The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-2018, 03:08 PM
gnatsum39 gnatsum39 is offline
Registered User
gnatsum39's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 933570
gnatsum39 Reputation: 10
Default Commander Pro issue

Hello,

I recently have built a new PC with the Corsair Commander Pro running 6 Corsair RGB HD fans. All works well and have had no major issues till now.

When I power my PC off the fans stay on as well as the RGB lights on them. I am pretty certain this is the Commander pro not shutting down. I have done some searching online and cannot find a solution to this.

I can push the power button and power the PC back up just fine but the same thing happens when I shutdown from Windows. Mobo shuts off, all monitors go off, but the fans connected to the Commander stay on and sound like they ramp up to near full speed. I did just update to the newest corsair link software the other day. Could this be the issue?

Any help is greatly appreciated. I have a lot of money wrapped up in this new build and I am beginning to get concerned that the Commander Pro might fry something.

System info
https://pcpartpicker.com/list/

Last edited by gnatsum39; 01-03-2018 at 03:11 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-03-2018, 04:48 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,846
POST ID # = 933581
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

First, what temperature source are you using for your fan speed? If it's not one of the Commander Pro native temperature probes, you'll need Link running for it to properly control your fan speed. If you are using a Commander Pro probe, it'll control the fan speeds whether Link is running or not.
Since your system is liquid cooled, it's most appropriate for you to use these sensors and manage your fan speeds based on case internal ambient temperature.
As for the "staying running when the system shuts down" ... it sounds like it's running on the standby power. What PSU do you have and do you have the CoPro connected directly to SATA or via an adapter?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-03-2018, 06:19 PM
gnatsum39 gnatsum39 is offline
Registered User
gnatsum39's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 933600
gnatsum39 Reputation: 10
Default

I am running connected to a SATA cord (NO 4pin molex adapter) from the Corsair 1200W PSU which is Corsair link enabled. The USB for the Commander pro is connected to my Mobo and the PSU link is plugged into the USB port on the commander pro.

As far as fan speed I am not having issues with that. It controls fine through the corsair link software using the board temp sensors. The only issue I am having (which wasn't an issue for the first month or so) is the system powers down when I tell it to with the exception being the fans and RGB on the fans which are all run through the commander. They continue spinning and pulsing color after the computer shuts off. Again, it was fine up until last night when I powered down. Not sure what changed. Could this be an issue with the newest Corsair Link update? I did just update that the other day when it popped up.

Commander Pro connected VIA USB to Mobo header and powered by Sata cord from Corsair 1200i PSU, PSU Corsair link USB connected to USB hub on Commander, Corsair H115i connected to USB header on Commander Pro as well.

Last edited by gnatsum39; 01-03-2018 at 06:28 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-03-2018, 06:28 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,846
POST ID # = 933603
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gnatsum39 View Post
I am running connected to a SATA cord from the Corsair 1200W PSU which is Corsair link enabled. The USB for the Commander pro is connected to my Mobo and the PSU link is plugged into the USB port on the commander pro.

As far as fan speed I am not having issues with that. It controls fine through the corsair link software using the board temp sensors. The only issue I am having (which wasn't an issue for the first month or so) is the system powers down when I tell it to with the exception being the fans and RGB on the fans which are all run through the commander. They continue spinning and pulsing color after the computer shuts off. Again, it was fine up until last night when I powered down. Not sure what changed. Could this be an issue with the newest Corsair Link update? I did just update that the other day when it popped up.
I mentioned the fan speed because you indicated that they were running at full power. Without Link running, if the fan curves aren't based on the CoPro's sensors, that will happen.
As far as the CoPro continuing to run ... that's quite odd. When the system powers down, from what I understand, there should only be standby voltage supplied to the motherboard. Yet it seems that the CoPro is actually getting power, which I find quite baffling. It's probably something that Corsair will need to weigh in on.
Question: which 1200W PSU? HXi? AXi?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 01-03-2018, 06:32 PM
gnatsum39 gnatsum39 is offline
Registered User
gnatsum39's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 933606
gnatsum39 Reputation: 10
Default

1200 AXi PSU

And yes I found it quite odd lol. It is definitely still getting power when the machine shuts off. Was fine up until the other day. I cannot say for sure if it was the update to Corsair Link software as I did the update and left the PC running for a day or so, but it is quite suspect that the only change made was the corsair link software update.

Thank you for the replies, I will wait for Corsair to weigh in. For the record, all fans are Corsair HD RGB fans and running on the CoPro as well as the cooler unit, and PSU. Love me corsair products and I am a a loyal customer for life.

Last edited by gnatsum39; 01-03-2018 at 06:36 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 01-05-2018, 11:29 AM
gnatsum39 gnatsum39 is offline
Registered User
gnatsum39's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 933857
gnatsum39 Reputation: 10
Default

*Bump*

Anyone at Corsair able to help me with this? I cannot continue running this way as I am not comfortable having to pull the power cord to shut down the CoPro each night.

Thank You!
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 01-08-2018, 05:14 PM
Corsair Dustin's Avatar
Corsair Dustin Corsair Dustin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Dustin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4,100
POST ID # = 934416
Corsair Dustin Reputation: 41
Default

Just out of curiosity, is the USB port the Commander Pro is connected to a "Charging" port? What happens is that some motherboards will leave power to a motherboard port on, and I wonder if that's not the case here. If it is, there may be a setting in your BIOS that will allow you to disable that functionality.
__________________
Corsair DIY & Gaming Systems Architect
Product Manager for Cooling


Please do not send private messages requesting tech support or trouble shooting. You can create a thread and let the solution to your issue be visible to everyone, or alternatively, work directly with tech support by contacting them here.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 01-08-2018, 06:45 PM
gnatsum39 gnatsum39 is offline
Registered User
gnatsum39's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 934449
gnatsum39 Reputation: 10
Default

I am not sure to be honest. It is an Asus Maximus X Hero. I will have to look at the specs in a bit to see. The odd thing is, last night it shut down just fine. I have a sneaky suspicion that it may have something to do with what profile is selected in CL because the only thing I did different last night was switch it to balanced profile from performance when shutting down.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.