The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-07-2012, 06:23 PM
danwest danwest is offline
Registered User
danwest's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: toronto
Posts: 33
POST ID # = 595020
danwest Reputation: 10
Question 500R space issues with HDD sata power cables bunching from AX650 power supply

hello, i'm having some connection issues with mounting my HDDs in my 500R case with an AX650 power supply. with the HDDs mounted in the case, when i plug in the sata power connectors from the power supply, there is too much wire between the connectors and i can't close the case cover. there is only about 2.5 cm of space between the HDD and the side case cover. i try bending the slack but it is too stiff and puts too much strain on the HDD sata power port. plus, with the cable folded to eliminate slack, i still won't be able to get the case cover on plus it messes with the orientations of the connectors, one notch up, another notch down.

also, the notch in the sata power connector is facing in a way which forces me to mount the HDDs upside down.

what do i do? please help.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bunching cables.jpg (237.9 KB, 739 views)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 08-07-2012, 08:29 PM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,332
POST ID # = 595048
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 124
Default

Unplug the connectors, Then move the wire between the connectors inside the HD cage. So that the wire is inside the HD cage.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 08-08-2012, 01:01 AM
danwest danwest is offline
Registered User
danwest's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: toronto
Posts: 33
POST ID # = 595080
danwest Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
Unplug the connectors, Then move the wire between the connectors inside the HD cage. So that the wire is inside the HD cage.
i thought of that but that would make those bays in the cage unusable for future expansion. i got a bit creative with folding and i managed to make it work.

see attached pic for result.

P.S, i wish corsair would make a special cable that would line up properly with every bay in the HDD cage. it would require 6 sata power connectors at specific intervals.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg sata power cable management.jpg (603.7 KB, 1145 views)
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 08-08-2012, 05:36 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 595253
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

That works but I normally Wire tie mine so the cable is flat and fold the extra cable over flat!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-28-2014, 09:26 PM
Siggi Siggi is offline
Registered User
Siggi's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 703279
Siggi Reputation: 10
Default sata plugs

hey
i just installed a board in that same case and I can't use the lower row of sata plugs. the ridge inside the case is in the way. anyone else have that issue? if i raise the board the back side stuff will not fit.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-28-2014, 09:30 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,107
POST ID # = 703280
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danwest View Post
i thought of that but that would make those bays in the cage unusable for future expansion. i got a bit creative with folding and i managed to make it work.

see attached pic for result.

P.S, i wish corsair would make a special cable that would line up properly with every bay in the HDD cage. it would require 6 sata power connectors at specific intervals.
i feel ya,,i have to use a pair of tweezers to connect the cables and fold away but its still very cramped..
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
500r, ax650, sata power connector

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.