49 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 499163
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

How/where are you viewing this "6"? And, does that profile actually set the CAS latency to 6? FYI, the first profile is for Gulftown CPUs.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-20-2011, 08:59 PM
ritaylor ritaylor is offline
Registered User
ritaylor's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mt.Washington, Ky.
Posts: 128
POST ID # = 499167
ritaylor Reputation: 10
Default

The six is the first number listed in the xmp profile 2 configuration in the bios. On my motherboard, it is listed as 6-9-9-24-2t-1.50-1.35 at the top of the A. I. Tweaker settings. CPUz also reads the 6 as cas latency in the second XMP-1600 under the SPD tab. And just for the record, the computer won't post with it set to profile 2. It says "overclocking failed".
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-20-2011, 09:21 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 499172
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ritaylor View Post
The six is the first number listed in the xmp profile 2 configuration in the bios. On my motherboard, it is listed as 6-9-9-24-2t-1.50-1.35 at the top of the A. I. Tweaker settings. CPUz also reads the 6 as cas latency in the second XMP-1600 under the SPD tab. And just for the record, the computer won't post with it set to profile 2. It says "overclocking failed".
OK, keep in mind that with your CPU that you need to use profile #1 anyway. I will get back with you on this. Can you post a pic of your heat spreader showing the lot codes, etc or, post them here so we can check on this on the mfg side please?
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 04-20-2011, 11:42 PM
ritaylor ritaylor is offline
Registered User
ritaylor's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mt.Washington, Ky.
Posts: 128
POST ID # = 499181
ritaylor Reputation: 10
Default

My phone takes lousy pics so here goes, I hope this helps.

Above bar code:

CMZ12GX3M3A1600C9

(bar code goes here)

12GB (3x4GB) 4096MB 1600MHz
9-9-9-24 1.50V ver2.12 111300107 MADE IN TAIWAN
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 04-20-2011, 11:44 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 499182
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Perfect! And thank you so much for taking the time to post that. We'll look into this for you. If the memory is functioning properly using Profile #1 or by manual settings, you can choose to keep them or we can replace them. It's entirely up to you.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 04-20-2011, 11:50 PM
ritaylor ritaylor is offline
Registered User
ritaylor's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mt.Washington, Ky.
Posts: 128
POST ID # = 499183
ritaylor Reputation: 10
Default

I would really like them replaced.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 04-20-2011, 11:52 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 499184
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Use the RMA link on the left side of this page and put a link to this thread into the comments section.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 04-20-2011, 11:55 PM
ritaylor ritaylor is offline
Registered User
ritaylor's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mt.Washington, Ky.
Posts: 128
POST ID # = 499185
ritaylor Reputation: 10
Default

OK, thanks. Let me know how it goes with mfg.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 04-21-2011, 02:57 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 499269
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Please post a screen shot of the SPD Tab in CPU-Z for all six modules.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 04-21-2011, 04:33 PM
ritaylor ritaylor is offline
Registered User
ritaylor's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mt.Washington, Ky.
Posts: 128
POST ID # = 499275
ritaylor Reputation: 10
Default

I don't have the set installed at the moment. I took them out as I have already asked for a RMA. Trust me... XMP1 is set at 9-9-9-24 2t @ 1.5 volts and XMP2 is 6-9-9-24 2t @ 1.5 volts. My friend has the same Vengeance set (different version. His version is 5.11) and according to his both XMP settings are exactly the same except one has vtt @ 1.35 and the other is 1.2
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 04-21-2011, 04:43 PM
ritaylor ritaylor is offline
Registered User
ritaylor's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mt.Washington, Ky.
Posts: 128
POST ID # = 499276
ritaylor Reputation: 10
Default

Oh, an another interesting thing...the XMP profile with the vtt @ 1.2 is profile #2 on ver5.11
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 04-21-2011, 08:02 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 499316
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Can you get us the lot codes off of both sets that would help?
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 04-21-2011, 09:31 PM
SkyRyder's Avatar
SkyRyder SkyRyder is offline
Registered User
SkyRyder's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 41
POST ID # = 499324
SkyRyder Reputation: 10
Default Questionable XMP-2 Profile in CMZ24GX3M6A1600C9

Sorry to barge in here like this, but I just installed not the exact same set of 12-GB modules, but the 24-GB Vengeance modules from NewEgg and now I stumble across this unnerving post. I’ve set mine to run at XMP-1, all modules checked out with MemTest86, no errors.

I too noticed the weird CAS 6 setting in XMP-2 profile but never attempted to launch with it enabled. What's going on here? I hope this doesn’t entail a long drawn out RMA process, but if its corrupt programing within the module’s SPD, well what else. Please let me know what your findings are.

See pics of RAM label and BIOS Performance screen &
SPD Tab in CPU-Z for all six modules:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC01352--2.jpg (361.3 KB, 842 views)
File Type: jpg DSC01355 -- 2.jpg (382.7 KB, 748 views)
File Type: jpg CAS-6 cpuz.jpg (434.6 KB, 3624 views)

Last edited by SkyRyder; 04-21-2011 at 11:16 PM. Reason: image attachment add image
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 04-21-2011, 09:34 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 499326
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Links don't work. Attach the pics to the post, not to the album.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.