The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-06-2015, 03:28 AM
Nec_V20 Nec_V20 is offline
Registered User
Nec_V20's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 155
POST ID # = 805264
Nec_V20 Reputation: 13
Default Would you call me an idiot?

If I were to build a computer with two AMD FirePro 3D V9800 cards in Crossfire, an Intel Xeon E5-2697 V2 and 64 GB of DDR3 1866 RAM to run off a Corsair RM 450 PSU, would you call me an idiot?

Last edited by Nec_V20; 09-06-2015 at 03:32 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-06-2015, 08:03 AM
Synthohol's Avatar
Synthohol Synthohol is offline
LiquidNinja
Synthohol's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: looking through your window
Posts: 5,330
POST ID # = 805282
Synthohol Synthohol Reputation: 103
Send a message via AIM to Synthohol Send a message via Yahoo to Synthohol
Default

not until your first BSOD
__________________
Thinking about combining 2 or more sets of ram?? even the same part# is not suggested, recommended or supported.

System Specs as of 6/17/10
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-06-2015, 08:27 AM
Nec_V20 Nec_V20 is offline
Registered User
Nec_V20's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 155
POST ID # = 805284
Nec_V20 Reputation: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synthohol View Post
not until your first BSOD
There is a reason why I asked this.

I am just waiting for the first person to suss out why.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-06-2015, 11:21 AM
Synthohol's Avatar
Synthohol Synthohol is offline
LiquidNinja
Synthohol's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: looking through your window
Posts: 5,330
POST ID # = 805304
Synthohol Synthohol Reputation: 103
Send a message via AIM to Synthohol Send a message via Yahoo to Synthohol
Default

ya mean the >$10k on the rest of the rig and the 80 dollar PSU?
__________________
Thinking about combining 2 or more sets of ram?? even the same part# is not suggested, recommended or supported.

System Specs as of 6/17/10
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 09-06-2015, 11:54 AM
Nec_V20 Nec_V20 is offline
Registered User
Nec_V20's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 155
POST ID # = 805314
Nec_V20 Reputation: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synthohol View Post
ya mean the >$10k on the rest of the rig and the 80 dollar PSU?
You're getting there.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 09-06-2015, 11:59 AM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,889
POST ID # = 805317
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nec_V20 View Post
You're getting there.
So this isn't you? This is someone in another forum?

Yeah... I see it all of the time. People think nothing of the PSU... until it no longer works.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 09-06-2015, 11:43 AM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,889
POST ID # = 805312
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

It wouldn't BSOD. It would just overload the PSU and shut down.

Seems like a pretty useless thing to do.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 09-06-2015, 11:59 AM
Nec_V20 Nec_V20 is offline
Registered User
Nec_V20's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 155
POST ID # = 805316
Nec_V20 Reputation: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyguru View Post
It wouldn't BSOD. It would just overload the PSU and shut down.

Seems like a pretty useless thing to do.
I think Synthohol is getting there - you are very cold.

Which surprises me.

I would have thought that you would have looked at the 450 Watt PSU I was thinking about (and no it is not the Corsair RM 450, that was just an example) and would have written about it.

I was thinking of this:


Last edited by Nec_V20; 09-06-2015 at 12:03 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 09-06-2015, 12:01 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,889
POST ID # = 805318
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nec_V20 View Post
I think Synthohol is getting there - you are very cold.

Which surprises me.

I would have thought that you would have looked at the 450 Watt PSU I was thinking about (and no it is not the Corsair RM 450, that was just an example) and would have written about it.
You said RM450. You didn't say it was an example.

You're not making much sense.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 09-06-2015, 12:06 PM
Nec_V20 Nec_V20 is offline
Registered User
Nec_V20's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 155
POST ID # = 805320
Nec_V20 Reputation: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyguru View Post
You said RM450. You didn't say it was an example.

You're not making much sense.
Sorry about that, I edited my post to show you what I meant and you have replied before I reposted.

That was bloody fast bye the way. :)
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 09-06-2015, 12:10 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,889
POST ID # = 805321
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

That looks like a Mac Pro PSU. It's a very good PSU. Rated at continuous at 50C. It is underpowered, but the reason it's not an issue is because the Mac Pro overheats so damn much, the CPU and GPUs are constantly throttling and you're never using all that glorious hardware to its full potential.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 09-06-2015, 12:27 PM
Nec_V20 Nec_V20 is offline
Registered User
Nec_V20's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 155
POST ID # = 805322
Nec_V20 Reputation: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyguru View Post
That looks like a Mac Pro PSU. It's a very good PSU. Rated at continuous at 50C. It is underpowered, but the reason it's not an issue is because the Mac Pro overheats so damn much, the CPU and GPUs are constantly throttling and you're never using all that glorious hardware to its full potential.
Well done that man. What has me stumped is that unless the MacPro is a total scam, which idiot thought that a 450 Watt PSU would be enough to power it?

Just looking at the specs for the CPU and GPUs it is about 200 Watt underpowered - never mind about RAM.

I suppose that you answered my question because if they had put in a PSU adequate to power the system to its potential then the components would fry because that pissy little 140mm fan, no matter how "cyclonic" (marketdroid speech for "it sucks in air") wouldn't be able to cool it.

On the other hand it is a pretty good vacuum cleaner for your desk.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 09-06-2015, 12:31 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,889
POST ID # = 805324
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

If the PSU was more powerful, the components wouldn't fry. The components are overheating and throttling and this is preventing them from needing more power.

It's amazing how little power you need when your stuff overheats and throttles. They could've gotten away with using lower-end CPU and GPUs in that thing and maintained the same level of performance, but lower-end components don't look good in the bullet-points when feeding drivel to Apple fan-boys.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 09-06-2015, 01:14 PM
Nec_V20 Nec_V20 is offline
Registered User
Nec_V20's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 155
POST ID # = 805331
Nec_V20 Reputation: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyguru View Post
If the PSU was more powerful, the components wouldn't fry. The components are overheating and throttling and this is preventing them from needing more power.

It's amazing how little power you need when your stuff overheats and throttles. They could've gotten away with using lower-end CPU and GPUs in that thing and maintained the same level of performance, but lower-end components don't look good in the bullet-points when feeding drivel to Apple fan-boys.
I was doing the YouTube equivalent of "chinese whispers" and I came across this:


Thing is that the person is an Apple fan-boy and he ran Windows on the MacPro. He ran Battlefield 4 at 4K in ultra quality settings and he was getting a frame-rate of 15FPS. Looking at the equivalent scores for my pissy single little R9 280X at the same settings it comes out to 30 FPS.

This got me taking a closer look at the MacPro and its specs - which is pretty hard to find.

To say that I was gobsmacked when I saw all that high end CPU and GPUs running off a piddly little 450 Watt PSU would be an understatement.

I've always been suspicious of the cooling system of the MacPro because let's face it, there is a reason why graphics cards manufacturers have heat pipes attached and why CPUs are water cooled, but Apple's salescritters and marketdroids obviously know more than Scottie when he said to Kirk, "Ye canna defy the laws of physics" a 140mm fan and exposing the components to the elements will do the trick.

The only thing that I can think of is that Apple not only thinks, but actually knows, that any potential customer of theirs is bollock stupid.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.